Customer Reviews for

The Time of My Life

Average Rating 4
( 132 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(72)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

The Time of My Life

I bought this book yesterday afternoon and started reading it almost immediately. I've never been one to just sit and read a book, but once I started reading this, I had a hard time putting it down. I read 3/4 of it last night and finished reading it this morning. I fou...
I bought this book yesterday afternoon and started reading it almost immediately. I've never been one to just sit and read a book, but once I started reading this, I had a hard time putting it down. I read 3/4 of it last night and finished reading it this morning. I found myself laughing and crying throughout the whole book. It has such a powerful message. Definitely a MUST read! All I can say is WOW!

posted by 1995617 on September 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyed It.

This was a good book, I loved Patrick's honesty and insite into his life and his fight with cancer.

posted by 1Love on February 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 132 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2009

    The Time of My Life

    I bought this book yesterday afternoon and started reading it almost immediately. I've never been one to just sit and read a book, but once I started reading this, I had a hard time putting it down. I read 3/4 of it last night and finished reading it this morning. I found myself laughing and crying throughout the whole book. It has such a powerful message. Definitely a MUST read! All I can say is WOW!

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Patrick Swayze proved a man can be both strong and sensitive! Five Stars!

    This is my first review and I felt I had to tell everyone about my experience reading this book. I purchased 'The Time of My Life' because I heard a little about who Patrick Swayze was as a person and I was looking to be inspired. I really could not put the book down - I just finished reading the memoir today. Patrick and Lisa did in fact inspire me. It was the ultimate love story - not the unrealistic fairy tale type of story. I enjoyed the photos and personal photo captions, seeing the smiles on Patrick and Lisa's faces put a smile on mine. I enjoyed reading about the perseverance related to his sports and dance history. I recommend this book to everyone.
    It was a memoir that touched on many subjects:
    1.)Showed deep spiritual insight in lifes many ups and downs. 2.)Covered personal choices both good and bad. 3.) Told of husband and wife teamwork. 4.)Taught of dealing with depression and overcoming obstacles and grief. 5.) Inspired me to strive for more and to follow my dreams and passions.

    Patrick Swayze - may you rest in peace. I know that your memoir can help people in their own life endeavors. You proved to me that men can be both strong and sensitive and I hope there are more men like you out there! Lisa Niemi and family - I offer my condolences for your loss.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    A bittersweet Story Of Love and Determination to Be a Success With Your Dreams

    I really enjoyed the book. Of course I am a Patrick Swayze fan, but the
    depth of his determination to be the best dancer, the best actor was
    very enlightening. The love he had for his wife, Lisa and the strong
    endurance of their love and marriage in today's society, especially being
    such a popular male star, proves that there are still true love stories to be told. Their devotion to each other in the face of death was sad
    and bittersweet.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    What a Life!

    Loved it! Patrick Swayze wrote in such a way that it made you believe he was sitting there telling his story directly to you. May have to get the CD and actually listen to his voice tell the story. Very touching, interesting and compelling. His passing was a great loss.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2010

    This is a wonderful book!

    I love this book , I loved Patrick Swayze big fan of his , I cannot put it down once I start to read it gives alot of insight to their marriage and life in general . I can't wait to finish . Great attribute to a wonderful actor .

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2009

    Very inlighting

    This book was very inspirational, I enjoyed it and also shared it with my daughter and mother they also loved it. It really makes you think about life. Wonderful to liston to I bought the audio and with Patrick and Lisa telling made it so inlighting.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Inspirational

    I learned a lot about Patrick with this book, it made me laugh and cry but most of all it made me fall in love with him all over again. He will be extremely missed. I didn't realize how much pain he was in all his life but he never showed it, how much he loved his wife Lisa, his love for dancing and most of all his strength and courage. Patrick was a very strong person!!
    I would recommend this book to anyone that loves Patrick and that who loves too laugh and cry, who wants to learn about a person that we thought we knew as a person but not really.
    I don't know what I expected for an ending but it left me wanting more.
    I will miss you terribly, you are an inspiration to all of us!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2010

    great for swayze fans!

    I grew up on Patrick's movies and this book helped me to understand a life that was lost too soon. The writing techniques weren't spectacular but the story itself is well worth the read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A touching story.

    This is a touching look into the relationship between Patrick Swayze and his wife Lisa Niemi. It was amazing the struggles they went through from the time they met until the time of Patrick's death. The love between them was one of a kind and thankfully they were together until the disease took Patrick's life. Through this book, their love and his spirit will live forever.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2009

    The Time of My Life

    This is a great read and I recommend it highly! You will laugh and cry. Patrick was a great actor and his work will live on for generations to come. The love shared between Patrick and Lisa was so special and so rare in today's world. During his battle with cancer, he fought for survival with bravery and dignity. He was truly an inspiration!
    My condolences to his family. You can tell from reading this book how much he loved them and how much they loved him.
    Patrick will be sorely missed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Loved Patrick; loved this memoir he wrote before his death

    I've loved and enjoyed watching Patrick Swayze over the years. His memoir lets the reader know the real man behind the man and the artist. There was a lot about Patrick that I didn't know and was happy that he was so generous to let us, his fans, know more about his life, growing up and the unfolding of his successful career and personal life with his long-love, Lisa. The two are also an example, long lost on Hollywood, about 2 people being in love and making a long, happy marriage work, despite the everyday setbacks. The two of them are wonderful people - and I know Lisa will forever cherish having shared his life with Patrick.

    I loved this book and would recommend it to anyone interested in being inspired by someone who tried so hard and never gave up, no matter what the odds. Patrick, we love you, may you rest in peace. I know, wherever you are you're probably giving someone a run for their money!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2009

    Beautifully Written

    In his beautiful memoir "Time of My Life," legendary actor Patrick Swayze along with his wife Lisa Niemi, poignantly looks back on his life and career. Growing up in Texas in the fifties and sixties, Swayze was very energetic and multi-talented from the very beginning-engaging in football, gymnastics, music, and dance. He first met his future wife Lisa, when she was fifteen and taking dancing lessons from his mother. The pair were later re-united in New York, where Swayze was pursuing a ballet career. However, due to a severe knee injury dating back to his high school days, Patrick had to quit ballet and turn to a path that would ultimately make him a celebrity-acting. After starring in a couple of musicals, Swayze contacted an L.A. based talent manager who had Texas roots and knew his mother. This resulted in Swayze's Broadway portrayal of Danny Zucko in "Grease," and Swayze's rocky relocation to Los Angeles. Through it all, Lisa was by his side as they struggled to survive on little money by freelancing in carpentry and waiting for Patrick's acting career to take off. I found this book very well-written and hard to put down. Some of the things included were intimate such as Lisa's letters and Patrick's memories of losing his father and later his unborn child. Swayze also recounts his involvement in various movies-everything from "Ghost" and "Dirty Dancing" to "City of Light" and "Road House." Overall, this book was a wonderful behind-the-scenes look at the life of a Hollywood heartthrob whose iconic movie performances and great personality will be remembered for a long time to come.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2009

    The Time of My Life was excellent!

    I was and will always be a fan of Patrick Swayze. He was an amazing talent. His book was very good. I took me three days to read it. The love he and Lisa shared is one of a kind. They had a great life together.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Patricks # 1 Fan

    I love Patrick. My husband thinks that sometimes I love Patrick more then him. I bought this book yesterday and started to read it. I can not put it down. There are also pictures in the book which shows us alot of his life. You will regret not buying his book if you are a fan. I also bought the book on cds which Patrick will read. I can not wait for that they are being shipped as we speak. Love this book and Patrick.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Rip

    Swayze had an amazing life its just sad RIP

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyed It.

    This was a good book, I loved Patrick's honesty and insite into his life and his fight with cancer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2011

    r.i.p

    i love mr swazye and this book rocks

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2010

    A true love story.

    This was a wonderful love story and how these two people, no matter what, worked to stay together through good and bad.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    The Time of My Life

    For Swayzee fans, dancers, and performing artists it's a must read. The book is very honestly written. Patrick struggled with a lot of demons in his life. It's another reminder that the life of a celebrity is not what it appears to be to us on the outside. It can be very difficult. At the same time, it is clear that he lived his life to the fullest and that he had a wonderful partner in Lisa Niemi. Their marriage wasn't a fairy tale, but they truly loved each other. This is a love story and a tribute to a man's life. It's a fast read and quite enjoyable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    The Time of My Life

    What a beautiful love story. I found that I didn't want to put it down at times. Their loved survived everything but cancer. They both are a true inspiration to all. I highly recommend this book to all people men or women who have ever been truly and eternally in love. Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 132 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7