Customer Reviews for

The Time Thief (Gideon Trilogy Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Book 2

A thief from the year 1763 finds himself in the 21st century. Just think of all the bad things he can do with the technology now available to him. This is the second book in the series and keeping track of who is where is getting complicated! This starts out with K...
A thief from the year 1763 finds himself in the 21st century. Just think of all the bad things he can do with the technology now available to him. This is the second book in the series and keeping track of who is where is getting complicated! This starts out with Kate and Mr. Schock traveling back in time to rescue his son, Peter. The only problem lies in the fact that instead of ending up in 1763, they end up 29 years later! They do find Peter but he is unwilling to admit who he is. Plus, the anti-gravity machine has become damaged and is no longer a working machine. NOW how do they get home? The Tar Man, the thief, finds himself someone willing to teach him about the technology of the 21st century and who is just as willing to do unscrupulous things. All this time travel has the NASA people concerned about the effect on our history and Kate finds that time travel HAS had an affect on her. We meet French aristocrats, learn how technology allows the Tar Man to gain wealth and that there might be parallel worlds. Gerald Doyle, as the reader, uses his talents to create different voices so the listener can tell who is speaking. His inflections are wonderful and you can tell English characters from French ones because of this. His ability to do this makes listening easy. I can┬┐t wait for the third book to come out.

posted by Anonymous on September 8, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good read!

I read the first book in the series first, The Time Travelers, and I really like the storyline. I'm a big fantasy-book reader and I LOVE Harry Potter so this fit right into my preferences. Good book!

posted by BookWorm8 on April 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2008

    Book 2

    A thief from the year 1763 finds himself in the 21st century. Just think of all the bad things he can do with the technology now available to him. This is the second book in the series and keeping track of who is where is getting complicated! This starts out with Kate and Mr. Schock traveling back in time to rescue his son, Peter. The only problem lies in the fact that instead of ending up in 1763, they end up 29 years later! They do find Peter but he is unwilling to admit who he is. Plus, the anti-gravity machine has become damaged and is no longer a working machine. NOW how do they get home? The Tar Man, the thief, finds himself someone willing to teach him about the technology of the 21st century and who is just as willing to do unscrupulous things. All this time travel has the NASA people concerned about the effect on our history and Kate finds that time travel HAS had an affect on her. We meet French aristocrats, learn how technology allows the Tar Man to gain wealth and that there might be parallel worlds. Gerald Doyle, as the reader, uses his talents to create different voices so the listener can tell who is speaking. His inflections are wonderful and you can tell English characters from French ones because of this. His ability to do this makes listening easy. I can¿t wait for the third book to come out.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2011

    Gideon The Cutpurse

    This series grabbed me the moment I opened the first book and read the first word. I enjoy reading and love how the book keeps me flipping the page each night. Thanks a billion Lindsey Buckley-Arthur! Abigail Claire Boozer Lady and Golfer 2011

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Good read!

    I read the first book in the series first, The Time Travelers, and I really like the storyline. I'm a big fantasy-book reader and I LOVE Harry Potter so this fit right into my preferences. Good book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Sweet Story

    This is a great book for kids anywhere! Anybody who loves Linda Buckley-Archer will love this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2008

    Holding my breathe for Book (3)

    I was hooked after reading 'Gideon the Cutpurse'. I couldn't put it down and it was the exact same way with the 'Time Thief'. I'm dieing to find out how the story ends.. I'm holding my breathe for the spell binding conclusion.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Book

    I love this book and Harrry Potter!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Haha!

    Someone said linda buckley ARTHER instead of archer... haha!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Time thief

    A very good book. I own the actual book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2011

    Time travel is the most fun ever

    Hi

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2011

    Actually, 10/5 Stars!!!!!

    This book is incredible, I love this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2011

    I love it and i am 9!!!

    So good!!!!not hard at all for me *miscurzes smile*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    HOLD ON TO YOUR HATS, WE GOT A GREAT BOOK

    WOW that is all i can say. an amazing sequel that keeps you on edge past the ending is what i call a great book. *luher <3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2011

    pretty spectacular

    i must admit that for some parts i found myself on another planet but for the most part i was dumbfounded at how wondderfully she writes and found myself confused on why this is not a new york bestseller. i cant wait to read the next book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2010

    THE BOOK THAT WILL LAST THREW TIME!!!!!!!!!

    This is my review on the time thief the second part in the gideon series.This is an extrodanary book with tons of detail with people so vivid in the story that you picture them in your mind. This book has great drama and action throughout the story but is some what confusing at times when the book suddenly changes from one part of the story to another. This is a great overall book that would have gotten 5 stars but had some minor flaws as I have already stated switchs from one part of the story to another but this is still a great book and I recomende for people 12+ to read this amazing book. I think it could have inproved if it only switched parts at the start of a new chapter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A wonderful way to look at history and freindship

    What a fun story to read. I love Peter and Kate for 12 year olds they are pretty wise and dealt with their dilema in a very positive way. I loved how Kate came up with ways to try to let people in the future know what had happened to her and Peter. It was a good way to review how life in the late 1700's must have been and to compare the ease of our day with life back then was a good way to appreciate our time. It brought to life the culture of that time period in England, and I felt like it was accurate. The story was fun and the situations it presented were exciting. I got a little bogged down in spots and it wasn't a book that you couldn't put down, but it definately was worth the time to read. I would recommend it to any reader, but I think Kids age 10 to 16 would really like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2008

    TOUR LONDON WITH THE TAR MAN

    The adventure continues for Peter and Kate, in the 'Time Thief '. We hang on to our new pages with anticipation, and we wonder what will they do next? Peter is back in 1763, and Kate must take drastic steps to rescue her friend and comrade from changing the past and missing his own future. How can this anti-gravity machine take them back and forth in time? Wait! What will they do if it's been tampered with, how will they get home! The Tar man, who we are sure, is the villain, roams free in the present-day London, taking advantage of his old talents, and some new ones as well. This book takes us touring London's great streets with the Tar Man and reading his antidotes of life's great comparisons, then and now. Will we find out what this Tar man wants, and where is Gideon, is he really related to the Tar man? If you did not read the first book in this series, you will be ok, because this new book is even better than the Gideon the Cutpurse or 'The Time Travelers' as it is now. But, you will want to go back in time and read the first book, once you have read this new edition. Linda, Buckley Archer has a writing style that will fill your head with beautiful dreams of London, past and present. Don't miss this series it¿s definitely a winner! I would recommend it for all, especially for the youth that has read everything. Have fun and enjoy this Historical read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3