Customer Reviews for

Time and Chance (Eleanor of Aquitaine Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Time and Chance

I have not quite finished reading Time and Chance - mainly because I don't want it to end. This time period in English history is fascinating and I think Sharon Kay Penman makes her characters and plot so interesting that you don't even realize you are receiving a hist...
I have not quite finished reading Time and Chance - mainly because I don't want it to end. This time period in English history is fascinating and I think Sharon Kay Penman makes her characters and plot so interesting that you don't even realize you are receiving a history lesson! I am hooked! I have read many of her other books - Time and Chance is definitely a 10 whereas some of the others I may have even rated as low as a 6. Henry and Eleanor both make for great storytelling--and it is fun to believe that the author has really pegged their personalities. Also I think she does a great job keeping her characters consistent considering how many there are and all the conversation going on. I would think it would be hard to keep the great variety of personalities in order when it came to inventing conversation or personal reactions to plot situations -- but Sharon Kay Penman seamlessly slips back and forth between characters without losing any credibility. I think that is a measure of great writing ability.

posted by Suebo on December 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Such a disappointment

After waiting so long for the sequel to "When Christ and His Saints Slept", this book was snapped up in minute...and found to be, well...very boring. The characters had no life. Unlike the other books by Ms. Penman, this latest effort was a waste. I doubt now I'll read ...
After waiting so long for the sequel to "When Christ and His Saints Slept", this book was snapped up in minute...and found to be, well...very boring. The characters had no life. Unlike the other books by Ms. Penman, this latest effort was a waste. I doubt now I'll read the third book of this trilogy...or will wait to pick up a copy at the library.

posted by Anonymous on December 15, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 22, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Time and Chance

    I have not quite finished reading Time and Chance - mainly because I don't want it to end. This time period in English history is fascinating and I think Sharon Kay Penman makes her characters and plot so interesting that you don't even realize you are receiving a history lesson! I am hooked! I have read many of her other books - Time and Chance is definitely a 10 whereas some of the others I may have even rated as low as a 6. Henry and Eleanor both make for great storytelling--and it is fun to believe that the author has really pegged their personalities. Also I think she does a great job keeping her characters consistent considering how many there are and all the conversation going on. I would think it would be hard to keep the great variety of personalities in order when it came to inventing conversation or personal reactions to plot situations -- but Sharon Kay Penman seamlessly slips back and forth between characters without losing any credibility. I think that is a measure of great writing ability.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2004

    Where did Ms. Penman go?

    After reading When Christ and his Saints Slept, I looked forward to Time and Chance. What a disappointment. Nowhere in it's pages did I find the usual captivating stye of Ms. Penman, and I only carried on reading in the hopes she would appear. Not one of her better books, oh well maybe a re-read of Sunne in Slendour will help restore my faith.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2002

    Such a disappointment

    After waiting so long for the sequel to "When Christ and His Saints Slept", this book was snapped up in minute...and found to be, well...very boring. The characters had no life. Unlike the other books by Ms. Penman, this latest effort was a waste. I doubt now I'll read the third book of this trilogy...or will wait to pick up a copy at the library.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    another great sequel

    Henry II of England was a formidable historical figure - just think of all that he accomplished or was involved with - Henry FitzEmpress later known as Henry Plantagenet, ruled as Count of Anjou, Count of Maine, Duke of Normandy, Duke of Aquitaine, Count of Nantes, King of England (1154–89) and Lord of Ireland; he also controlled Wales, Scotland and Brittany. He fathered 8 children on Eleanor of Aquitaine, two who later became king - Richard the Lion-hearted and John of Robin Hood fame.

    This part of the trilogy concerns the time of strife when Harry was in constant disagreement with Thomas Becket, his Archbishop of Canterbury, over the manner in which the punishment of the clergy concerning wrongdoings. Becket wanted he Church to maintain its sovereignty and Harry wanted the misdeeds punished under normal English law. In the end, after 6 years of exile, Becket was murdered.

    Thinking of all that you would believe that the story that was told here would have been a bit boring, but Harry is brought to life with all his vigor, faults, and personality that this reader is eager to take up the next part of the tale of King Henry and Queen Eleanor.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    2nd in a trilogy

    The middle years of Henry II's reign. I would call it the Beckett era.

    Beckett is still a controversial figure. Was he a priest of unmoving principle? Or was he an agressive chameleon using those abilities as a means to power?

    The author seems to lean to the latter. In this novel Thomas Beckett is more of a preener while at the same time being an enigma.

    This one characterization is enough to read this novel. This even when we know what will happen.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Beautifully written!

    It’s greatly recommended - no actually you SHOULD read When Christ and his Saints Slept. Not only does it give you the background, an introduction to some characters that are featured in this book, and a lot of history, Time and Chance is a continuation of previously mentioned novel. There’s just something about Penman’s words that weaves the entire story into one very long epic movie like book. Everything is so well written, and descriptions are spot on and accurate. There are a lot of characters, yet maybe around 3 or 4 will stand out to you and you’ll take a liking to them. All the characters are written, and have distinct personalities to make them easier to remember. Some from the previous novel are also mentioned (Ranulf for example, who is one of my favorites). You do find yourself attached to some characters - I was happy to see William Marshall! he quickly became a favorite of mine. It was interesting to see the friendship between Thomas Becket and King Henry. It just deteriorated as you progress through the book (sometimes you feel like they’re bickering like children and you want to send them to their respective corners) it was interesting to see what happened that led up to Thomas getting killed. What was also interesting was when Rosamund enters the picture. Now, I’m all Team Eleanor when it comes to this issue (in fact, if I was Eleanor things would have ended up bloody if I were standing face to face with someone like Rosamund). I didn’t really like her, not just because she ended up breaking the band but because she just seemed like an empty headed bimbo with no purpose whatsoever except to make Henry happy (I’m sure he liked it that way too). I really did sympathize with Eleanor in this book. Not only was she extremely strong in so many ways (seriously Henry? making her pop out child after child and having Rosamund on the side? wow. Talk about having the cake and eating it whole) and I loved reading about her. She’s a fascinating character, especially for being a woman during that particular time period. This was a great book to read. A lot of information to swallow, a lot of rich fantastic characters that make the plot interesting and run smoothly. A must read for historical fiction fans, and fans of Sharon Kay Penman. Those curious would be better off with When Christ and his Saints Slept (where everything begins).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2008

    A must read..........

    This series should be required reading. Old English History coming to life - this is certainly my most favorite time period to read about and I found myself constantly 'googling' for more information about these people. The struggle between Becket and Henry II and then the constant struggle between Henry II and Eleanor was so powerful - and what three difficult people. My favorite character, Ranulf, was so necessary - he acted as everyone's conscience throughout the novel and it always kept things balanced. I can't wait for the 3rd book - I'm hooked on the author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2002

    brilliant follow-up to a magnificent first

    as always, penman has managed to make me feel reunited with long lost friends...the long wait was well worth it...if you have read 'when christ and his saints slept' you will not want to miss this deftly crafted sequel...as soon as i turned the last page i was lamenting the fact that the thrid has not been created as of yet...as they were in life, they are in print....henry and eleanor...completely, totally, and utterly intoxicating.....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2002

    insightful look at Henry II

    Early in his reign, King Henry II successfully subdues his rebellious lords, who prefer their little fiefdoms to a powerful central state figure like His Highness. He decides he must also act accordingly with the Church in order to bring the priests in line. He chooses his most trusted ally Chancellor Thomas Becket to serve as the Archbishop of Canterbury though his friend is not a priest. However, once Sir Thomas takes over his new position, he changes his philosophy and becomes a fanatical supporter of the Church publicly opposing much of what his mentor desires. <P> Though over a decade younger than his wife Eleanor, Henry still loves her madly. He sires two daughters and five sons with her, while anchoring the throne for his Plantagant descendants (Richard, John, etc.) through war, treachery, and statesmanship. However, his fame (or shame) in history hinges on the murder of Sir Thomas, considered a saint by almost everyone else in the country. <P> TIME AND CHANCE, the sequel to WHEN CHRIST AND HIS SAINTS SLEPT, is an insightful historical fiction that brings to life the Henry II nation-building era. Reminding the audience in many ways of A Man for All Seasons, the tale is vividly loaded so that the audience can see a critical period in the building of a nation. Henry is a complex individual whom Sharon Kay Penman insures the audience fully comprehends how deep the King was. The look at the fights Henry fought and their impact on his family, his subjects, and his enemies make this mid to late twelfth century tale a must read for genre fans. <P>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    For All History Lovers

    As usual, Ms. Penman weaves a fascinating tale while staying true to historical events. No "dry" historian here. One can always depend on her for a well written, engaging story while learning a thing or two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Will buy a used paper copy for 1.99

    Won't spend this much on 1 Nook book when the used book is so much cheaper.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2