Customer Reviews for

Time for Bed

Average Rating 5
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted November 15, 2009

    ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ

    I love this book. Like 'Goodnight Moon', it has a nice soft lulling text as it sends several animals to bed. Perfect for bedtime cuddling and reading.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2002

    A favorite for both of my boys!

    My oldest son received this book as a gift when he was a baby. We read it to him every night. As he got older, he begged us to read it more and more each day. Now we have another son who just turned one. He has already discovered the joy of this book. He points to it each day before his nap and at bedtime so that we will read it for him. It truly is a family favorite!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2002

    Precious Book!

    This darling bedtime story, so endearing will charm your youngster to sweet dreams night after night. Jane Dyer¿s watercolor illustrations depicting animals, and their offspring are OUTSTANDING. Each two-page spread features a different Mommy (or Daddy), in a suitable setting, preparing their ¿little one¿ for bed. For instance, the mice are portrayed at the base of a hallow tree, and the fish are deep at sea. The sweet, and simple text appears on the left side of the book, while each mimicking phrase begins with, ¿It¿s time for bed.¿ Subtle and rhythmic, the beat is ideal for nighttime reading, ¿It¿s time for bed, little sheep, little sheep, the whole wide world is going to sleep.¿ The book concludes with a Mommy tucking a toddler into bed, ¿The stars on high are shining bright, sweet dreams, my darling, sleep well, good night!¿ This is a precious bedtime book. As an educational tool, children will learn to recognize the illustrated animals: mouse, goose, cat, calf, foal, fish, sheep, bird, bee, snake, pup, and deer. My son received the hardcover edition of ¿Time For Bed¿ as a baby gift, and I was so captivated by the artwork that the board book version was purchased as a supplement. One-year and up.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2001

    One of the BEST books and THE most fantastic bed time book

    Lovely melodic rhymes and soothing enchanting water colour images. Perfect for settling a young one for sleep. Has become one of our daugher's favourites. Will form a part of your child's golden memories. A truly lovely piece of writing. Highly recommended!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    sweet way to ease into bedtime

    beautiful illustrations, sweet, calm story line.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    My "Go to" Gift

    This is the book that I give to every friend or family member that is expecting their first baby. It is an engaging book with the most beautiful illustrations, that is to be enjoyed more and more with each reading. I will buy several copies at a time to keep on hand along with copies of Elizabeth Mitchell's CD "You are My Little Bird."

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    Beautiful bedtime story

    I gave this to my twin grandsons when they were babies and I've given it many times for baby shower gifts. It is always appreciated and enjoyed no matter how many times you've read the story. Beautiful story and the illustrations are delightful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Beautiful pictures, Kids love the animals, Nice Rhyme.

    I love to read this book to my children before bed. It is short and sweet and shows a variety of animals. The snake page scares me though. My little sons always say "oh how cute" with the page showing a little mouse with his mother. It's also a good way to teach animals and their sounds, so use it as a learning tool, too.

    The last page and rhyme don't exactly flow as well as the rest of the book, but I guess humans need to be in the story too. It's a cute book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2010

    Sweetest bedtime book

    This book was my son's favorite bedtime book for four years. I started reading it to him when he was just four month old -- a friend gave it to us and we read it almost every single night until he was 3, and may times after that (my son asked for it). The rhymes are completely engaging, and my son felt he would "read" to me once he had it memorized. Great for learning to read. Great for soothing and calming before lights out. The illustrations are sweet and I don't know exactly what it is about the pictures of all the animals and their babies saying good night to each other that captivates young children, but it does. My son is seven now and still remembers every word. He won't let me pass it on to anyone else and wants to save this book. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    "...darkness is falling all over the house"

    LOVE, Love, Love this book, as does my son. I started reading to him very early on (around 5 months)and this soon became a favorite. Children can relate to the animals in the book if they have the ability to see them in the flesh (ie., the dog). The dog and puppy would delight my son and smile so big every time we turned to that page. We have a dog of similar colors, so he is able to relate the dog in the photo to our own dog. This book is a must for any children's book collection - it is so darn delightful!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    Sweet story for all ages

    My little one has loved this book from the very beginning. It's very engaging. The illustrations are perfect and this is a great bedtime book. It can be a little long sometimes so we skip to her favorite animals when that happens.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Beautiful Book for New parents and Babies

    "Time for Bed" first caught my attention because of the illustrations. I have some of Jane Dyer's other work, and she is an excellent artist. I've been collecting illustrated children's books since my daughter was a baby, and have been able to keep many of those that we loved to read together long ago, as well as add to my ever growing shelves of wonderfully illustrated selections.

    The story itself is very simple and sweet. You're taken to visit several baby animals being put to sleep because it's "Time for Bed". The words used are soothing and calming and I purchased it for a baby shower gift because it's never too early to start reading to your child.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Great Bedtime Book

    I read many other reviews and decided to buy this book. I have two boys: a two year old and a one year old. They both really like for me to read the "night night" book to them. The rhymes and illustrations are really cute! The book itself is very well made and has been able to withstand the youngest carrying it around and looking at it. I can't imagine anyone being disappointed with this purchase. This is a great book for girls or boys.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2010

    One of our Favorites

    Ours sons had this book when they were little, and I give it as a gift to all of the new parents I know. Sweet story, beautiful illustrations about a parent's love for his or her child.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2010

    A Wonderful Bedtime Story

    Your children will get sleepy just listening to the soft rhymes as you say goodnight to each animal baby. The illustrations are beautiful, and it is easy to read over and over (and over!) again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Time for Bed

    This and "Kiss Goodnight" were gifts to my 17-month grandson who usually enjoys tearing paper off gifts more than anything. However, when he saw the books, he tossed the paper aside and began turning pages. His smiles were all the thanks I needed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2009

    An instant favorite at bedtime

    This is a perfect bedtime story; my 3 1/2 year old daughter still wants to hear it every single night (she's had it since birth) and neither of us ever tires of it! Now she "reads" it to me. We love the illustrations and the little rhymes that are on each page. We've bought a copy for at each grandma's house and bought copies for as many friends and new baby relatives as we can!! Recommend this to ANYONE; top notch!! Sure to be a hit with any child and a great companion read to Goodnight Moon (they're different, but of course both are bedtime tales).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2009

    Time for Bed

    My kid has around 100 books in His room but this is the only one He likes. I've been reading this book for the last 9 months every night.
    Recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    My children's favorite

    I bought this as a baby gift as my boys loved this book when they were little and they're now 20 & 19! Cute rhyming bed time story with beautiful illustrations

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Recommended for all new Mommies to read to their babies!

    This is a book every child should have in their little library. I am a grandmother to three and started buying this book for all new mothers after my first grandchild received it as a gift. It is a sweet rhyming story sure to relax any child as they get ready for bed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4