Customer Reviews for

The Time Traveler's Wife

Average Rating 4.5
( 1685 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1032)

4 Star

(375)

3 Star

(137)

2 Star

(86)

1 Star

(55)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

51 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic story, looking forward to the movie!

The Time Traveler's Wife is a heart-wrenching account of a time traveler named Henry, who spontaneously "travels." He cannot control when the time travel happens and it leads to a very unpredictable life. Henry meets Clare and thus begins a love story of two people who ...
The Time Traveler's Wife is a heart-wrenching account of a time traveler named Henry, who spontaneously "travels." He cannot control when the time travel happens and it leads to a very unpredictable life. Henry meets Clare and thus begins a love story of two people who can never be completely together.
The Time Traveler's Wife will stay with you well after you've read the ending. I read the ending over and over again wanting to relive the last moment these two lovers were together. Melancholy follows the two lovers and propels you to keep reading. There is deep symolism in the novel, though the circumstances around the two main characters is outlandish, the feelings behind it are real. How can you truly be 100% with someone who can never be there for you? It's a question a lot of relationships face and Niffenegger answers it beautifully.
The movie is coming out this November and is starring Rachel McAdams and Eric Bana. I hope that the movie lives up to the book, though it will be hard. Interesting read, I recommend it with 5 stars.

posted by 148253 on October 29, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

18 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

One of the worst books ever!

This may be THE worst book I have ever read. Yes, it's that bad. I had high expectations for this book, given the reviews. The most important thing to note is that this is NOT a love story. It a story of a twisted, obsessive, controlling relationship. Henry...
This may be THE worst book I have ever read. Yes, it's that bad. I had high expectations for this book, given the reviews. The most important thing to note is that this is NOT a love story. It a story of a twisted, obsessive, controlling relationship. Henry travels back in time after he meets his wife and develops a relationship with her as a child. How sick is it for a grown man to appear buck naked in front of a young girl, then tell her its ok because he marries her in the future? It gets worse. This book has unnecessarily graphic sex and gory scenes that add nothing to the story. The language is vulgar. I really can't believe a woman wrote this garbage. One of the worse scenes is when Henry travels back in time to have sex with himself! Who could even imagine that, let alone actually write it down? Ugh. Then there's the story, if you can even call it that. The book jumps around in time and there is no plot thread at all. The kindest thing I can say about it is that it is confusing. It jumps around between Henry and Clare narrating, yet they both have the same voice because its written so poorly. At first I kept looking back at the start of the chapter to see who was talking, then after I while I didn't even bother. The characters were totally unlikable and I didn't even care enough to try to figure it out. The saddest thing is that I actually read the entire book. I kept thinking that it had to get better, or that everything would get tied together at the end. But it didn't. Reading this book was a total waste of time. Don't make the same mistake I did.

posted by Anonymous on October 5, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1685 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 85
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic story, looking forward to the movie!

    The Time Traveler's Wife is a heart-wrenching account of a time traveler named Henry, who spontaneously "travels." He cannot control when the time travel happens and it leads to a very unpredictable life. Henry meets Clare and thus begins a love story of two people who can never be completely together. <BR/>The Time Traveler's Wife will stay with you well after you've read the ending. I read the ending over and over again wanting to relive the last moment these two lovers were together. Melancholy follows the two lovers and propels you to keep reading. There is deep symolism in the novel, though the circumstances around the two main characters is outlandish, the feelings behind it are real. How can you truly be 100% with someone who can never be there for you? It's a question a lot of relationships face and Niffenegger answers it beautifully. <BR/>The movie is coming out this November and is starring Rachel McAdams and Eric Bana. I hope that the movie lives up to the book, though it will be hard. Interesting read, I recommend it with 5 stars.

    51 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    GRIPPING! What a puzzle to keep straight!

    A lot to try to keep straight, but well thought out, amazing and entertaining story. This is original, unforgettable, complex, touching, thought-provoking and just plain AMAZING! The love and loss, until later, I will always love you theme carries through the time traveling storyline beautifully and satisfyingly. What a puzzle to try to keep straight in your head! Great insight and perserverence! Fantastic, to say the least, and unconventional, for sure, but truly one to keep you turning the pages!Well worth the read! Some others I LOVED below...

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2003

    Disappointed

    I was awaiting a thoroughly delicious read, but was disappointed with the confusing timelines, the unnecessary graphic sexual narratives, and the lack of cohesion thoughout. I do not recommend this book.

    11 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    a book that changes your life

    this is undoubtably the best book i have ever read. the only thing i didnt like was the reoccurring use of a few derogatory sexual words, but even that couldnt change my view of this story. it was exciting, moving, romantic and heartbreaking. i will never forget The Time Traveler's Wife.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    It was just ok

    The book wasn't what I thought it was going to be. I was thinking more along the lines of The Notebook. I really did not enjoy it as much as the hype said it was going to be the best romance novel of the year. I really had hoped that it would've lived up to it. Unfortunately, it didn't. Oh well.

    5 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting read with hedging ending.

    Magical and tragic. Painful and frustrating. You have to really open yourself up to fiction to really enjoy the whole concept of a character who has a genetic disorder that allows time travel. There were a few times that I felt the plot was dragged out too far, yet there are characters that could have been given more depth (Kimmie, the marriage of Gomez and Charisse). Overall, I really enjoyed this story, however, it left me feeling bereft with sadness and frustration. We learned the fate of Henry, I don't understand why the author could not leave us with what happened to Clare. We know she lived at least until the age of 82, but what happened inbetween? Did she remarry? Did the several pairs of golashes allude to grandchildren, a husband??? What happened to Gomez and Charisse (Charisse feared that Gomez would leave her for Clare when Henry was gone)? Did Clare live the rest of her life in the present like Henry asked her to? After investing so much time into this book, the ending was unfair to the reader. Good writing, new concept and idea as far as time travel goes.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    Can't get it out of my head.

    This book was definitely confusing during the first 30 pages or so and I did have to reread wondering of I was getting it right but after a while you start to catch on to the writing technique. It is a love story that is demented but you do start to believe in the characters and understand their thoughts. The last quarter of the book I found it very hard to put the book down and knew that it was not going to be a happy ending. The author tried to make it a happy ending but it wasn't a good enough happy ending. I am sure the movie is going to romanticize the book way more than it is and if the ending is the same, I don't want to see it. Just too sad for me.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2010

    Amazing!

    I found this book discarded on a subway; because I had over an hour until my stop, and because I needed something to distract me from the homeless man who was shouting expletives at me from across the aisle, I flipped open the cover. 3 days later (yes, I had gotten off the train) I finished.

    I consider myself a tough critic most of the time. But this book was amazing. I loved the characters, I loved the plot, I loved the ending. It was real, messy, and brilliant! None of this cookie cutter stuff you read where you expect every plot twist, and where everything works out wonderfully in the end for everyone. No, this is some good storytelling!

    I would never have bought this book, not in a million years. But I want to thank the person who left it on the subway. I'm going to start doing that with the books I really like.

    Clearly the book isn't for everyone. It has swearing, sex, and violence, and aside from the latter, I am usually very critical of books with these inclusions. But for this book, the swearing the sex and most certainly the violence, was all necessary.

    Read it if you want, or don't. But when you finish it, leave it on the train or bus or ferry or airplane. Guys like me need to read stuff like this and we won't unless we stumble upon it when we are seeking distraction from the mentally ill.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    SO VERY DISSAPPOINTED IN THIS BOOK!!!

    After hearing so many good things about this book, I dusted off my copy and decided to finally give it a read. UGH.. what a waste of my time.
    I never connected or cared about any of the characters or understood what the heck they were doing. I actually was half way through the authors notes in the back of the book when I realized that the story had ended. It was that dull I had no idea it had ended. At one point I was just hoping for him to get stuck in that stupid stair way and end it there.

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Wasn't impressed.

    I was not impressed with this book. I'm actually really disappointed. I'm not going to lie- I loved it, at first- but then we started to get to know the main characters a bit more, and they were awful people!! Henry isn't too bad. I get it, he had no idea about Clare and what not, but what he did to Ingrid was such a jackass thing to do! And Clare.. oh Clare!! She was a whore!! If you notice, she slept with her "best friends" husband, every single time she felt lonely. With those kinds of "friends" who needs enemies?? Sheeesh!! I thought the main characters were supposed to be likeable. I didn't even feel sorry for them in the end. They both deserved what they got.

    3 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2009

    Not a good book...

    I agree with another reader of this book who gave it a negative review as well. I also had high expectations of the book after reading some of the reviews. I don't consider it a love story. The main characters have a a lot of sex, but that is not a moving love story. I got tired of reading the same thing over and over again. They were together, had sex, then he disappears! Not much of a plot there. I didn't appreciate the vulgar language as well. I read part one and skimmed through part two as I didn't want to waste any more of my life with this book.

    3 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Rooting till the end

    This was an absolutely beautiful book. It was a bit confusing in the beginning, switching from present to past/future but you get the hang of it after a while. If you're married, it'll make you cherish your marriage even more. Definitely was rooting for the characters throughout the whole book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2009

    Great! (minus the last two pages)

    I really fell in love with these characters and was touched by their love for each other. The plot and character development was excellent, but sometimes the story line was predictable. The last two pages just put a damper on the story. I didn't feel satisfied by the ending. There was also something that happened to Henry that was just so uncalled for. It offered nothing to the story and just made him unnecessarily miserable.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved this book!

    This was one of those books I've picked up and put down several times. I finally decided to read it after I saw the movie preview and am now sorry I didn't read it sooner. Yes, it was kind of hard to follow at first (the date/times) but once you get into it you figure it out. The writing itself isn't too terribly descriptive or engaging, but I still had a hard time putting it down until I was finished. It's simply a sweet, amazing love story.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book. Exciting and Original.

    In this book i found something that i havent found in a book for a while. It made me laugh, cry, and say awwww how cute. The only thing that disapointed me was its ending cause it left me wanting for more but the rest was so original that i have to say this book is unique.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2009

    My alltime favorite book!

    I love this book because of the extreme romance between the two characters. It seems unimaginable but at the same time realistic enough that you can relate to it. I think telling the story from both points of view is a great way to be in the middle of the relationship and to be able to understand it from all angles. I have read this book multiple times and will continue to read it over and over again.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Incredibly well written

    This book is unlike any other book I have read. Audrey Niffeneggers imagination and attention to details surpasses any book I have read. I read this with my book club and highly recommend it for book club readers.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2003

    Time Traveler's Wife

    I've read nine Pulitzer Prize winners in the last two years and the Time Traveler's Wife is better than all of them! I cried three times at the end. It's AWESOME!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2010

    Book Better Than Movie

    I read this book, and really liked the story line. I liked the characters, and although it dragged a bit here and there, it was enjoyable. I couldn't put it down. I was so curious to see how it would end. Very pleased. BUT when I watched the movie after I was done with the book, I was soooo disappointed at how the movie took out some characters, Henry's girlfriend, Henry's parents landlord. Also they took out some details, also the ENDING! Ughhh! I was waiting for Henry to see Clare as a beautiful elderly woman like the book describes, then the movies complelty dissapoints me! They cut that part out...so I guess this is why people say, "The book is always Better!" soooooo true in this case.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2010

    Good read

    This book surprised me. I thought it would be about the wife more than the time travelor, but it was an equal mix of both and their touching story of the love that grew from his point of view and from her point of view. A friend told me to not pay attention to the time stamps, however, this is a must for me to understand the time frame and putting the characters into perspective. The ending was very touching and deeply moving. A good book to escape and definitely going to be reread many times.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1685 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 85