Customer Reviews for

Time Untime (Dark-Hunter Series #16)

Average Rating 4
( 190 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(98)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(20)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Great book I couldn't put down. Would recommend

Great book I couldn't put down. Would recommend

posted by BookaholicTracy on August 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

33 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Not really a Dark Hunter novel

I really want to enjoy Sherrilyn Kenyon's latest Dark Hunter installment because I have been following her series for so long. She did warn us that she has been facinated with Native American mythology lately...but I didn't realize her writing style and phrasing would ...
I really want to enjoy Sherrilyn Kenyon's latest Dark Hunter installment because I have been following her series for so long. She did warn us that she has been facinated with Native American mythology lately...but I didn't realize her writing style and phrasing would change so dramatically as a result. This book reads like a school assignment that I will be tested on, "Those dolls had been burned to ashes on that day and then their remains scattered in the garden to feed the new crop of corn-the cycle of birth, renewal, death, and rebirth". I miss the fun dialogue and relationship building. I miss Acheron and Simi.

posted by RabidReaderMS on August 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 190 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Not really a Dark Hunter novel

    I really want to enjoy Sherrilyn Kenyon's latest Dark Hunter installment because I have been following her series for so long. She did warn us that she has been facinated with Native American mythology lately...but I didn't realize her writing style and phrasing would change so dramatically as a result. This book reads like a school assignment that I will be tested on, "Those dolls had been burned to ashes on that day and then their remains scattered in the garden to feed the new crop of corn-the cycle of birth, renewal, death, and rebirth". I miss the fun dialogue and relationship building. I miss Acheron and Simi.

    33 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Where to begin...?

    LOVE! LOVE! LOVE! Sherrilyn kenyon and the DH series to the point that my house shuts down for the 24 to 48 hours it takes for me finish one of her books when they come out. Much to the dismay of my family,( thank goodness for pizza and chicken nuggets). That being said, Time Untime took me four days. It also took some paper a pen and my laptop.
    There is ALOT of information in this book. An entire mythos cramed into 250 pages along with a half hearted attempt at romance and just a pinch of the Greek/Atlantian flavoring that connects the DH series. And this information is not spoon fed or even particulary well seasoned as it has been in the past with Mrs. Kenyon's novels, it is funneled and I feel like I never really got a good taste.
    I really wanted to love Ren and envy Kateri her luck and joy of him, but I was far to busy trying to figure out where they were,why they were there, and who or what exactly was threatening them (this is where paper, pen and goggle became helpful).
    Ash does make an apperance along with some old friends but, again, it is only more of an information dump, though there was the usual (and only) humor involved with their visits.
    At the end of the day (4 days) I left feeling disappointed and with a headache.
    Could the book have been longer, as my hubby suggested when I got particulary whiney about the whole thing? Maybe, that might have helped the flow of the story seem less forced, made the doomsday scenario a little less abrupt, and let me get to know the characters a little better.
    But I think the only thing that could have helped me with this storyline would have been if it had been treated as it seems to have been written a seperate series with its own location, mythos, characters both good and bad, and spread over several books that would keep me coming back for more and I would have.
    I miss New Orleans, I miss the weres and the back story I spent ten years getting to know but I understand the need for change to keep things flowing and fresh I just wish Mrs. Kenyon would slow it down, and let me ejoy it a little more. I appreciate the looming doomsday deadline that may or may not exist in reality, but then the beautiy of fiction, and writing in general is that the only deadline your answerable to is your publishers.

    22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2012

    Least favorite in the series.

    I really wanted to love this but I didnt really like it at all. The story felt rushed and thrown together. Even with all the loose ends I hope she gets back to the New Orleans crew soon. I love the series but the last couple of books have really let me down.

    20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    This writer frustrates me. Her writing is like an out of focus p

    This writer frustrates me. Her writing is like an out of focus photograph. You can struggle to see the details, but why bother? Kenyon has creativity but lacks the basic writing tools to bring her concepts to life. Sad.

    9 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2012

    hated it

    boring boring boring
    no attention to detail
    very short book for the money 250 pages
    disjointed and confusing as hell in some parts
    never emotionally attached to the characters as in the earlier books
    her writing seems rushed and the endings less then stellar in her last two books in this series

    maybe time to move on to other things

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2012

    I was just so disappointed with this book it's ridiculous. I am

    I was just so disappointed with this book it's ridiculous. I am a huge
    fan of this series, but this is by far the worse I've ever read from
    her. I couldn't wait to finish it, just so I could be done with it. I
    always look forward to anything new she puts out, but this was a big let
    down. I really want my $12.99 back.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book I couldn't put down. Would recommend

    Great book I couldn't put down. Would recommend

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Sad

    It just wasn't what I was hoping for. Wish I could return it.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    confused

    to me,it was like someone else wrote it, not sherrilyn kenyon.
    and i have read all her books.
    eqbrooklyn

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Another fabulous read from the Dark Hunter series and the feel o

    Another fabulous read from the Dark Hunter series and the feel of the
    story reminds me of Kenyon’s earlier DH books. Yes, the tortured hero
    and heroine strong enough to heal him, the Dark Hunters camaraderie,
    sarcastic humor, the funny banter, action, battle between good and evil,
    and a sigh inducing romance. But this book differs from the rest as the
    Atlantean and Greek mythology background is now combined with the Mayan
    mythology. It is full of background information and can be a bit
    overwhelming but it did not hinder what I felt for the book. I loved
    every bit of it. Renegade Waya (Makah’alay Omawaya in his previous
    life) or Ren was the Guardian but lost his position to his conniving
    brother, Cayote. Mentally and physically abused by his father and
    brother, he became a loner and detached. Even as a Dark Hunter, he just
    never trusted anyone. Whereas Kateri is just out in the open, honest and
    more than willing to put herself out there. And when she got to know Ren
    her loving side was able to soften him up to trust again. I may have
    made her sound like a girly girl but let me assure you, she can hold her
    own in battle. Ren and Kateri are perfect of each other. They’re journey
    to their HEA was a rough journey but damn they totally pull it off. The
    intimate scenes were not as hot but I felt thier romance grow to love
    within a timely manner. In fact, their love story made me cry. Kenyon
    was good to put these two together. She also does a wonderful job with
    recap and while doing so, we get the chance see other Dark Hunters. Such
    as Talon, Sunshine, Sasha, Urian, Alexion and I'm sure I'm not alone
    when I say my heart skips a beat when Ash and Nick's name is mention on
    the page. Nick really had softened up a bit in this book and Ash has a
    new look I’m not sure I like. But as he and Tory said “it will grow
    back”. I’ve really missed him. I’m sure we’ll get a good amount of him
    in the next book, “Stixx” released August 6, 2013. And my prediction is
    that it will be as impressive as Acheron's book. I mean, almost as
    impressive. =) *ARC provided by publisher

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    Eh. I'm beginning to not like Sherrilyn Kenyon's writing style.

    Eh.
    I'm beginning to not like Sherrilyn Kenyon's writing style. I started to feel that way reading the Nick Chronicles. This might sound weird, but it's almost like there's too much dialogue. Her characters just stand around and do nothing for page after page, going on and on in their monologues, about all of these life lessons and diatribes and... ugh. It's too much. Too preachy, too much trying to be inspirational all the time. I don't know. I'm just not feelin' it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Sucks

    I have every book she has written, this one all I can say is what happen and who wrote this one it sucks.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    Sweet-P

    Meh. Dosen't even seem like its part of the DH series. Too bad, I use to really look forward to her reads.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Very confusing if your not familiar with the series

    I liked this book a lot,more then I thought I would since she is branching into a new group of gods. I like the atlantian tales much more however. It was worth the purchase.

    But let me warn you there is a lot of background information both to the charcters and plot put forward in this book and if you haven't read the series much of it will be confusing or missed. Actually I had to go back and reread "retribution" to refresh.

    Worth a read, just read the rest of the series first so you know what's going on. And the rest of the series is great and you won't regret it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Was disappointed

    The characters were less interesting and was almost a repeat of the guardian. Miss the humour.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    BORING

    I think the auther has run out of good story lines. Dont waste your money

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The first Kenyon book I didn't like...

    You know you just aren't into a book when you start looking for other things to do, like chores, paying bills, yard work... I love the Dark Hunter series, but the last two books have not been my cup of tea. I can't wait until Kenyon returns to the characters and places I fell for in the beginning. In this book I felt like I was invited to a party where I didn't know anyone and couldn't follow the conversation, except for when we were in Ash's head. I really wanted to like this book, but just couldn't get into it. I hated all the flash backs, they just made me lost and it was difficult to follow the conversation once it picked back up. This was the first one of Kenyon's books that I seriously considered not finishing. Sigh... It won't stop me from reading the next one thou, she is bound to get back to the characters I care about...right, surely she must.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Excellent blend of dark hunter series and other folk lore

    I love how this book combines the complicated history of one of the dark hunters in with other lore. This and the previous book have been a nice combination of the dark hunter series and a secondary storyline taking a break from the building dark hunter series which is getting pretty intense. I enjoy learning about each dark hunter's past lives with each story and some are more complicated than others. Acheron, Sin and Zarek just to name a few who had a pretty complicated life before becoming a dark hunter. There has been some criticism about this book, but it is no different than the others in that it tells the story of a dark hunter. This one happened to have a huge complicated native american mayan past. The story is his and is told in the same special way Ms Kenyon has told all their stories. If you just want daimons then this one isn't for you. If you want a good story about one of the dark hunters and plwnty of great supporting dark hunters along the way then you will enjoy this one.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2012

    Another Great Dark Hunter Novel

    Time Untime is another excellent Dark Hunter Novel. It about Kateri Avani, a Geologist at the University of Alabama. She doesn’t know it yet but her destiny is to prevent the coming of Armageddon. Ren Waya, a Dark Hunter, is the only person who can help Kateri stop the events that will bring about end of the world. Both have lost people that they have loved and they have to learn to trust their instincts and each other. The journey is long and difficult as they both learn to love again.

    I enjoyed this new installment in the Dark Hunter series. There were a lot of history to understand in order to follow the story, but it was well worth the time. We get to visit with old friends, such as Ash and another whose name I won’t spoil for you’re here. I highly recommend this book and all the other Dark Hunter books.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    INTERESTING!

    This is another great installment to this series. While it will not go down as a favorite of mine in this series, it was still a great read. I will admit that it was a lot of new information to take in, but it was still a great Kenyon love story full of hot steamy romance and tear-jerking love.

    She has introduced a new spin on the series with this one and it will be interesting to see where she goes with it. I do miss the old gang, but I understand that to keep the series going we need to see new characters introduced.

    I will also add (without a plot spoiler) that we learn a little more about the Ash/Nick thing and what is going on with that.

    I absolutely cannot wait for Styxx to come out.

    Thanx for another great read (and another sleepless night) Ms. Kenyon. Love this series! Please keep them coming!!!!!

    -- SPeeD

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 190 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10