Customer Reviews for

Time of My Life: A Novel

Average Rating 3.5
( 78 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

couldn't put it down

When I saw that Allison Winn Scotch had a new novel I ran out to purchase it. I enjoyed her last novel The Department of Lost and Found and jumped at the chance to revisit her writing. When I started Time of My Life I did not expect to read through the night to finish...
When I saw that Allison Winn Scotch had a new novel I ran out to purchase it. I enjoyed her last novel The Department of Lost and Found and jumped at the chance to revisit her writing. When I started Time of My Life I did not expect to read through the night to finish it. HOwever, this is what happened. I could not put this book down. I am fascinated with the idea of time travel and who does think "what if"? I related to the character and felt I was right there with her. After finishing the book I found myself missing the characters. When you find a book that lets you feel like you are friends with the characters, so much that you miss them, you know you found a gem of a book. I contribute this to the superb writing style of Allison. I cannot recommend this book more highly and urge you to run out and grab the first copy you see before the last one flies off the shelf!

posted by Averymorgan on October 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Brutal

This book is ridiculous. I am exactly the age of this character, with a husband and daughter, and thanks for telling me my life is worthless. Who REALLY misses their Ikea furniture and loser boyfriends?? (As I write this, I actually am laughing to myself that I don't e...
This book is ridiculous. I am exactly the age of this character, with a husband and daughter, and thanks for telling me my life is worthless. Who REALLY misses their Ikea furniture and loser boyfriends?? (As I write this, I actually am laughing to myself that I don't even know the main character's name, even though I put it down 5 seconds ago). This is the most redundant topic ever. Read Wifey. Bored, rich housewife and "Back to the Future". How novel. Shame on me for needing a book to read and wasting money on yet another "New York Times Best Seller". Wait for the movie starring Rachel McAdams (Jennifer Aniston, whoever). Uck.

posted by ceesee on August 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 16, 2008

    couldn't put it down

    When I saw that Allison Winn Scotch had a new novel I ran out to purchase it. I enjoyed her last novel The Department of Lost and Found and jumped at the chance to revisit her writing. When I started Time of My Life I did not expect to read through the night to finish it. HOwever, this is what happened. I could not put this book down. I am fascinated with the idea of time travel and who does think "what if"? I related to the character and felt I was right there with her. After finishing the book I found myself missing the characters. When you find a book that lets you feel like you are friends with the characters, so much that you miss them, you know you found a gem of a book. I contribute this to the superb writing style of Allison. I cannot recommend this book more highly and urge you to run out and grab the first copy you see before the last one flies off the shelf!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I love these second chance reads!!

    This reminds me of one of my favorite movies, THE FAMILY MAN!
    Jillian, living the seemingly PERFECT life, great, stable, hard-working husband, big house, precious baby girl, but finds herself wondering, "what if?" If she'd taken a different road and stayed with her former boyfriend; then she wakes up one morning, only seven years before but remembers her real life.This is a humorous and exciting romp that I could read again and again!!! Well worth your time!!!

    Others on a similar premise that I could read again and again are: THE OPPOSITE OF ME, EXPLOSION IN PARIS, TIME OF MY LIFE, and SECOND TIME AROUND.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2008

    Entertaining read!

    This is a light, entertaining story of a woman who gets the chance to go back and make her big life choices over again. I think its a story most anyone can relate to. I have definately wondered, "What if I had married a different man?" Or "Where would I be if I had taken a different career path?".<BR/>Time of My Life is a very character driven book and Allison Winn Scotch did a beautiful job of making all the charaters both very likeable and very human. I cared a lot that Jillian figure it all out in the end. <BR/>All-in-all I found this to be a satisfying and enjoyable read and I will be checking out her other book The Department of Lost and Found soon!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2009

    Waste of time - even on a rainy day

    Guess I am the lone dissenter. Sorry. There is too much good reading out there. But then I just finished the new Dan Brown book and I will pan that one too - how many times is he going to tell the same story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sweet

    I picked this book up knowing nothing about the author, but I was pleasantly surprised. What a pleasurable read. Anyone can identify with the main character. And I loved the ending! Wasn't expecting it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2009

    Brutal

    This book is ridiculous. I am exactly the age of this character, with a husband and daughter, and thanks for telling me my life is worthless. Who REALLY misses their Ikea furniture and loser boyfriends?? (As I write this, I actually am laughing to myself that I don't even know the main character's name, even though I put it down 5 seconds ago). This is the most redundant topic ever. Read Wifey. Bored, rich housewife and "Back to the Future". How novel. Shame on me for needing a book to read and wasting money on yet another "New York Times Best Seller". Wait for the movie starring Rachel McAdams (Jennifer Aniston, whoever). Uck.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2009

    4.25 Stars

    From the outside looking in, it appears as though Jillian Westfield has the perfect life. After marrying and moving away from New York City into the suburbs, Jillan and her husband, Henry, have a daughter, Katie, a nice home and Jillian does not have to want for anything.<BR/><BR/>For Jillian, something is missing. She feels an emptiness inside, that she is uncertain if anything will ever fill it. Then one day while walking with a friend, she learns that her old flame, Jackson, is getting married. Trying to hide her true feelings, Jillian shrugs it off and politely wishes him the best. It's not until Jillian is alone that she allows her true feelings to emerge: what if Jackson was the one who got away? How different would her life be if she and Jackson never broke up and she never met and married Henry? To Jillian's surprise, she travels back in time to have those questions answered.<BR/><BR/>Time of My Life is a book for those of us who wake up one morning thinking: How did I get here? and There has to be more to my life than just this! Jillian gets the opportunity to attempt to correct those past mistakes and live the life she thinks she wants. As Jillian desperately tries to alter her future by cleaning up her past, she fails to realize that each action will have a consequence. She also comes to understand that no matter how hard she tries to manipulate situations to transform her life into what she wants it to be, events still occur that are out of her control. Jillian realizes running back into the past isn't always the answer. Just maybe, we need to release our past so that we may be able to fully appreciate what we have in front of us.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2008

    Wonderful Read

    Haven't we all wondered what life would have been, if only.....? Jillian gets that chance to see. We see her go from doubting what life has brought to her, to wanting to go back, to seeing that maybe there is compromise in both. You care so much about her journey. There were so many parts I didn't see coming and found myself laughing out loud and getting a bit teary-eyed. This is one of those books that you'd like to snuggle up on the couch and read on a rainy day. I highly recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2009

    Excellent!!!!

    Anyone who wonders about the one that got away will love this!!! I don't want it to end!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2009

    "It's A Wonderful Life" in chick lit!

    OK..sometimes you just need to zone out in a book and not think. When I saw the cover of this book and read the description, I thought, "Oh great.chick lit." As I quickly made my way through this however, I realized that there can be really intelligent "chick lit" out there. This is it.

    The story revolves around Jillian and her, on the surface, "Good Housekeeping Life"...an executive husband, a baby girl who she adores, am exquisite home in the New York suburbs, and gourmet meals. Never has she felt so "suffocated" and finds herself terribly sad when she hears that her ex-boyfriend has recently married.

    Have you ever thought about what would have happened if you had gone down the "road not taken"? Jillian gets her chance and finds herself one day 7 years in the past..no husband, no child, no house in the suburbs, and again with her ex-boyfriend. She has the chance to take this road. Will she?

    A thoroughly enjoyable read which comes highly recommended. MY RATING - 5/5

    For more book reviews and to see my rating scale, please visit my website:

    http://www.1776books.blogspot.com

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Everyone could imagine themselves as Jillian Westfield

    This book was well written and thought out with all the details covered completely. The main character Jillian Westfield dreams of what if's of her past life and relationship. She is able to wake up 10 years in the past and relive her life, relive her relationships with her boyfriend and friends as well as mold her "dream job" into something she knows she can achieve. However, there is always the downside to creating your own future. Including not marrying the right man, getting promoted too soon when you don't want it and predicting outcomes of friendships before they happen.
    Time of my Life is a great book club read. The story line is light and the characters are remarkably funny and believable. It will make you start wondering, what if.....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    DIDN'T HAVE THE TIME OF MY LIFE READING THIS ONE

    I decided to read this book since it got such good reviews from this site and other book sites even though I'm not much of a time travel reader. I gave up after a few chapters since I didn't think there was much good in reading much more of this boring book. I really didn't care how the book ended and if she met her husband all over again in the near future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2008

    A Disappointment

    After reading the author's 1st book last week, I was looking forward to Time of My Life. The premise sounded interesting, and who among us hasn't thought about "what if" in his/her own life. While this was another quick read, I never really got too excited about it. It was predictable. I feel like the premise has such possibilities and instead of taking us on the most interesting of those, the author has instead taken us on the most obvious of them.<BR/><BR/>Stick with The Department of Lost and Found. And, then, if you need more chick-lit, there is plenty better out there than this.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2014

    Interesting concept!

    Who hasn't wanted to go back and relive our lives. Maybe change for the better. A grass is always greener concept, but after a fashion predictible would be boring don't you think. I loved the story and how in hindsight the heroine can get perspective on her life and the choices she made and the reactions she had that impacted her. The ending was too rushed, leaving so many unanswered guestions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2014

    WHO IS SHAYE AREHEART???

    Cover that displays when opening book is NOT the book cover; but a purple generic one which says Shaye Areheart books, New York...NOT WHAT I PAID FOR!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Yep, I'll admit it...I pick up the book mostly because of the co

    Yep, I'll admit it...I pick up the book mostly because of the cover, which really had nothing to do with the book.

    Jillian has created a life for herself that is planned down to the smallest details, to be a life she believes is what a life well lived should look like. She does this to compensate for what her own childhood looked like after her mother abandoned the family. She does this at the expense of true happiness for herself and her husband. A twist of fate has her waking up years in the past, prior to meeting her current husband, allowing her to answer the question of &quot;what if I had taken a different road and stayed with my previous love? What if I hadn't given up my ambitious career? What if?&quot;. As she navigates the road of following through on her prior life, she does so with full knowledge of the path she had originally chosen. This provides conflict for Jillian as she misses her daughter and through a series of meetings with the man she originally married, sees him in a new light.

    By &quot;trying out&quot; her old life and seeing where she could have taken it, she finds answers to old pains, discovers what is really important and is able to create a life of happiness. This book provides a good message wrapped in chick lit.

    A couple of non-story related issues I had where with the editing. A few times I discovered inconsistencies in the story that were obvious. Also, the abundant use of commas made for a visually cluttered read. This could have been remedied by removing the unnecessary commas, as well as restructuring some sentences to remove the need for the comma.

    That said, I enjoyed the book and had fun reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    A good read.

    Good read. Gives you lots to think about while you have a hard time putting the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Fun read!

    A fun read! A little confusing at times - all of sudden you're not where you think you were. But that added to the fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    excellent!!

    This book was very well written! I mean, you already pretty much guess the outcome, but it was a great time getting there. Great Job, Ms. Winn Scotch!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2011

    Reminds me of an episode of Felicity

    First time reader of this author, and I must confess, I am not sure what all the fuss is about. From what I can tell, much of her work is the same (i.e. the heroine starts at some place in her life and takes a look back at where she was to discover where she might have been). This particular plot, the "do-over" has been done and redone many times, and the author's version in this instance is no better than those before it. Actually, it reminds me very much of the series finale of Felicity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4