Customer Reviews for

A Time to Heal (Quilts of Lancaster County Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 112 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good story line. Very well written. A great summer read.

Good story line. Very well written. A great summer read.

posted by SuperBookish on July 13, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Annoying,

not really believable, and very heavy on the Christian message. Disguised as a 'free friday' book.

posted by KimLeland on October 9, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A cleansing of the palette between genres

    The Quilts of Lancaster County Series is a nice change of pace. These are books about non-Amish Americans experiencing the Amish community as friends and family. It's quite interesting to see the reactions of different people to the Amish. It is also funny to see how maybe we don't see them as people but instead see only 'the shell.'

    In this book, Barbara Cameron took an event that, though fictional, strongly mirrored the basic facts of an actual event that shook me and intrigued me. I've often wondered about the parties involved and 'what really happened.'

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Not a preachy story

    I typically read romance books of a more graphic nature. And I usually avoid Christian Romance, not because of the less 'graphicness', but because I don't like to be preached at.

    This book and Book 1 of the series, were wonderful at showing the evolving romance between the couple and the respect within the family. Religion was only brought into the story enough to show how god was involved in their everyday lives, but it wasn't like every decision was prefaced with "what would god want me to do".

    And it was interesting to have an inside look at the Amish lifestyle. I'm sure this is a highly romanticized view, but since the author had an Amish woman review the book, hopefully the Amish actions are true. For instance: they were allowed to have a cell phone for business purposes, but not for easier communication.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    great series

    Cannot wait for the next book in this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2012

    Really enjoyed this one

    First time to read a book by Barbara Cameron and I enjoyed it a lot. I will look for others by this author in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    Book two

    211 pages for nook, about twenty pages devoted to things other then storyline. There are several recipes at the end of the book. These are located after the study questions. The author seems to have a problem with hitting the space bar after ending a statement or question. While this does not distract from the story in any way. I thought it was funny after awhile and started looking to see how many times this occured. The boy in this story, lost years on his age and went from being the oldest child to the middle child. I guess this book could now be classified as a soap opera instead of Amish romance. Soap operas are always fiddling with children's age in this manner. This book was interesting, well written, had a bit of a jerky flow at times and even had a bit of mystery. It was a nice, clean story and was not overly preachy. I Read the first Quilts of Lancaster County book and enjoyed it also. This book would be suitable for ages 13 and up.

    AD

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Great story

    Really great story. This is the second in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Great read

    Very entertaining. Going to read the third book now

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    Nice read

    I love books that pull me in and take me away. This one did that.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    really enjoyed!

    well written, fast read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    Great book

    Very interesting and well wrote. I will be reading the rest of this series soon. I could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    loved this book

    I could not put it down . It was well worth the cost. I like how the wrighter touched every one in the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2012

    great book could not put down. The first page on each chapter wa

    great book could not put down. The first page on each chapter was ran together on my nook.
    I like that the wrighter touces feeling on each one of the family. I look forward for the other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    recommend!

    This was an interesting combination of cast members. The story was easy to follow, even if I didn't read the 1st of the series. I enjoyed reading about the Amish and how they "mix" with the rest of us. I will definitly read more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I liked it

    I've never been one for reading a book with even the slightest hint of religion in it, but this book is really good. Kept my interest with humor, romance, and a little action at the end. Some mystery to it so you keep wondering what the characters story is. Good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2