Customer Reviews for

The Time of Our Lives: A Conversation about America: Who We Are, Where We've Been, and Where We Need to Go Now, to Recapture the American Dream

Average Rating 3.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommened. You don't want to miss this one!

A great extension and follow up of The Greatest Generation. Being 82 years of age I can relate to all of the happenings related to in this in this story. As for the future course this country takes He is right on with his insight of the future happenings and recommenda...
A great extension and follow up of The Greatest Generation. Being 82 years of age I can relate to all of the happenings related to in this in this story. As for the future course this country takes He is right on with his insight of the future happenings and recommendations of this Great Old USA

posted by rexsnook on November 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Thoughtfully written

Today's United States are not the same as the ones generations past grew up to know and love. I am in my early thirties, and though I know America will retain her place as an economic and military power for the foreseeable future, I do sometimes wonder with some unease...
Today's United States are not the same as the ones generations past grew up to know and love. I am in my early thirties, and though I know America will retain her place as an economic and military power for the foreseeable future, I do sometimes wonder with some unease what American society will look like when my kids are my age.
Brokaw, a pillar in American news media, has delivered a compelling, honest, and thoughtfully written work that yearns for simpler days gone by but looks forward with optimism to a bright future - if we return to the values and ideals that made us great to begin with. I believe in America, I believe in her people, and I believe we can retain our status as a global leader in all facets of human endeavors.

posted by C_Guendelsberger on November 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 30, 2011

    Highly Recommened. You don't want to miss this one!

    A great extension and follow up of The Greatest Generation. Being 82 years of age I can relate to all of the happenings related to in this in this story. As for the future course this country takes He is right on with his insight of the future happenings and recommendations of this Great Old USA

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2011

    Thoughtfully written

    Today's United States are not the same as the ones generations past grew up to know and love. I am in my early thirties, and though I know America will retain her place as an economic and military power for the foreseeable future, I do sometimes wonder with some unease what American society will look like when my kids are my age.
    Brokaw, a pillar in American news media, has delivered a compelling, honest, and thoughtfully written work that yearns for simpler days gone by but looks forward with optimism to a bright future - if we return to the values and ideals that made us great to begin with. I believe in America, I believe in her people, and I believe we can retain our status as a global leader in all facets of human endeavors.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2011

    Interesting viewpoints presented, easy to read

    I bought this book based on Tom Brokaw's reputation as a news anchor, and he did not disappoint. The writing style is very reminiscent of his news delivery, though slightly more conversational. The ideas brought up in the book make sense, and though I did not agree with some of the suggestions he proposed to "turn things around", the reasoning and the examples were well thought out and presented.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2012

    Biography, history,and foresight Given Brokaw's pre eminent posi

    Biography, history,and foresight
    Given Brokaw's pre eminent position as a respected journalist, his observations and viewpoints regarding the American condition has to be taken seriously. His biography however, wasn't really inspiring, given the fact that many of his generation grew up not particularly privileged and became successful in life. To his credit, Brokaw credits his success in part to others an being at the right place at the right time. I'm glad I read it but in my view you might get the same stories and observations from most people of his generation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Tori

    Walks up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    This is a very good read! Brokaw does a great job describing how

    This is a very good read! Brokaw does a great job describing how America may have lost some of its greatness recently, but, given our legacy and the fortitude displayed by present day American, our country will regain its focus and mission. His book is a combination of autobiography, history book, and editorial expose. He demonstrates how proud he is of his children and grandchildren. He describes how they have to face many obstacles, including financial, in order to make it through the, "great recession." While the Great Depression may have been extemely difficult it was our ancestors, the current difficulties experienced by many Americans today have motivated some individuals to make major impact on education, family, and the society at large. Highly recommend this book, especially for those who have enjoyed reading Brokaw's book, "The Greatest Generation."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Tom Brokaw is right on.....once again

    This is a thought provoking book about where we have been, the direction we may be going, and what we can do to make our lives better. Everyone will benefit from reading this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    So Interesting ....

    This book is so full of insight to our world today and how is differs from our world of not so long ago. It really makes you stop and think. I appreciate his ability to show us the good and bad of the past and present. Tom's personal touches make the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Brilliant!

    Very well written. A snapshot of where our country was, and where we need to be headed. Recommend highly, for we are living in trying times.









    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    A good read with food for thought.

    The first two thirds of the book was the best, but either I got tired of it or Brokaw lost steam the last third. Worth reading, but don't expect to be shaken by it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2011

    Great read

    One of Toms' better books. Highly recommend .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2