Customer Reviews for

The Time Machine and The Invisible Man (Barnes & Noble Classics Series)

Average Rating 4
( 226 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(84)

4 Star

(68)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A very entertaining read.

I am continued to be blown away by H.G. Wells. Everyone one of his stories brings something new to the science fiction genre and never lets down his true fans' expectations.

The time machine seemed more thought out, but I cant put my foot on which story I enjoyed mor...
I am continued to be blown away by H.G. Wells. Everyone one of his stories brings something new to the science fiction genre and never lets down his true fans' expectations.

The time machine seemed more thought out, but I cant put my foot on which story I enjoyed more.

Anyways, If you are looking for a book to keep you glued to the couch for a couple of hours, then I recommend this.

posted by BookThiefGT on September 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

This is a poor edition of these books

I recently bought two B&N Classics editions. The other was Oscar Wilde's "The Picture of Dorian Gray." Both books have the same problems, but it seems worse in the Wells edition.

Both begin with an introduction that I feel should not be read first if you've n...
I recently bought two B&N Classics editions. The other was Oscar Wilde's "The Picture of Dorian Gray." Both books have the same problems, but it seems worse in the Wells edition.

Both begin with an introduction that I feel should not be read first if you've never read these books. If B&N truly wants to include these opinions, they should be in the back of the book.

More irritating is the constant need to define words. In the first chapter of Time Machine, I believe 6 words were given a * with clarification in the footnotes.

Dorian Gray had this, too, but it was mostly to clear up antiquated local knowledge points. That is useful.

What is not useful is breaking up the reading flow to offer a definition of a normal - not even obscure - English word. For example, in Chapter 1, the term "sleight of hand" was defined in this manner. Odds are, if you're reading this book, you already know that term.

I wanted these books in my house, and the price looked great, but next time I'll buy a more pure edition. The constant notations in this edition are the literary equivalent of pop-ups on a website.

posted by Stewart_the_Wise on January 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A very entertaining read.

    I am continued to be blown away by H.G. Wells. Everyone one of his stories brings something new to the science fiction genre and never lets down his true fans' expectations.

    The time machine seemed more thought out, but I cant put my foot on which story I enjoyed more.

    Anyways, If you are looking for a book to keep you glued to the couch for a couple of hours, then I recommend this.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a timeless classic.

    I read this book a long time ago, in grade school. I purchased this copy, because I wanted to read it immediately preceding Stephen Baxter's Time Ships, which is said to be the sequel to Well's Time Machine.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2006

    What is the Nature of Time?

    The 'Time Machine' is a wonderful little novel. Its plot is very straightforward, interesting, and well-written, but more than that the ideas that it arouses are very special. I love books about the nature of time, and this is a good starting place to search for its meaning.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Captivating, but Mildly Underwhelming

    The Time Machine: I found this short work to be rather enjoyable and interesting. The plot was captivating, albeit due to its basis in the fantastical realm of literature, but rather underdeveloped. While the ending is rather fitting, I felt the story-line gave in too quickly and left me aching for a larger, more epic work of science fiction literature. Had Wells continued with and elaborated on his completely brilliant story, it could very well be the best piece of pure science fiction ever written. Regrettably, that is not the case.

    The Invisible Man: Intriguing from beginning to end. This made up for and surpassed, by far, The Time Machine. The story in its entirety is not that long, but extremely well developed. Deep psychological issues are dealt with, in addition to several, diverse conflicts involving right and wrong and complicated ethics issues. The only advisory I would give, though I had no problem with it personally, was that some scenes are violent.

    The Time Machine was underwhelming due to a seemingly blaring lack of completion of a superb plot. Conversely, The Invisible Man was immaculate in context and pristine in delivery with an outstanding plot. Overall this book is a good read and a library staple, if given ample consideration for its shortcomings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read

    B&N Classics has given us two original sci-fi series that go above and beyond what few others have done. H. G. Well's ability to present a personally political and moral view into such tales is incredible. He mends his philosophies and politics into proper characters and situations to creat wonderful books. Not only are they clever, but thrilling and engaging. The stories move fast yet have so much detail and attention that nothing feels slacked off. They stimulate your thinking and knowledge even long after you're done with the book. Plus the 'introduction' pages give you an in-depth understanding of the author and his stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Time Machine

    Much suspense and action! Classic that is anjoyed and will be loved by readers for many centuries. Probably one of H.G. Well's best written books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Just pure genius

    Got this book couple of month's ago before new years. I just got up to chapter 3 of Time Machine. and I can tell this a great book You can't put it down unless you have to. this One H.G wells greatest work If you enjoy this you should buy some of his other works. If I had to describe this book in word it would be genius.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2006

    Andrew's Review for The Time Machine

    The book The Time Machine, by H.G. Wells, is a very interesting book. The book is told from two different view points, one from the narrator and the other from the protagonist. The Time Machine is about a young inventor who seems to have invented a machine that, low and behold, can travel through time. He experiments with his machine on a small scale by sending a replica into ¿time¿. The next day, the narrator and other colleagues return to The Time Traveler where he proceeds explain his supposed journey that he took through time. He tells of how he traveled to 802,701 AD where he meets a race known as the Eloi. There is a human-like race that lives above ground in fear of the other dominant race known as the Morlocks. The Morlocks live underground and hunt the Eloi. Through a series of events, The Time Traveler ventures into the domain of the Morlocks and lights the entire place on fire along with many Morlocks. The Time Traveler makes other stops on his way back to his own time. The narrator and his colleagues leave and return the next day to find that the Time Traveler is no where to be found, leaving us with the assumption that he has left again to travel through time. I find H.G. Wells to be a fascinating writer. He has a way of drawing in the reader on a very real level just like he did in War of the Worlds. It is obviously more of a science fiction book than anything else however it is easy to loose track of the genre and simply be pulled into the book. Of course, I am a Star Wars fan and naturally have a bias toward science fiction, but I would have found it enjoyable nonetheless. It is pretty easy reading for someone of average education. In all, I would give the book one and a half thumbs up!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2003

    fantasticly boring(but it's still a good book)

    This book is a very good book about a scientist who created a machine that can travel trough time. Untill ended up in 802701 A.D. hw got lost and mysterious things begain to happen. Even though i liked this book i do not recommend this book to anyone that likes only action pack book. If you are that kind of person you will not like this book because this book mostly contains a story of a man so if you like a story of little action and some romance(very very little)so i recommend this book to all the normal and people who likes the author H.G.Wells(who is one of my favorite author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4