Customer Reviews for

A Time to Heal (Quilts of Lancaster County Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 112 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good story line. Very well written. A great summer read.

Good story line. Very well written. A great summer read.

posted by SuperBookish on July 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Annoying,

not really believable, and very heavy on the Christian message. Disguised as a 'free friday' book.

posted by KimLeland on October 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Good story line. Very well written. A great summer read.

    Good story line. Very well written. A great summer read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    THis is an awesome series!

    Read the whole series in 3 days couldn't put them down! This was my 1st Amish series I have ever read and it was WONDERFUL! Strongly reccommend!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Good story

    Some continuity problems w/ first book. In first book, Matthew's son is oldest at 9 1/2 yoa. In this book, two years have passed since first book, and Matthew's son is now middle child, just turning 8 yoa. Doesn't affect story, but is a little distracting to have characters change like that from one book to the next.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A cleansing of the palette between genres

    The Quilts of Lancaster County Series is a nice change of pace. These are books about non-Amish Americans experiencing the Amish community as friends and family. It's quite interesting to see the reactions of different people to the Amish. It is also funny to see how maybe we don't see them as people but instead see only 'the shell.'

    In this book, Barbara Cameron took an event that, though fictional, strongly mirrored the basic facts of an actual event that shook me and intrigued me. I've often wondered about the parties involved and 'what really happened.'

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    great book!!

    Paradise Pennsylvania seems to draw wounded hearts, and souls to the small Amish community. First it was Jenny, in book one A Time to Love. Now we meet Chris, a young soldier that Jenny met in the VA hospital, during one of her visits there.

    Chris has been wounded physically, but the emotional toll of the war and the things that happened there have worn on him hard. He remembers how Jenny spoke of Paradise, and he is just hoping for a place to have some quiet time to heal. What Chris is not prepared for however is the feelings that he feels toward Hannah, Jenny's sister in law. Nor is he prepared for the bad things that are starting to happen on the farm.

    An explosion, then the barn catches on fire, clues Chris in that something bad is happening, compound that with one of the horses being poisoned, and now he is positive that the person he put in prison, and who he thought was still in prison, has to be out and causing these troubles.

    A confrontation with this person leaves Hannah injured and near death and Chris feeling responsible. This is not what he wanted. He just wanted peace. And it seems to be illuding him. Will Chris find the healing he needs to move forward with his life?

    I loved this story, as much as I loved the first book! Barbara Cameron tells a wonderful story, you will not want to put down this book until you finish it! A discussion guide and Amish recipes at the end of the book. 264 pages US $13.99 5 stars



    This book was provided for review purposes only, no payment was provided for this review.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Annoying,

    not really believable, and very heavy on the Christian message. Disguised as a 'free friday' book.

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read

    Christopher Marshall has recently been released from the hospital. He was injured in a roadside bomb attack in Afghanistan and spent 11 months recuperating. While he was in the hospital he had met Jenny and after corresponding with her decides to visit her Amish home. He is able to find the peace he has been looking for among the Plain people. He meets Hannah Matthew's sister and an attraction ensues.
    Hannah longs for a family of her own. After Matthew's wife dies, she fills in and loves the role of taking care of the three children and being a Mom. Things change after Matthew and Jenny marry and she returns to just being an Aunt.
    You will love the warm feeling of family and the interaction of the adults and the children. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves a sweet Amish family story. You will find out a lot about forgiveness!
    I received a review copy from the Publisher, I was not required to give a positive review. No further compensation was received, and the opinions are my own!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2013

    I found this to be a very good book. I read the first book first

    I found this to be a very good book. I read the first book first and found it beneficial in knowing all of the characters and the setting first. It is set in Lancaster County and the setting is realistic. It is set shortly after the first book, with Jenny and Mathews family. Chris, the man from the hosital who helped calm Jenny down shows up in Lancaster on an undefined vacation looking for Jenny. It was very appropriete for teenagers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Not a preachy story

    I typically read romance books of a more graphic nature. And I usually avoid Christian Romance, not because of the less 'graphicness', but because I don't like to be preached at.

    This book and Book 1 of the series, were wonderful at showing the evolving romance between the couple and the respect within the family. Religion was only brought into the story enough to show how god was involved in their everyday lives, but it wasn't like every decision was prefaced with "what would god want me to do".

    And it was interesting to have an inside look at the Amish lifestyle. I'm sure this is a highly romanticized view, but since the author had an Amish woman review the book, hopefully the Amish actions are true. For instance: they were allowed to have a cell phone for business purposes, but not for easier communication.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2012

    Recommend

    I really enjoyed this series. Read book 1 1st. 3 books in series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2012

    Highly recommend

    I love this series. Wish there were more of them!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Very good clean read.

    This whole series was wonderful. I really enjoy a good amish series, and this one didn't disappoint.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    Qqaaealapqp

    Aalql
    Q
    PQPAQPALW
    Q zpqagaqpqqrqq
    qqpqomXEAAs
    Qe

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Loved it

    Great series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Excellent series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    A wonderful book

    I just stumbled upon this seris and can't put them down. A good read any day. The receipes in the back were an amazing surprise. I really reccommend this book and series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    i think this book was a amazing read it drew me in and grab a ho

    i think this book was a amazing read it drew me in and grab a hold of me i had to keep reading till it was over!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Waiting room

    Wait here for the doctors

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This is the 2nd book of a 3 book series .. I read book 1 and had to get book 2 and 3 .. I read 3/4 of book 2 so far and i just love it .. i didnt think i'd like this type of book but its well written ... but read them in order if you are going to read them .. A Time To Love was the first book ... I got another one of her books as it was a free offer the other day Her Restless Heart also by Barbara Cameron .. Looking forward to that book too .. sooo many books i have to read ... so little time !!! :) Happy Holidays everyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Good

    I read the three books on this series and really enjoyed tnem. Family oriented with religious inside and drama and intrigue in all three of them. You can not ask for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6