Customer Reviews for

Time and Again

Average Rating 4
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted August 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Classic favorite!

    I think I first read this book in 1971, and have read it several times since.
    The author actually makes me feel like I am really transported to the 1800's. Jack Finney captures the time period perfectly - at least, exactly how I imagine it would be.
    The main charactor, Si, is marvelous! And the mystery keeps you on the edge of your seat. There is a lot of detail in it (too much for younger readers), but I find it fascinating!
    A great writer, and a great book!!

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    VERY INTERESTING

    I won't add to the laudatory comments about this book but would like to raise an intriguing question in connection with the Steve Reeves/Jane Seymour movie, "Somewhere in Time." In 1970 Jack Finney copyrighted what he called "An Illustrated Novel" named "Time and Again," which I have. It is a romantic, soulful read predicated on time travel back to an earlier New York City. I have always been struck by the similarity between the time travel "method" used by Finney in his book, and the sort of self-hypnosis method used in the Somewhere in Time movie. They are uncannily similar! Yet I find no credit for Jack Finney in connection with the Somewhere in Time movie on either the comments posted on Amazon.com or anywhere on the Internet Movie Database.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    One of the best!

    I first picked up this book sometime in the 70's. I treasured my hardcover copy but made the mistake of lending it to someone who never returned it, but I quickly located a replacement. I almost never re-read a book, but I've read this one three times and I'm looking forward to a fourth. The story and concept resonated with me and I rank it at the top of the thousands of books that I've read. If you're into a good mystery with a little science fiction time travel thrown in, then you'll enjoy this book as much as I did.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I sure did get into this book, Love Time Travel!!!

    I absolutely loved it, it's been a few years since I read this book, but it is an absolutely riveting novel.
    If you love time travel like I do, you'll love Time and Again, and From Time to Time by Jack Finney.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2002

    Mesmerizing

    This book has it all -- mystery, romance, history and science fiction, beautifully woven together in a spellbinding tale. I have recommended it to countless other readers, all of whom have loved it, too. Definitely one of my favorite books of all times.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2014

    Time and Again, written by Jack Finney, was published in 1970. I

    Time and Again, written by Jack Finney, was published in 1970. It is an excellent book and one of the best you will ever find in a bookstore. What was most interesting about the novel was the fact that the main character, Si, has to chose between two worlds. He travels from the twentieth century into the year 1882. He leaves his significant other to go on this government sponsored time travel project. When he arrives in 1882, he meets a woman. He must then choose whether to stay with the woman he has met in the past, or go back to living his normal life. This story was not only intriguing because of the story line, but also because of the author's great description of the past. He did a great job of making the reader feel like they are actually in the late 1800's. Time and Again by Jack Finney is not only a classic novel, but also an excellent read for all ages. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    For those of us who love time travel books....

    I read this book many, many years ago but have never forgotten it. I recently finished Stephen King's, 11/22/63 which is about preventing the Kennedy assassination by traveling back in time. At the end of the novel, Stephen King thanks Jack Finney and this wonderful book and if it wasn't for the birth of a granddaughter, he would have been the one the book was dedicated to! I will be reading this again before the end of the week (and I highly recommend 11/22/63 as well!).

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2008

    Wonderful walk back in time

    I began this book hesitant about it's 'science fiction' type of story line, but I quickly got right into and couldn't wait to turn page after page. Being familiar with New York City also made it more interesting to me.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2014

    stands the test of time quite well

    "Time and Again" was first published in the 1970's. It's a time-travel adventure with a generous serving of romance and suspense/mystery, set in New York in the 1970's and 1880's. When the hero arrived in 1880's New York, the descriptions made me feel I was right there with him. The author balanced description with character development, plot with theme development -- all the right balances to create a truly enjoyable book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Time and Again is a fascinatingly unique book written by bestsel

    Time and Again is a fascinatingly unique book written by bestselling author, Jack Finney (1911 to 1995). Originally released in 1970, it is a time travel / romance complete with photographs and drawings. It tells the story of a man by the name of Simon Morley who is recruited for a top secret experiment - to travel back in time to New York City in the year 1882. But this is no regular time travel tale. Rather, what you will read is an amazingly detailed recreation of life as it was in the New York of 1882. From fashion to landscape, from societal norms to politics, never before have I read a book with such intensely vibrant details. Into the storyline, numerous photographs and drawings are provided and described through the eyes of Simon. I thoroughly enjoyed looking at the antique photographs of the characters. 




    The plot is interesting and well planned, and although the intense descriptions slow the pace of the novel, the rich writing and descriptions truly make this story play like a movie in your mind, making the characters real, larger than life. This story is alive and with lovely flowing simple prose, it is a story that truly does pull you back into 1882. The time travel storyline is entirely credible and realistically believable. It is easy to see why this book has become a beloved classic.




    If a visit to New York city has always been your dream, read this book to get to know the city. If you have visited New York city before, read this book to bring back memories of your trip. And if you live in New York, read this book to experience the historical growth and vibrancy of this city in a gentler era.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2014

    Highly recommend this book

    Jack Finney has taken this book on a time travel journey and brought us on the same journey. I truly felt like I was there. His descriptive powers are unbound. Simon Morley is recruited into a government project on time travel. The project spans to the late 19th century. Si travels to 1882 he observes only and returns. On a following trip he begins to interact with the people of that time while there he meets Julia. They become hunted criminals of this generation and he returns to the present bringing Julia. I will not say any more in my review cause the reader must enjoy this journey themselves. I loved this book the author captured my imagination and I believe that is what we all seek when we read.JM

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2008

    A Beautiful, Relaxing Read!

    I was pleasantly surprised to see Lamar's 2007 review. I too, since first reading this book (1990), have read it each year since. Although ficton, it is a historical novel which is especially interesting if you already know something about NY City. I read it each summertime as the book's tempo and mood are soothing. I am a cerified Engish teacher and, if it was my choice, I would include this incredibly aluring story into the curriculum for high school students. Character development and personal interaction, played out in a hard to believe but historically proven setting, create interest that comes from the core of being human.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2007

    A Time Travel Phenomenon

    This is my all time favorite time travel book. I first read it in 1987 and have read it every year since. What a great story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2005

    Long wait for a GREAT story

    There are alot of extra chapters describing the setting and setting up the story. It shows that the topic's been well researched, but it took a while for the story to pick up the pace. Aside from the time it took to speed up, the whole idea was REALLY interesting. The way time travel was presented made me believe that it was possible. And the ending was so good it made up for the slower parts of the story. Overall, just a really great story about a facinating NYC.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2014

    A trip to Manhattan--in the 1800s

    I first read this book more than thirty years ago. As Audrey Niffenegger (author of the wonderful "Time Traveler's Wife" and an admirer of "Time and Again") points out in her introductory remarks to this edition, the "present" when "Time and Again" was written is our past now, and that part of the book--just like the bulk of the book, set in the nineteenth century--is a kind of time capsule. So, not surprisingly, the 1970s part of the book seems a bit dated to me now. But nineteenth-century New York is still vivid and fascinating. Mark Twain wrote that "travel is fatal to prejudice." That seems to me to be as true of the time travel "Time and Again" allows us to indulge in as geographical travel. Take a walk in Manhattan with Jack Finney's characters--but be careful of the traffic, because there are no signals yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2014

    200 pages too long

    Loved it up until then.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2014

    Very good,but the Christopher Reeve movie was not from this book

    Very good,but the Christopher Reeve movie was not from this book,but "Somewhere in Time by the prolific writer,Richard Matheson...who also wrote "I Am Legend","Duel", "The Incredible Shrinking Man"."A Stir of Echoes"and "Hell House" which were all made into movies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2014

    Great disappointing time travel classic

    Couldnt do worse if they tried which they had even pictures a bore and this did not seem like any movie i saw

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2014

    VERY SLOW

    I thought the premise of this book would be great. However, it just doesn't work for me. I have been trying to read it for a week or more and just get bogged down. I am not going to finish it. Just toooooo draggy!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2014

    To the person asking about a possible connection to the film &qu

    To the person asking about a possible connection to the film "Somewhere In Time"...

    While there may not be any particular credit given to "Time and Again", I have noticed what seems to be a nod of respect to author Jack Finney in the film. Christopher Reeve's character consults his old college professor who wrote a book on time travel - the professor's name was Finney.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4