Customer Reviews for

The Time Travelers (Gideon Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I work in the kids and teens section of a bookstore, and this is one that I would reccomend to any boy or girl. It's very sci-fi, with time machines and time travel instead of fantasy, which the market is saturated with right now. It's historicaly accurate to London 176...
I work in the kids and teens section of a bookstore, and this is one that I would reccomend to any boy or girl. It's very sci-fi, with time machines and time travel instead of fantasy, which the market is saturated with right now. It's historicaly accurate to London 1763,, with great detail. I can't wait until the trilogy is finished!

posted by Anonymous on May 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not worth reading.

The book started off fine. However, the more I read the less I liked the stories or the characters. The main boy and girl did not have personality or the necessary bond with each other. The plot was slow moving and pointless. Half the book was spent on the carriage jour...
The book started off fine. However, the more I read the less I liked the stories or the characters. The main boy and girl did not have personality or the necessary bond with each other. The plot was slow moving and pointless. Half the book was spent on the carriage journey to London. BORING!!! I would not recommend this to anyone and I will not buy the sequel.

posted by LadyHester on October 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not worth reading.

    The book started off fine. However, the more I read the less I liked the stories or the characters. The main boy and girl did not have personality or the necessary bond with each other. The plot was slow moving and pointless. Half the book was spent on the carriage journey to London. BORING!!! I would not recommend this to anyone and I will not buy the sequel.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    I love this book!!!

    A friend told me about his book, and I started reading it. This book really took my attention and I couldn't stop reading it or even put the book down. This book is a really good book for any age to read. And the Time theift is even more better, I just can't wait till the third book comes out in august "the time quake".... This is a really good book to read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2008

    A reviewer

    I work in the kids and teens section of a bookstore, and this is one that I would reccomend to any boy or girl. It's very sci-fi, with time machines and time travel instead of fantasy, which the market is saturated with right now. It's historicaly accurate to London 1763,, with great detail. I can't wait until the trilogy is finished!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    Great book

    It was an amazing book, couldn't put it down. Read it in 5 hours. The end was were i started to cry beacuse Kate and Peter did the blood promise and thats serious. I would defenity recomed this book to anyone, especially Harry Potter fans

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    Awesome

    I like the psrt where it talks about gidion and about how he defeated the midianites.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    Great Book!

    This book is very well written and I really enjoyed reading it! I call a book a good book if it made me sad, mad, cry, or laugh and this book was capable of all. I highly reccomend this book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2009

    Takkarster's review and point of view

    This book deserves a five star rating. It was so good I finished it in a couple of days. The book is about a boy named Peter is taken to a farm by his au pair. He meets this girl named Kate while they are at her father's office. By a freak accident they were sent back in time. To the year 1763 where they meet Gideon Seymour.
    The Tar Man steals their machine which is their only way back home. They have to race to get back home.So if you had to read this I'd definitely recommend. I'd strongly recommend it because you can't get any better than this. unless of course you read 'Nancy Drew' or 'Sammy Keyes'. So if you read anything read this jaw busting fiction. It has so many twists and turns it's impossible to guess what happens next.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Makes Me Want More

    I really enjoyed this book, but it felt like I was just trying to get to the end. And, since this is the first in a 3-book series, I knew that there wouldn't be a resolution until the end of the third book. I would say you really need to commit yourself to this book and it's sequels if you're going to read it. The first is rather thick by itself and the second is even larger. I'm not sure how large the 3rd will be. However, I suspect that it will be a rather rewarding end for this commitment if you choose to take it on. I have and am looking forward to the next two.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2009

    Not one of my favorites...

    First let me say that I am not very fascinated by time travel stories, but I took a chance on this one because there was not much new in the children's literature section of B & N when I visited that day. Overall, the characters are likable and the storyline is pretty kid friendly. But I found it difficult to stay with the book. So far, none of my kids have shown an interest in reading it. If they do and have a different take, I will add to my review. Till then, I am not inclined to pick up the second book in the series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book

    It is a really great and intriguing book. I recommend it for kids in 4th grade and up. I enjoyed reading it and couldn't wait until the next book in the series came out :)!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2008

    Very enjoyable

    I have read this book twice through and I always wanted more! Love this book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2007

    outstanding!!!

    This book kept me so attached to it that I couldn't put it down. It's got that old with the new, past with the present thing goin' on.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    This is a really good book

    i loved this book. I didnt read it on my nook but it is totaly worth however much it fosts on hear. Read it. If you dont i will haunt your dreame
    S forever. Plus the kate girl i imagined is really sexy an got me thiking about fu.ck with a boy. Thanks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    Not very good

    Its horrible dont buy it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    Horrible

    This book sucks

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Fantastic read.

    It was one of the best books i have read. Greatly paced, well developed plot, lovable( and hateable) characters, it really pulls you in! I recomend it to everyone ages 9+ Aubrie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Best book

    This book is enchancing


    - Yonatan Cohen,age 8,4/11/13

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    Yeah dont say anything mean

    I havent read the whole book but it is good so far and it says for kids who love harry potter and im one of those kids.I give it 2 stars because i didnt read it all

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    To: Comment to LadyHester

    You hate Harry Potter? Gasp! Why do you say such awful atrocities? Harry Potter is an amazing peice of fiction that I find awesome. I've read them like a billion times. I LOVE HARRY POTTER! The entire Harry Potter series is very original and refreshing. It draws you in and is very addicting. J. K. Rowling is a fantastic writer. Btw this book looks good. You should read this before the others. I made the mistake of reading the second book of this series and I understood hardly anything. I love time travel themed books. It looks very interesting. I'm gonna get it at my library. I love seeing books like this. If I see one more vampire romance novel or end-of-the-world-apocalypse-hunger games-themed/romance triangle with a girl who just cant make up her mind and so drives everyone crazy kind of book i shall scream. :)

    -Katherine (I'm an eight grade book worm who loves to write an only dreams of being a writer this good, in case you were wondering).

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    TIME THEIF AND THE TIME QUAKE

    Thats the second and third one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3