Customer Reviews for

The Time Machine And The Invisible Man

Average Rating 4
( 225 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(84)

4 Star

(67)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great Classic Book!!

The Invisible Man is a great classic book... HG Wells is a master at creating suspense and leaving you wanting more. This is the 3rd book i read from him and he still has yet to disappoint ! Recommend you read this soon !!

posted by Ludwig1770 on February 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

This is a poor edition of these books

I recently bought two B&N Classics editions. The other was Oscar Wilde's "The Picture of Dorian Gray." Both books have the same problems, but it seems worse in the Wells edition.

Both begin with an introduction that I feel should not be read first if you've n...
I recently bought two B&N Classics editions. The other was Oscar Wilde's "The Picture of Dorian Gray." Both books have the same problems, but it seems worse in the Wells edition.

Both begin with an introduction that I feel should not be read first if you've never read these books. If B&N truly wants to include these opinions, they should be in the back of the book.

More irritating is the constant need to define words. In the first chapter of Time Machine, I believe 6 words were given a * with clarification in the footnotes.

Dorian Gray had this, too, but it was mostly to clear up antiquated local knowledge points. That is useful.

What is not useful is breaking up the reading flow to offer a definition of a normal - not even obscure - English word. For example, in Chapter 1, the term "sleight of hand" was defined in this manner. Odds are, if you're reading this book, you already know that term.

I wanted these books in my house, and the price looked great, but next time I'll buy a more pure edition. The constant notations in this edition are the literary equivalent of pop-ups on a website.

posted by Stewart_the_Wise on January 14, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 229 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted January 14, 2009

    This is a poor edition of these books

    I recently bought two B&N Classics editions. The other was Oscar Wilde's "The Picture of Dorian Gray." Both books have the same problems, but it seems worse in the Wells edition.<BR/><BR/>Both begin with an introduction that I feel should not be read first if you've never read these books. If B&N truly wants to include these opinions, they should be in the back of the book.<BR/><BR/>More irritating is the constant need to define words. In the first chapter of Time Machine, I believe 6 words were given a * with clarification in the footnotes.<BR/><BR/>Dorian Gray had this, too, but it was mostly to clear up antiquated local knowledge points. That is useful.<BR/><BR/>What is not useful is breaking up the reading flow to offer a definition of a normal - not even obscure - English word. For example, in Chapter 1, the term "sleight of hand" was defined in this manner. Odds are, if you're reading this book, you already know that term.<BR/><BR/>I wanted these books in my house, and the price looked great, but next time I'll buy a more pure edition. The constant notations in this edition are the literary equivalent of pop-ups on a website.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Classic Book!!

    The Invisible Man is a great classic book... HG Wells is a master at creating suspense and leaving you wanting more. This is the 3rd book i read from him and he still has yet to disappoint ! Recommend you read this soon !!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A very entertaining read.

    I am continued to be blown away by H.G. Wells. Everyone one of his stories brings something new to the science fiction genre and never lets down his true fans' expectations.

    The time machine seemed more thought out, but I cant put my foot on which story I enjoyed more.

    Anyways, If you are looking for a book to keep you glued to the couch for a couple of hours, then I recommend this.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2011

    Sci Fi Classic Must list

    This is the foundation and origin of science fiction as we know it. Easy read. You will enjoy this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Classic Sci-Fi

    The Time Machine is a great, if short, story giving a glimpse into human nature, society, and an author's vision going so far into the future it's awe inspiring.

    The Invisible Man is a horror story at the core, and excellent display of desire and loss of control.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a timeless classic.

    I read this book a long time ago, in grade school. I purchased this copy, because I wanted to read it immediately preceding Stephen Baxter's Time Ships, which is said to be the sequel to Well's Time Machine.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2008

    BACK TO THE FUTURE -1

    The Time Machine was one of H.G. Wells' greatest books. I liked this book because his theories are convincing, like that we could travel through time, as our minds do, and this book shows that when life becomes perfect life will still be imperfect. This story tells us about the fall of man as intelligence degrades, and cannibalism comes forth. Although the ending is sad, I recommend this book to anyone who understands H.G Wells' style of writing

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2007

    A reviewer

    I loved the way wells rights he puts in details that put you in the amazing worlds he travels to. Well worth your time

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2006

    What is the Nature of Time?

    The 'Time Machine' is a wonderful little novel. Its plot is very straightforward, interesting, and well-written, but more than that the ideas that it arouses are very special. I love books about the nature of time, and this is a good starting place to search for its meaning.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2011

    X

    X

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A great combination of two of my favorite HG Wells books!

    This book has a lot going for it. Not only do you get two of the most compulsively readable Wells novels but you also get a lot of extras. One of the more interesting extras is the "Based on..." section that goes into the rather interesting history of the movies, TV shows, and other fiction inspired by and based on these two books. Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Captivating, but Mildly Underwhelming

    The Time Machine: I found this short work to be rather enjoyable and interesting. The plot was captivating, albeit due to its basis in the fantastical realm of literature, but rather underdeveloped. While the ending is rather fitting, I felt the story-line gave in too quickly and left me aching for a larger, more epic work of science fiction literature. Had Wells continued with and elaborated on his completely brilliant story, it could very well be the best piece of pure science fiction ever written. Regrettably, that is not the case.

    The Invisible Man: Intriguing from beginning to end. This made up for and surpassed, by far, The Time Machine. The story in its entirety is not that long, but extremely well developed. Deep psychological issues are dealt with, in addition to several, diverse conflicts involving right and wrong and complicated ethics issues. The only advisory I would give, though I had no problem with it personally, was that some scenes are violent.

    The Time Machine was underwhelming due to a seemingly blaring lack of completion of a superb plot. Conversely, The Invisible Man was immaculate in context and pristine in delivery with an outstanding plot. Overall this book is a good read and a library staple, if given ample consideration for its shortcomings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Historical must read

    H.G. Wells is one of those writers where I find that I am more interested in him than I am in his writing. Does that make me hopeless? I liked the Time Machine and the Invisible Man, but I don't love them. They are interesting as early speculative fiction and certainly interesting in the social perspective that they uncover. But interesting is not the same as moving for me, somehow.
    Of the two novels, I liked the Time Machine the best. Justly famous both for being an ancestor of modern speculative fiction and for its social message about classes, it is a strong piece of writing. The Morlocks, the Eloi, the decaying world-- Wells paints a compelling picture, and I understand and appreciate the work.
    The Invisible Man seemed much less developed to me. I like the way that the main character's invisibility both led to and stemmed from his questioning of moral certainty. Unfortunately the idea seemed much more developed than the story itself-- as though Wells had been bored with carrying things through.
    I think that the next Wells that I pick up would be his Experiment in Autobiography. I suspect that given how much more I like his ideas than his fiction skills I may be better off with non-fiction and letters.
    Both these short novels are still must-reads by virtue of their influence and historical significance. Recommended for readers of all ages. In fact, they might have gone down better with me when I was younger.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read

    B&N Classics has given us two original sci-fi series that go above and beyond what few others have done. H. G. Well's ability to present a personally political and moral view into such tales is incredible. He mends his philosophies and politics into proper characters and situations to creat wonderful books. Not only are they clever, but thrilling and engaging. The stories move fast yet have so much detail and attention that nothing feels slacked off. They stimulate your thinking and knowledge even long after you're done with the book. Plus the 'introduction' pages give you an in-depth understanding of the author and his stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2009

    interesting title

    cannot give a review..I bought it as a gift to my cousin

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Time Machine

    Much suspense and action! Classic that is anjoyed and will be loved by readers for many centuries. Probably one of H.G. Well's best written books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Just pure genius

    Got this book couple of month's ago before new years. I just got up to chapter 3 of Time Machine. and I can tell this a great book You can't put it down unless you have to. this One H.G wells greatest work If you enjoy this you should buy some of his other works. If I had to describe this book in word it would be genius.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2008

    Fantastic adventure

    To think this classic is still on bookshelves makes clear that H. G. Wells was and still is absolutely phenomenal. Great character discriptions. Outstanding story and plot. Another MUST READ sci-fi story for the history books. I hope to find this book again in my next life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2007

    Sweetness review

    The book was good i really liked it although there were some boring parts in the beginning of 'The Time Machine.'

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2006

    a reviewer

    The book The Time Machine was an okay book. It was very confusing at times because of the unusual words the auther uses. I didn't think it was very interesting because he had so many details you really didn't need to know. It was also a very slow book and didn't get to the pont right away he would put confusing details which made it hard to understand. Overall, the book was fine but i would not recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 229 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12