Customer Reviews for

Time Out

Average Rating 5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This is the one!

    If you don't dig this, move on. but if your like most, it will open the door and start the addiction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Still The Greatest At 81 Years Of Age

    I heard him "live" for only the second time in my life just a few weeks ago at Miami Univ in Oxford, Ohio. He is as dynamic as ever. He rendered the best version of Blue Rondo a la Turk I have ever heard him play. It was a terrific program involving the quartet, the university orchestra and vocal groups. Terrific performance, terrific music, and a terrific man.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Album Ever Made

    I'm a professional artist and spend a lot of time in the studio working on my paintings. I like to listen to music while I paint because it helps my creativity. I tend to get tired of a c.d. after a while and need something new, but not in this case. Brubeck is brilliant with the way he alters from 3/4 to 7/8 or switches the style of music. Rather than getting tired of it, I find it grows on me each time I listen. Take Five is the most famous cut, but I've grown to love the others much more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A vastly underappreciated masterpiece

    This album is one of the greatest, hands down. Brubeck, Desmond, Wright, and Morello aren't the most "cutting-edge" of jazzers - only the most inventive and lyrical. The work done on this album defines jazz, in its purest form: truly MAKING music. Take Five is required listening, of course. I also believe Blue Rondo, Strange Meadow lark, and Kathy's Waltz stand out from the other incredible pieces on this allbum. This record is an absolute MUST for the jazz fan!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Jazz at its Best

    Just as good as I remembered. I'm a listener (not a musician) and an enthusiastic listener indeed. If you want the experience of revisiting jazz done by one of the masters, Dave Brubeck's Timeout CD is for you.

    It takes you back in time...sipping your cocktail of choice at the local jazz club on a summer night on-the-town with your best friend, listening to one of the best jazz quartets in the world...no exaggeration. A must-have for your collection. And grooving to Blue Rondo a la Turk on my commute to work each morning -- what a pleasure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    FABULOUS!!!!

    Dave Brubeck's "Take Five" is my all time favorite piece of music.
    This is a wonderful CD is you like Brubeck, jazz, etc.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A 20-bit remastered must have!

    This is the quintessence of jazz cool. Emotive, warm, and easily accessible this album belongs in the standard must have repertoire of any jazz collection. You'll never grow tired of coming back again and again to listen to this time-honored classic. Remastered for the best possible sound.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    First album I ever bought

    As a student drummer in the '60s I bought this album to help understand the non traditional time signatures (thus the title Time Out) The melodies are infectious, but 5/4, 7/8 and 11 times are really one of the great innovations in jazz.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I heard it first, live

    Dave's brother was the musical director at my high school. I first heard ''Take Five'' live at the Granada theater, where Dave had one of his first live concerts. But before that, I heard it being rehearsed. Together with the other cuts, this is one of the greatest jazz albums ever recorded.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A must for any Jazz collection

    I originally bought this album just for Take Five. Having had listened to the rest of the album, I am still incredibly intrigued in the creativity from the 1950's and how many people recognize Brubeck's innovative sound. If a musical concept can survive for 50 years, there's a reason.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Simply the Best

    This is the best jazz album created...an instant classic from the original release date. A must for anyone who calls themselves a jazz fan!! Brubeck is the man

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Wow!

    These guys are so good! They must have put a lot of work into this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best Jazz You Can Get

    This album is possibly the greatest jazz title of all time. The way the three instruments blend is music ''gold''. I would recomend this to anyone who is starting a jazz collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1