Customer Reviews for

The Time Capsule

Average Rating 5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(33)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Highly recommended

    My 12 year old daughter has been reading Lurlene McDaniel books and she absolutely has loved each and every title she has read. Her nook is full of this authors titles and she can't put it down once she starts a new book. As a mother I am very grateful for this author and the way that she writes, allowing our children to feel empathy for the characters as well as learning from the experiences that the characters are going through. 2 thumbs up and 5 stars!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Good but sad

    This is a really good but sad story. It made me want to cry but it had a good meaning to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    AMAZING

    One of my all time favorite books. Never thought id be able to say that about one book!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2010

    It brought tears to my eyes

    When I read this book it literally brought tears to my eyes. The whole book just made me wanna lay down and cry. Most of all though it made me appreciate what I have. Lurlene McDaniel is the best author for teenage girls who like love and disaster stories. I think this book is totally worth the price and EVERYONE WILL LOVE IT!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2008

    The Time Capsule.

    The Time Capsule By: Lurlene McDaniel In the beginning of the story the twins Alexis and Adam get invited to their elementary school Woodland Elementary School in North Miami. It was their first grade teacher Ms. Lola, she had written them a note saying in one of the paragraphs ¿I¿m writing because I want you to join me in a celebration picnic here at Woodland Elementary. First, I¿m celebrating 25 years of teaching first grade. But more than that, I¿m celebrating YOU, my students-that is, all of you can locate who are still attending school in the greater Miami area!¿ She made all the students write what they wanted to be or do when they grew up and she had them do that on the last day of school 'last day of first grade'. She then put the pieces of paper in a box called the time capsule. Well now its time to come open it! ¿So please come to the picnic, get reacquainted with one another, eat pizza and cake and meet my brand new first graders.¿ Ms. Lola wrote. Adam and Alexis went under the giant banyan tree by the playground on the last Friday of August at 3:00 pm., just like Ms. Lola wrote in the letter. Alexis wrote, ¿I want to help people.¿ Adam wrote that he wanted to be a fireman. Later in the story their senior year of high school, Alexis wanted to go to Disney World with her family like they used to when Adam and Alexis were young. Alexis planned the trip, she wanted her parents to go but they were to busy with work. So her father told her to bring her boyfriend Sawyer, her best friend Tessa, Adam 'obviously', Adams girlfriend Kelly, and his friend Wade. Alexis started planning the room situations and all that important stuff. Alexis thought that Kelly¿s parents would only let her go if they shared a room together, so it was Alexis, Tessa, and Kelly, and Adam, Sawyer, and Wade. They had a great time in Disney, they didn¿t want it to ever end but, it had to. About 2 weeks after they came home from Disney Adam had a secure when he was with Kelly and he had to get rushed to the hospital. When Alexis got home their was a note on the table saying Adam was in the hospital, so her and Sawyer rushed over there. When they got their they couldn¿t see Adam right away because he was in surgery but, once he got out only family could see him, so Alexis went in and Sawyer waited in the waiting room. When Ally 'Alexis' went in Adams room she found burses on him all over, she asked him why he had random burses, and it was because he missed one of his treatments and no one could tell he had them in Disney because he was covered up most of the time. She had asked him why he never told her because they tell each other everything or at least she thought so. He said that he didn¿t want to make it a big deal. Well Adam was in the hospital for a couple weeks and then they moved him too Kendall Hospital ER. and that¿s where he staid the longest. After him being in there for so long he made a friends with all the little children on his floor. One of the little boys Rudy, Adam called him his little brother. Adam staid in the hospital through Christmas and his ¿little brother¿ got to get out, Adam said that, that¿s a good Christmas present. Adam decided to make the children teddy bears and dress them with the kids favorite things. He asked Ally and Tessa to help and when Ally told her parents what Adam project was they wanted to help, when Ally told Adam that mom & dad wanted to help he was shocked and said ¿Ally what did you bribe them with?¿ aha Ally said ¿nothing they came to me asking to help.¿ Adam was happy that they wanted to help. After they were done with the project Adam, Ally, and Tessa handed them out to all the children and Adam saved Rudy¿s room for last. He wanted some alone time with his ¿new brother¿ since he was leaving. Adam gave him his teddy bear and a wrapped box. Rudy opened it and it was a baseball glove. The little boy was so happy! He had a big smile on his face, thanking Adam. A month or so later, Adams medican

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2008

    This Book ROCKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book is awesome! I would recomend it to anyone. Lots of girls in my class have read. First it seems boring, but then it gets really really exciting. So if your reading it don't quit because it gets really good. And it gives you clues leading up to when Adam gets sick again. So be looking for them and if you don't find them at first it will tell you in the end. I didn't see them untils the end anyways.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2007

    I love this book :)

    This book was soo good. I loved it. This was the first Lurlene McDaniel book I have read. I could actually relate to this book, because I am also a teenager. She's close with her twin brother. Although I don't have a twin brother or sister, my sister and my age aren't too far apart. This book showed real tragedies that a teenager would go through. This book's base and storyline was capturing. It was so dramatic, and I think that's why I enjoyed it the most. It was puzzling without the confusion. It was really sad, and this was actually the first book where I actually cried while I was reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2007

    Amazing

    This book was amazing! It was the first book I read by her and I loved it! I cried and I laughed and everyone thought I was crazy when I did it in public. But it was an awsome book! you should read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2006

    the can't put down book of the year

    this book is the best book ever.i read it in 2 days i couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2006

    The Time Capsule

    Cheating. Betrayal. Break-ups. Destinies crashing. That¿s what Time Capsule written by: Lurlene McDaniel is all about. If you like young teen realistic fiction books, and books that make you cry, and make your heart feel all warm and fuzzy this is the book for you! I promise! The main characters in this book are Alexis and Adam. Alexis is the star captain of the debate team, and Adam is a sweetheart who in his life has suffered from leukemia. This book takes place in present daytime, and It¿s basically about everyday life. When Adam and Alexis ( twins ) were in 1st grade, they wrote down what they wanted to be when they grew up, and they put it in a thing called a time capsule. When entering their senior year in high school, they got invited to a reunion to open up the time capsule, and see what they put. They were in shock what they had written. But when life got turned upside down, and all you can do is believe, Adam and Alexis realized that what they put in the time capsule, wasn¿t so far off the mark. I absolutely loved this book because it made me laugh, and cry, and it was really enjoyable. So read this book. I promise that you won¿t regret it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2006

    this book was soooooooooo good

    i could relate to alexis- i want to go to law school. i felt bad for her and adam because they have to deal with adam's leukemia. kelly is a bad girlfriend to adam because she only wanted him to be popular and left him when he had a cancer relapse. tessa should've been adam's girlfriend. it's sad that adam dies and doesn't get to graduate. their family life was bad but improved when adam got sick. this book is deeply moving- read it- it's worth it and keep kleenex next to you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2006

    MUST READ!

    This book is was so sad. It was the first book I read from Lurlene McDaniel. I'm reading another book of hers, I just started and I really love it. This book was so sad. I was crying at the end. How can she tear the characters apart like that?!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2006

    Why you should read 'Time Capsule'.

    I read this book around January of 2006, for school, and i knew it was going to be a great book like all of Lurlene Mcdaniel's books, its so heartwarming and brougt alot of tears, you'll love it trust me, you would not want to miss reading this book. It has a great way of bringing people together. So read *Time Capsule* NOW!!!!!!! You'll be crazy not to. Bye good luck to all :-).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2006

    my friend

    adam is like one of the girls i use to go to school with she died of lukemia when she was only a junior in high school so she relates to adam.:(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2006

    An Amazing Book

    'The Time Capsule' was an amazing, tearjerking book. Adam and Alexis Chappel are twins who have always been close. They live in Florida and their family is falling apart. Then Adam gets sick and Alexis has to deal with it. She has to balance out her life at the hospital and her other life, the one with her boyfriend, Sawyer and her debate team. It's a fiction book you have to read. It made me cry and I can't say that about a lot of books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2005

    Great Book!!!!!!

    The first book I read by this author was Always and Forever, after that one I couldn't wait to read more. This is a wonderful book. You really feel for Adam and Alexis.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2005

    Inspiring Book shows Meaning

    The book 'The Time Capsule' written by Lurlene McDaniel, is an inspiring novel which showed real meaning to me. It shows how the author uses the main character, Adam, to change lives of others around him. It also shows the true meaning of love and kindness. Alexis' friend, Tessa, likes Adam even when he is sick. She judged him from what is in the inside, unlike Adam's girlfriend.This book has inspired me to start reading more and it is now my favorite book I've ever read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2005

    sad story

    I loved this book even though it was really sad. I thought you could really feel how Alexis and Adam felt. I have never read one of this authors books. This was the first on and I will look for some more of her book. I enjoyed how every page would tell you something new.(it wasn't always good)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2005

    This book was...

    This book made me cry. :'(. I liked it though. It was my first ever book by this particular author. I am going to go buy more of her books now. This book was one of my favorites because all of the other Teen books are about the same thing and this one was different. (in a good way)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2005

    Family trial

    I loved this book! The Time Capsule was a great book! It's about the love of two siblings struggling together in times of their family almsot falling appart. I cryed very hard at the end of the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2