Customer Reviews for

Time Enough for Love

Average Rating 4.5
( 76 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(52)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

The story is a classic -- pity about the e-book version

I've been a lifelong fan of Heinlein and was thrilled to obtain a digital copy of this novel; however, there are so many typographical errors -- which do not appear in my paperback copy; I assume this was an OCR scan that was not checked against the hard copy -- that it...
I've been a lifelong fan of Heinlein and was thrilled to obtain a digital copy of this novel; however, there are so many typographical errors -- which do not appear in my paperback copy; I assume this was an OCR scan that was not checked against the hard copy -- that it's almost painful to read.

posted by tamarscott on July 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Publisher's Contempt for eBooks Shows

An electronic edition of this book has been in my "buy on sight" list for years. But THIS edition isn't it. Raddled with typos, vital information, including the illustrations is missing. I've seen BETTER electronic copies (unauthorized) on the net for free. In my opinio...
An electronic edition of this book has been in my "buy on sight" list for years. But THIS edition isn't it. Raddled with typos, vital information, including the illustrations is missing. I've seen BETTER electronic copies (unauthorized) on the net for free. In my opinion, the publisher should refund triple my money as a penalty for gross contempt of the book, the author, and the suckers ... er ... buyers.

posted by sehlat on July 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Love this book!

    I have read the Lazarus Long books multiple times over 50 years, and this is my favorite!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommended for the lover of Science Fiction and a humanitarian!

    The book is set in the consistently changing fluctuation of time. Lazarus Long (the main character) is the main component to drive the story to its ending. This book covers love, marriage, death, life, and life after death. Throughout the story, little tidbits of everlasting wisdom show up and speak of the human condition. A definitive great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    Highly recommrnd

    Future history through the eyes of one man.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I would so marry Woodrow Wilson Smith, aka Lazarus Long, if I go

    I would so marry Woodrow Wilson Smith, aka Lazarus Long, if I got the chance.
    (Or at least invite him mattress-dancing.) Love, adventure, sex, time-travel, talking space-yachts
    and computers with personalities. Heinlein's I Will Fear No Evil is a close second.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2012

    Awesome!

    I had this book years ago, and lost it. Something made me remember it, so I ordered it for my library. It was like reuniting with an old friend. LOVE Lazarus's Notebook pages! If you've never read it, and like things that are a bit different, read it. If you haven't read it in a while, re-visit it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2012

    Hated this version of a great book

    Have always loved this book. Lazarus is a great character, but the narrator is the wrong person for this book. He sounds like a 20 year tying to act like an old man. He's terrible for this character. Most of the time he sounds like Groucho Marx. He kills a great book. Would not recommend this to anyone. If you want to enjoy Heinlein's work read it yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Probably my favorite book.

    It is fun book to read yet it makes you think about the serious aspects of life; jobs, war, happiness, loves, and the inevitability of death. This book is a must read, especially for teenagers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    Absolute Favorite Book in the Universe

    This book is an amazing representation of humanity in its raw form. Heinlein's characters are true and real, and this makes them easier to respect than characters many other authors have created. Science fiction meets romance meets Utopian existence and the reader may find oneself wishing that this world truly exists.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2007

    Worth the Eye Strain From 589 Pages.

    Lazarus Long is a great character, numero uno alongside Jubal Harshaw. Heinlein offers a compelling story which is definitely worth reading. I found myself laughing out loud at parts. Divided into many novellas, Lazarus's life takes on many different roles (actually all of them). I have read many of Heinlein's works, most of them I feel are timeless classics. Enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2006

    Ties together

    Quite a few of his books and the one liners are to live for! very fun read did not want to put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2001

    oh my goodness

    this book is awsome. easly one of the best ever written. i have read a thousand books easy so this is indeed saying something. it should be school required.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2000

    great literature

    read this book, i personally guarantee you will love it. and you don't have to be a sci-fi fan to enjoy it. it is simply great literature. RAH makes the unbelievable, seem believable in this novel. easily his most compelling story. lazarus long has to rank up there with the greatest characters of all time.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2000

    Time enough

    The first time I tried reading this book, I was about 10, and couldn't get into it- it's eight years later, and I couldn't put it down. I'm now trying to find out what the other books involving Lazarus Long are- Any info, email me please! Oh, yeah, READ THIS BOOK!- you won't regret it, and you might just thank me some day!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2000

    A CLASSIC :AS TIMELESS AS IT'S CHARACTER

    IF YOU HAVE EVER PONDERED YOUR MORTALITY,THIS IS THE BOOK FOR YOU.YOU WILL FIND YOURSELF HANGING ON EACH PAGE.WHAT WILL BE NEXT ? ONLY R.A.H. AND I KNOW.IT'S FOR YOU TO FIND OUT,OVER AND OVER AGAIN.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3