Customer Reviews for

TIME Magazine

Average Rating 3.5
( 301 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(111)

4 Star

(74)

3 Star

(51)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(36)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Way to Go!

I thought that this would be Time magazine with a video or two thrown in for window dressing. Boy, was I wrong--and happily so. This electronic edition is a totally reimagined magazine. You can read the Culture pages, and you can also watch a lively video of what happ...
I thought that this would be Time magazine with a video or two thrown in for window dressing. Boy, was I wrong--and happily so. This electronic edition is a totally reimagined magazine. You can read the Culture pages, and you can also watch a lively video of what happened in the past week. They mention someone who has 5 hit singles from 1 album, comparing it to Michael Jackson's having done this in 1987--and then show a video of him dancing and singing to Bad. Want to know about the housing crisis? Either click on the pictures of a hard hit neighborhood in Cleveland, or play the slide show of houses being demolished, or choose "graphics" to see a map of the USA showing how hard hit each state is, or "grab text" and get a serious, in-depth analysis of the crisis and some possible solutions. Truly an electronic experience. I never used to read Time, but now I can hardly wait for the next issue. Certainly, we can see the future of magazines and how they can both integrate information and deliver it in memorable ways. It's not just flashy presentation. It's actually a new way of reading, and one for the better.

posted by Brainylainy on September 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

warning : this is not supported on your ipad and non-nook devices, most android devices

Warning.....

posted by 10078220 on November 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 301 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    Way to Go!

    I thought that this would be Time magazine with a video or two thrown in for window dressing. Boy, was I wrong--and happily so. This electronic edition is a totally reimagined magazine. You can read the Culture pages, and you can also watch a lively video of what happened in the past week. They mention someone who has 5 hit singles from 1 album, comparing it to Michael Jackson's having done this in 1987--and then show a video of him dancing and singing to Bad. Want to know about the housing crisis? Either click on the pictures of a hard hit neighborhood in Cleveland, or play the slide show of houses being demolished, or choose "graphics" to see a map of the USA showing how hard hit each state is, or "grab text" and get a serious, in-depth analysis of the crisis and some possible solutions. Truly an electronic experience. I never used to read Time, but now I can hardly wait for the next issue. Certainly, we can see the future of magazines and how they can both integrate information and deliver it in memorable ways. It's not just flashy presentation. It's actually a new way of reading, and one for the better.

    18 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    Free if you already have a Print Subscription

    We enjoy our weekly print version of Time Magazine.....but WOW the NOOK Color version brings the magazine to life in whole new ways! First, if you already subscribe to print, all you have to do is accept the 14 day free trial and you instantly get an email with instructions on how to key in your print subscription account number (which is easily found on the mailing label of every issue). Voilla...no charge. Equally amazing is the way this app uses soft buttons for surfing the stories; viewing pictures/graphics and their captions; scrolling and reading articles in very easy to read manner; providing videos and added content that are not possible in the print edition. Honestly, I thought I read last weeks print edition cover to cover, but the way it is layed out on the NOOK Color, I have discovered new content. And did I mention this was FREE with my continued subscription to the print version? I'm keeping my print subscription and hoping other magazines and newspapers follow suit.....this is a way to grow your print subscriptions!!!!!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    warning : this is not supported on your ipad and non-nook devices, most android devices

    Warning.....

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Excellent Format

    The Format that TIME uses for this magazine is excellent on the Nook and makes reading the magazine easy and enjoyable. No need to pinch/expand the pages so you can read the text, and there is often audio and video media that you can play that you don't get with the print edition. This format and magazine are now my favorite for the NOOK Color!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2011

    It is...

    TIME for TIME to take a powder. This is no longer a news magazine worthy of reading or even lending any credibility to editorials and features. It is very sad to see a publication with such a history for news worthy articles stoop so low in quality and content. However, all good things must end sometime and I fear TIMES TIME is approaching.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    Very well done

    Interesting articles and the interactive aspect is very well done, great price for what you get, well worth it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    Fantastic!

    Love the interactive reading experience with the 1.3 download with this magazine! A good choice!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Incompatibilty issue

    I'm sure this is a great magazine, but if your running the nook app on iPad, you might as well go to the newsstand. This magazine is not compatible. Wish there would be a disclaimer as to which devices will not support certain books

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Our Subsidized Nation

    Great Time Magazine article this week on how our nation subsidizes almost everything that touches our daily lives. Now if only our politicians would read this article and start discussing how to reduce our budget!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Better than paper

    I have always liked TIME in the paper format. I now receive it on my nook and it is so much better, You will need subscribe. The newest is an excellent example of a standard issue.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Good content, great layout.

    This magazine has one of the best layouts and navigation I have seen for a magazine. At first it is easy to be confused by its up and down article reading, but after you get used to it it makes sense. The content is easy to read and dont need to use a preview text mode.

    Also, many maps and images have areas to select for expanded info. Works great for maps.

    In short, expect a different experience from other magazines, but if you get to fully explore the layout you may find it superior to many others. Use the trial period to see if the layout and navigation works for you.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    Time on NC

    It is a great experience to read this magazine by means of the enhanced features of the Nook Color. The videos, the testimonials, and the thumb-sized photos that can be enlarged rendered my first issue of Time a memorable one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    Wow!!

    Wonderful!! I have been waited for this magazine to come out for Nook Color! How did you read my mind!! Thank you!! Very pleased with enhanced issue!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2014

    I do not like the new format that has the pages on my Nook. You

    I do not like the new format that has the pages on my Nook. You have to magnify each page, then reduce it back down to turn the page. A pain in the rear. Is there any way to go back to the old format?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2014

    Do Not Use Free Trial

    Do not use the free trial on the Nook for Time Magazine to determine whether or not you should become a full-time subscriber. If you decide to subscribe to Time after the two-week trial, the subscription information notes that the yearly fee through Time encompasses a free digital subscription, but only if you have not yet used your free trial. Once your two week free trial period is up, you will be charged for the yearly fee by Time as well as a monthly fee by Barnes and Noble.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    It isn't worth the deal!

    I would like to cancel the magazine. A person with low vision cannot read and enjoy the magazine. It is time consuming as you have to adjust the print each time you turn a page. That is frustrating and in some cases you cannot get the font large enough.
    J. P.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    Person of the year Issue

    I was not able to view this issue on landscape mode. Customer service support was not able to resolve the problem.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    Good

    Great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    I have been enjoying the content of Time but they stopped provid

    I have been enjoying the content of Time but they stopped providing the Article View feature which is a deal breaker for me. I cannot see the small print on my Nook HD and I cancelled my subscription.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    Prince

    Charles

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 301 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16