Customer Reviews for

Time of My Life: A Novel

Average Rating 3.5
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

couldn't put it down

When I saw that Allison Winn Scotch had a new novel I ran out to purchase it. I enjoyed her last novel The Department of Lost and Found and jumped at the chance to revisit her writing. When I started Time of My Life I did not expect to read through the night to finish...
When I saw that Allison Winn Scotch had a new novel I ran out to purchase it. I enjoyed her last novel The Department of Lost and Found and jumped at the chance to revisit her writing. When I started Time of My Life I did not expect to read through the night to finish it. HOwever, this is what happened. I could not put this book down. I am fascinated with the idea of time travel and who does think "what if"? I related to the character and felt I was right there with her. After finishing the book I found myself missing the characters. When you find a book that lets you feel like you are friends with the characters, so much that you miss them, you know you found a gem of a book. I contribute this to the superb writing style of Allison. I cannot recommend this book more highly and urge you to run out and grab the first copy you see before the last one flies off the shelf!

posted by Averymorgan on October 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Brutal

This book is ridiculous. I am exactly the age of this character, with a husband and daughter, and thanks for telling me my life is worthless. Who REALLY misses their Ikea furniture and loser boyfriends?? (As I write this, I actually am laughing to myself that I don't e...
This book is ridiculous. I am exactly the age of this character, with a husband and daughter, and thanks for telling me my life is worthless. Who REALLY misses their Ikea furniture and loser boyfriends?? (As I write this, I actually am laughing to myself that I don't even know the main character's name, even though I put it down 5 seconds ago). This is the most redundant topic ever. Read Wifey. Bored, rich housewife and "Back to the Future". How novel. Shame on me for needing a book to read and wasting money on yet another "New York Times Best Seller". Wait for the movie starring Rachel McAdams (Jennifer Aniston, whoever). Uck.

posted by ceesee on August 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 20, 2008

    Entertaining read!

    This is a light, entertaining story of a woman who gets the chance to go back and make her big life choices over again. I think its a story most anyone can relate to. I have definately wondered, "What if I had married a different man?" Or "Where would I be if I had taken a different career path?".<BR/>Time of My Life is a very character driven book and Allison Winn Scotch did a beautiful job of making all the charaters both very likeable and very human. I cared a lot that Jillian figure it all out in the end. <BR/>All-in-all I found this to be a satisfying and enjoyable read and I will be checking out her other book The Department of Lost and Found soon!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2009

    4.25 Stars

    From the outside looking in, it appears as though Jillian Westfield has the perfect life. After marrying and moving away from New York City into the suburbs, Jillan and her husband, Henry, have a daughter, Katie, a nice home and Jillian does not have to want for anything.<BR/><BR/>For Jillian, something is missing. She feels an emptiness inside, that she is uncertain if anything will ever fill it. Then one day while walking with a friend, she learns that her old flame, Jackson, is getting married. Trying to hide her true feelings, Jillian shrugs it off and politely wishes him the best. It's not until Jillian is alone that she allows her true feelings to emerge: what if Jackson was the one who got away? How different would her life be if she and Jackson never broke up and she never met and married Henry? To Jillian's surprise, she travels back in time to have those questions answered.<BR/><BR/>Time of My Life is a book for those of us who wake up one morning thinking: How did I get here? and There has to be more to my life than just this! Jillian gets the opportunity to attempt to correct those past mistakes and live the life she thinks she wants. As Jillian desperately tries to alter her future by cleaning up her past, she fails to realize that each action will have a consequence. She also comes to understand that no matter how hard she tries to manipulate situations to transform her life into what she wants it to be, events still occur that are out of her control. Jillian realizes running back into the past isn't always the answer. Just maybe, we need to release our past so that we may be able to fully appreciate what we have in front of us.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2014

    Interesting concept!

    Who hasn't wanted to go back and relive our lives. Maybe change for the better. A grass is always greener concept, but after a fashion predictible would be boring don't you think. I loved the story and how in hindsight the heroine can get perspective on her life and the choices she made and the reactions she had that impacted her. The ending was too rushed, leaving so many unanswered guestions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    A good read.

    Good read. Gives you lots to think about while you have a hard time putting the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Fun read!

    A fun read! A little confusing at times - all of sudden you're not where you think you were. But that added to the fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    Decent book, a little familiar

    This book was very well written, but if anyone has seen the movie "The Family Man" it is similar in opposites. I liked it personally though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2009

    Time Travels

    For any suburban housewife, this book starts in a familiar way - wanting to have a do-over and marry a different boyfriend. Of course, the danger of time travel is trying to not mess up any circumstances that rearrange the future, but having knowledge of future events could also change things for the better. It is a good read. As the main character goes through her new life and details become slightly rearranged, the outcome and revelation she has about her own part in her original life has made this a keeper on my shelf. I wish, however, that the ending chapter could have been stretched a little more to include more of her emotions and thoughts on her experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Concept

    I was surprised with how much I liked this book. Yes, there are things about it that are predictable, but I loved the concept of the book. I usually like entertainment that involves a chance to re-examine one's life. I loved how the character got a chance to go back and do things over and I found this book to be a light read with a good message.<BR/>This book is for women who like chick lit, but want a different formula in a book of that genre.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An Enlightening Story

    I think this novel is one that will connect with the many women who struggle to feel as though they have to make a choice between work and family. It also serves as a positive catalyst for those who may feel guilty or displaced about choices they've made relative to this common struggle between the happy balance that is a fine line for career women who are also mothers. I connected to it personally and had the stark revelation that personal success and happiness isn't found only in the achievements and milestones you come across, but happiness and success is also found within managing expectations and how you react to situations you are presented with. The novel presents the main character, Jillian, with the opportunity to go back in time and make different choices about her life. I the end, she approaches the ability to make the choices differently, but comes out in the end with the same results with a new, revived perspective on her life. An overall good read and well done novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2