BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Time and Chance (Eleanor of Aquitaine Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Time and Chance

I have not quite finished reading Time and Chance - mainly because I don't want it to end. This time period in English history is fascinating and I think Sharon Kay Penman makes her characters and plot so interesting that you don't even realize you are receiving a hist...
I have not quite finished reading Time and Chance - mainly because I don't want it to end. This time period in English history is fascinating and I think Sharon Kay Penman makes her characters and plot so interesting that you don't even realize you are receiving a history lesson! I am hooked! I have read many of her other books - Time and Chance is definitely a 10 whereas some of the others I may have even rated as low as a 6. Henry and Eleanor both make for great storytelling--and it is fun to believe that the author has really pegged their personalities. Also I think she does a great job keeping her characters consistent considering how many there are and all the conversation going on. I would think it would be hard to keep the great variety of personalities in order when it came to inventing conversation or personal reactions to plot situations -- but Sharon Kay Penman seamlessly slips back and forth between characters without losing any credibility. I think that is a measure of great writing ability.

posted by Suebo on December 22, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Such a disappointment

After waiting so long for the sequel to "When Christ and His Saints Slept", this book was snapped up in minute...and found to be, well...very boring. The characters had no life. Unlike the other books by Ms. Penman, this latest effort was a waste. I doubt now I'll read ...
After waiting so long for the sequel to "When Christ and His Saints Slept", this book was snapped up in minute...and found to be, well...very boring. The characters had no life. Unlike the other books by Ms. Penman, this latest effort was a waste. I doubt now I'll read the third book of this trilogy...or will wait to pick up a copy at the library.

posted by Anonymous on December 15, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 22, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Time and Chance

    I have not quite finished reading Time and Chance - mainly because I don't want it to end. This time period in English history is fascinating and I think Sharon Kay Penman makes her characters and plot so interesting that you don't even realize you are receiving a history lesson! I am hooked! I have read many of her other books - Time and Chance is definitely a 10 whereas some of the others I may have even rated as low as a 6. Henry and Eleanor both make for great storytelling--and it is fun to believe that the author has really pegged their personalities. Also I think she does a great job keeping her characters consistent considering how many there are and all the conversation going on. I would think it would be hard to keep the great variety of personalities in order when it came to inventing conversation or personal reactions to plot situations -- but Sharon Kay Penman seamlessly slips back and forth between characters without losing any credibility. I think that is a measure of great writing ability.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    2nd in a trilogy

    The middle years of Henry II's reign. I would call it the Beckett era.

    Beckett is still a controversial figure. Was he a priest of unmoving principle? Or was he an agressive chameleon using those abilities as a means to power?

    The author seems to lean to the latter. In this novel Thomas Beckett is more of a preener while at the same time being an enigma.

    This one characterization is enough to read this novel. This even when we know what will happen.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2008

    A must read..........

    This series should be required reading. Old English History coming to life - this is certainly my most favorite time period to read about and I found myself constantly 'googling' for more information about these people. The struggle between Becket and Henry II and then the constant struggle between Henry II and Eleanor was so powerful - and what three difficult people. My favorite character, Ranulf, was so necessary - he acted as everyone's conscience throughout the novel and it always kept things balanced. I can't wait for the 3rd book - I'm hooked on the author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2002

    brilliant follow-up to a magnificent first

    as always, penman has managed to make me feel reunited with long lost friends...the long wait was well worth it...if you have read 'when christ and his saints slept' you will not want to miss this deftly crafted sequel...as soon as i turned the last page i was lamenting the fact that the thrid has not been created as of yet...as they were in life, they are in print....henry and eleanor...completely, totally, and utterly intoxicating.....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2002

    insightful look at Henry II

    Early in his reign, King Henry II successfully subdues his rebellious lords, who prefer their little fiefdoms to a powerful central state figure like His Highness. He decides he must also act accordingly with the Church in order to bring the priests in line. He chooses his most trusted ally Chancellor Thomas Becket to serve as the Archbishop of Canterbury though his friend is not a priest. However, once Sir Thomas takes over his new position, he changes his philosophy and becomes a fanatical supporter of the Church publicly opposing much of what his mentor desires. <P> Though over a decade younger than his wife Eleanor, Henry still loves her madly. He sires two daughters and five sons with her, while anchoring the throne for his Plantagant descendants (Richard, John, etc.) through war, treachery, and statesmanship. However, his fame (or shame) in history hinges on the murder of Sir Thomas, considered a saint by almost everyone else in the country. <P> TIME AND CHANCE, the sequel to WHEN CHRIST AND HIS SAINTS SLEPT, is an insightful historical fiction that brings to life the Henry II nation-building era. Reminding the audience in many ways of A Man for All Seasons, the tale is vividly loaded so that the audience can see a critical period in the building of a nation. Henry is a complex individual whom Sharon Kay Penman insures the audience fully comprehends how deep the King was. The look at the fights Henry fought and their impact on his family, his subjects, and his enemies make this mid to late twelfth century tale a must read for genre fans. <P>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    For All History Lovers

    As usual, Ms. Penman weaves a fascinating tale while staying true to historical events. No "dry" historian here. One can always depend on her for a well written, engaging story while learning a thing or two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2