Customer Reviews for

Time Between Us

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Awesome

    This book is fun and sad and happy and exciting. Makes you just want more when it ends. Love it! Read now!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2012

    i absolutely love this book! i haven't read a good book in a whi

    i absolutely love this book! i haven't read a good book in a while but this would be it. it made me laugh and cry.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    I am a busy, working mom. Although I aspire to be an avid reader

    I am a busy, working mom. Although I aspire to be an avid reader, I just don't find the time to be. I probably have a half of a dozen books sitting on my nightstand right now, unfinished. So, when I read a book, and I actually finish it, I know it's a good one! I sat down recently to read Time Between Us and honestly couldn't put it down! Perhaps it was the mood it set and the way it took me to another place, which was far less chaotic and less stressful than the one I live in....perhaps it was the traveling that Anna and Bennett did and the way in which Tamara Stone richly described the scenes...perhaps it was the innocent love and friendships that the characters shared that never became too overwhelming nor gratuitous....maybe it was how normal the idea of time travel became to me while reading this book, how magical and wondrous the idea of transporting yourself, of second chances, and of tough choices...maybe it was the way that the story was written so accessibly that I did I not need to think too hard to understand it, yet it penetrated deeply enough to resonate with me emotionally and never condescend me..... Time Between Us was a great and beautiful escape that I believed every minute of and it left me feeling like I wanted more and more.

    I ended Time Between Us shocked that I had actually finished a book, for the first time in a long time! I felt a sense of having grown to know two new people in my life - two characters who became real to me and whom I wanted very much to continue to know. Very well done. Can't wait to read a sequel!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Straight after reading what Time Between Us by author Tamara Ire

    Straight after reading what Time Between Us by author Tamara Ireland Stone was about (and after seeing all the extremely positive reviews) I was dying to get reading! I mean, it sounded like the Time Travelers Wife mixed with all the YA goodness I love. I bet you’re wondering if it’s as awesome as it sounds and as awesome as I am building everything up to be and the honest answer is this: It’s pretty freaking awesome if I do say so myself.

    Time Between Us is the story of main character Anna Greene who lives in 1995 and (oh snap, son!) that was way before this reviewer was born. Did I enjoy the blast from the past? Oh yeah especially since at multiple times I was thinking “why don’t you just use… like an IPhone or something?” and then remembered that I wasn’t reading a novel set in the present day. Back on track—Anna is running on the track one day when she sees a boy watching her and moments later he literally vanishes from her sight.

    After that, Anna encounters the boy who had been watching her—Bennett – and soon falls in love with him, but not after he saves her life. Anna quickly learns Bennett’s dark secret… that he is a time traveler from 2012 and that he cannot stay in 1995 for much longer. Anna and Bennett encounter the problems that come from dating somebody out of their time periods, stretch the limits and laws of time itself and the basic challenges of teenage life.

    As I said before, the novel is set in 1995 and I know for a lot of people that could be a bit scary. I know for kids my age, because it’s set in the past, there is the idea of “oh my god, what if they start talking about discos or dinosaurs the life before cellphones and stuff? I totally won’t relate.” Not to worry my young friends, you actually kind of forget that the novel is even set in 1995 because the author doesn’t overuse it, she doesn’t say in every chapter “oh by the way, the year is 1995”. She just implies it through the setting and uses it with the times and dates of certain events.

    The romantic interest in the novel, Bennett, was a guy that I personally felt should have had a lot more spine than the MC, Anna. Throughout the plot, Bennett constantly tells Anna why time travelling is dangerous and why he cannot always use his abilities to change what fate had intended. Anna easily causes him to pushover and uses his abilities to her advantage, did I believe that Anna was using Bennett? At times, absolutely! Do I think that if a future novel is produced that Bennett should put his foot down a few times and tell her to shut her face and listen to the guy who travels through time? Hells yes!

    I would recommend Time Between Us to fans of either the novel or the movie for Time Traveler’s Wife but want a YA twists and to those of you who lived through the 90′s and want to be sent back in time. Readers will definitely fall in love with the world that Ireland Stone has created.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    I was once asked in a job interview what superpower I would want

    I was once asked in a job interview what superpower I would want ... at the time I answered that I would want the ability to stop time (so that I could do all of the things I was too busy to do). After reading Time Between Us, I want to change my answer to have the ability to time travel! I couldn't put down the book once I started reading it and I immediately loved the characters and how the book transported me with them on their adventures.

    Just this past weekend my daughter found my book and started to read it as well. I'm looking forward to discussing Anna and Bennett's adventure with her. I also can't wait for Tamara's next book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Fun, easy read - thoroughly enjoyed it!

    Fun, easy read - thoroughly enjoyed it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    I've always yearned to travel, to explore - to have an adventure

    I've always yearned to travel, to explore - to have an adventure. Once I was out of college, working and could afford the plane fare, the chains were (mostly) off and I've enjoyed many wonderful adventures with friends, my husband, my kids in the years since. But when I was a teenager, little of this was possible. I was stuck in a rather boring suburban existence, like Anna, so I can understand her angst. Likewise, I can imagine how exciting it must have been for Bennett to discover his gift for time travel and then, for he and his family to learn the dangers that that power can bring (no spoiling!).

    Tamara Ireland Stone created interesting, engaging characters to whom I could relate and whose adventures I thoroughly enjoyed sharing. I'm looking forward to book two already!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2013

    I just finished Time Between Us and can say if you have ever lov

    I just finished Time Between Us and can say if you have ever loved or lost—or are obsessed by time travel—this book is for you. I am still in a whirlwind of thoughts after finishing the last page, and this book reminds me why I love reading so much. I close the page and feel, ahhhh...everything that should work out does, yet it leaves me with questions that will make me remember this book unlike other just good books that are forgotten days or weeks later.

    I can't fault this book. I can think so very hard and not think of one bit out of place. Everything that went wrong for the characters felt right, and even though I wanted the best for them, I knew I had to go through the troubles with the time travel and time/place difference with Bennett and Anna. They needed that for their situation to be able to work.

    I don't hesitate to recommend this to teens or adults. 5 stars!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    It was such an incredible story that made me want more. 

    It was such an incredible story that made me want more. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2012

    I absolutely loved this story. The entire time that I was readin

    I absolutely loved this story. The entire time that I was reading it, I had no idea how it was going to end, and that was the most exciting part. I adored Anna and Bennet as they tried to navigate the entirety of their relationship across so many different years.
    I bought the hardcover of this book while still had the ARC to read, and once I finished this book I was so glad that I went out and spend the money to buy this book in its finished form. I loved how this book made me squeel as Bennet did these nice things for Anna and their romance budded.
    I also loved the time travel theory that Tamara Ireland Stone came up with. That Bennet could go no earlier than his birth and no later than the date that he was in. I think that too often people want to write about time travel but not the different intricacies that go into traveling through time.  
    I think what really did it for me in this book was that Anna wasn't a push over when it came to her relationship with Bennet. When she got mad at him for something he did that she felt was wrong, she stuck with it, she didn't let herself be pushed around because she didn't want to lose him, and she most certainly didn't go catatonic when life ripped them apart. 
    All in all, my friends, move this to the top of your to-read list, because this is a book you don't want to miss out on.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Amazing

    This book is amazing. I love time travel and all things related, but this book was something new. I never really thought about the rules of time travel before, like not being able to go past the current date or farther back than your birth date, and the "butterfly affect". I fell in love with Anna from page one, and felt a connection to each and every one of these dynamic characters. The book is not hard to read or process, but it's not "simple" either. And even though it's obviously ficrion, there's something believable about the way they think and talk. This book will keep you up at night and leave you sighing with pleasure at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    Love it

    Love how this book grabbed me and pulled me in! If you like time travelers wife youll love this even more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2013

    Wow. That was the word I said aloud when I finished reading Time

    Wow. That was the word I said aloud when I finished reading Time Between Us by Tamara Ireland Stone. And that's "wow" in the very best sense of the word. Not the "wow" I said when I finished reading Allegiant.

    In fact, I chose Time Between Us after I'd had a few days to come to terms with the end of Allegiant and I wanted to something new and fresh to read. I looked in my Nook library for something different, something less dark. I read the description and decided it was exactly what my broken heart needed.

    I thought this was a fresh concept and I was not disappointed. Time Between Us is as warm and inviting as a hot latte on a cold early spring evening in a Chicago suburb. I curled up with this story and let it envelop me in its promise of something magical and utterly romantic.

    I love Anna and Bennett's story and the possibilities it brings. I found the characters rich and fascinating and the plot riveting, but not grueling. It was more like a gentle run that gets the endorphins flowing rather than a gritty obstacle course that leaves you exhausted. And as far as I'm concerned, this was exactly what I needed.

    I generally love all things time-travel related. My favorite Disney movie is Meet the Robinsons, I've seen Time after Time a dozen times and all three Back to the Future movies more times than I can count. So a book about teen romance and time travel is a book written for me, whether or not the author knew that's what she was doing. Throw in two of my favorite bands, Pearl Jam and Phish, and this book is at the top of my five-star recommendations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Amazing

    I think this book is amazing. However impossible it may be, it is still touching to know that true love can exist. If he hadn't met her then there would be no story. As a reader I enjoy a little bit of action in what I read. I take reading very seriously. Without a plot there is no stiry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Bjorn

    ???

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1