Customer Reviews for

A Time to Dance (Timeless Love Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 95 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Amazing!!

This book is the most inspirational book Ive ever read in my life. Its definitely a great book for married couples who fall into daily lives and forget to stay close. While I was reading this book I felt as if she was following me around for the last two years of my lif...
This book is the most inspirational book Ive ever read in my life. Its definitely a great book for married couples who fall into daily lives and forget to stay close. While I was reading this book I felt as if she was following me around for the last two years of my life and writing about it. It was motivational and inspirational. I just can't say enough A MUST read!

posted by 10649724 on January 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

24 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

L

Out of 33 reviews,9 are plot spoilers and tell everything about the book. Why do you plot spoiling posters feel the need to reveal every detail of the book? The overview tells us all we need to know. We do not need vain, egotistical posters like you that dissect every s...
Out of 33 reviews,9 are plot spoilers and tell everything about the book. Why do you plot spoiling posters feel the need to reveal every detail of the book? The overview tells us all we need to know. We do not need vain, egotistical posters like you that dissect every sentence. Heck, one poster even said she took notes! That is obsessive and just plain weird. Just tell if you liked it or not and stop writing dissertations.

posted by 8888649 on October 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 2, 2010

    A good read

    A Time to Embrace is part of the Timeless Love series, and is built on the idea that there is a time for everything (Ecclesiastes 3:1 - 8). John and Abby, who met as young children, are on the brink of divorce. John's affections have began to stray to a colleague, and Abby has drifted away as well. As they struggle with when to tell their children (with events happening that prolong their announcement), both begin to slowly and subtly question what it is they are about to do. Their daughter, Nicole, announces her own engagement, pushing back the announcement even more. Nicole and her fiance Matt decide that they will marry on John and Abby's anniversary because they want a love like the Reynolds'. What follows is the work of God in John and Abby's hearts, and the most important decision they will ever make - to stay married or to divorce. They must work through issues of trust, commitment, and most of all, faith in God.

    On the surface, this book touched me because I know people whose lives and choices mirror John and Abby. I could see their faces, their names, as I read instead of the Reynolds'. It was sometimes hard to read it because of that. But I enjoyed the story and thought it was wonderfully done. It wasn't mushy, wasn't cheesy - nothing I've associated with Christian literature previously. The one thing that did kind of get on my nerves after a while were all of the italicized quotes from God. Both John and Abby heard God speak to them. While I believe God speaks to people, it was kind of overkill to me as a reader. It could be more an aesthetic thing than anything else, but it was the one black mark against the novel.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    Recommend

    Nice read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Anonymous

    I was surprised how much I liked this book. It sometimes gave the impression of too perfect a family, but if you can siphon out some of the unrealistic situations, you're left with a story about a marriage in need of help from a higher power and how by putting you're life in God's hands miracles are possible. It reminds me how important it is to keep God part of every day and to pray for His guidance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    GOOD READING

    Very good reading and glad it turned out the way it did

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Amonymous

    This turned out to be a good read, however, if it's going to be a Karen Kingsbury book the characters are going to get their guidance from god. These kind of books aren't for everyone, in this book I think it was overkill with the religious overtones. In this instance I think it made the characters seem weak, they couldn't stand on their own without asking god for help. I have to ask myself, would the outcome be any different. I don't mind reading this type of genre, but I don't think I would want to do it that often. The constant pleading to god takes the focus away from the story.
    Overall this story has a good plot and the characters blend into the story well. Good recommendation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Expected More From Kingsbury

    Expecting only the very best from Karen Kingsbury, I sat down to enjoy a pleasant read of her book "A Time To Dance." I did not find the very best, however. While her characters are realistic and her story is intriguing, the book goes on for too long without any progress. The story, which follows a couple as they put off a divorce for the sake of their daughter, who is getting married, is heartfelt and moving, but some readers may want to skip the majority of the book and go straight to the end. The plot is slow moving and makes for an even slower read, a boring read, at that. Only in the last quarter of the book do things get interesting enough to keep the reader's attention. That said, it's still a pleasant read overall. If you can get through the slow parts, you'll find yourself at a wonderful, inspirational ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2010

    Another great one by Kingsbury!

    Karen Kingsbury delivers another great family story in A Time to Dance. John and Abby were the "perfect couple" until their marriage began to fall apart. When they gather the family together to announce their separation, their daughter announces that she is getting married- on their anniversary. Not wanting to spoil their daughter's day, John and Abby agree to stay together until after the wedding. But, they begin to wonder if maybe they might be doing the wrong thing.


    I've read Kingsbury before, which is why I selected this book from Booksneeze- where bloggers can get books for free in exchange for writing an honest review. She always tells a great story. You can really see and understand the emotions that John and Abby are going through, and how they rely on God to get them through. I will be picking up the next book in this series!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2010

    A Good Read

    I have just finished reading "Time to Dance". This is another of Karen Kingbury's Christian Fiction novels. I am not usually a fan of romance novels and I expected this to be a classic romance. A marriage that has seen better days is the focus of this story.
    John and Abby find themselves in a place in their marriage that they never dreamed they would be. The romance of this story isn't that of boy finds girl, boy gets girl - it's more of a man and woman can't find each other story. This is the story of what happens when we focus on ourselves and not on others. Certainly, focusing on God first will allow us to focus on what is most important.
    This was technically, an easy read. However, knowing that this book is a reflection of what so many people experience every day, it was not that easy to read.
    I think that fiction fans, particularly Karen Kingsbury fans will enjoy this book very much.
    I received a free copy of this book in return for my honest opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2008

    Great love story

    I haven't read books in awhile but this author kept me interested and I couldn't stop reading. Great story about faith and marriage. I'm going to get more of her books today!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2