Customer Reviews for

Time to Hunt (Bob Lee Swagger Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 30, 2011

    Highly recommended-well done by Mr. Bridges

    I enjoyed the audio book very much. A very good story. An excellent interpretaion and characterization by Mr. Bridges. Well done!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Hunter writes a thrill a minute

    This man deserves the Pulitzer he won. the Swagger family is endless each one connecting, intertwining, thrills galore and never a let down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2000

    The Best Book Ever Written

    When I saw this book on my dad's dusty old bookshelf, I knew that this would be the one; the book that keeps you up for all hours of the night, not just a page turner, but a real time consumer. For as long as it takes you to read this book, you will live and breathe this book. The characters are described to the utmost detail. I cought myself relating to them a few times! Here's the bottomline: if you like books, read Time to Hunt. You WILL NOT REGRET IT.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2000

    Bob 'The Nailer' Swagger At His Best Again!

    Hunter has another smash bestseller featuring Bob Lee ' The Nailer' Swagger. Be sure you have a lot of free time when you start Time To Hunt book because once you do you'll be hooked. Time To Hunt has it all--great plot, interesting characters, lots of action and surprises, etc., etc., etc. One of the most interesting aspects of this book is how Bob Lee became 'The Nailer' in Vietnam. Just when you think Bob Lee has suffered enough and deserves to enjoy the rest of his life in peace, Hunter comes up with another traumatic adventure for him. While I don't know what, if anything, Hunter has in store for Swagger, I can't wait to read it. Now, do yourself a favor--but a copy of Time To Hunt as soon as it comes out, cancel all plans and prepare yourself for a real reading pleasure.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2014

    "Fills Out The Background Nicely"

    I admit it: I have become a Steven Hunter fan because of Bob Lee Swagger. I started reading the "Sniper" stories out of order, so references to "Donny" and their big last day were a bit frustrating. " Time To Hunt" fills all that time in Vietnam nicely.I'm working may way through the whole series now. Thank you, Steven Hunter, for another great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    Very highly recommended

    I have now read all of the books in the Bob Lee Swagger series. This one is my favorite. The combat scenes are unforgetable, and the exploration of how the Vietnam war impacted a whole generation is probably the best I've seen in fiction. (Disclaimer: I don't read a lot of war stories.)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    Probably my favorite Bob Lee Swagger book because it starts at t

    Probably my favorite Bob Lee Swagger book because it starts at the beginning of his association with Donny Fenn and goes through the end of the war and beyond. Truly excellent writing and worth more than one reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    Wanting more

    This book will get you hooked on Hunter

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2010

    ebook

    why isn't this available in ebook?????

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    "There is a passion for hunting something deeply implanted in the human breast." Charles Dickens

    4 1/2 stars.

    "Time to Hunt" tells the story of Marine sniper Bob Lee Swagger and his spotter, Donnie Fenn.

    As the story opens, Donnie is being sent back to Viet Nam as a punishment for not betraying a fellow Marine who was associating with peace marchers in Washington, D.C. Since Donnie only had a bit more than a year left on his enlistment, a tour in Viet Nam was unusual punishment.

    When he meets Bob Lee Swagger and they travel "in country" in Viet Nam, they cause such damage to the Viet Cong that the V.C. officials contact their Russian advisor. A Russian sniper named Soloratov recognizes Swagger's work from the weapon and ammunition used. Soloratov is sent into the field to eliminate Swagger and his spotter.

    This is the second time I've read this novel and it is still as fresh and dramatic as it was originally. I found myself gasping with the tension and suspense. The author provided excellent plot twists that adds a unexpected development to the story. Needless to say, nothing was what it seemed to be. The action went from Viet Nam, to Swagger's home, a farm in Idaho, and then back to Washington, D. C.

    The novel is a good example of why Hunter is considered one of the top thriller writers in America. The plot is original and Swagger is an appealing, heroic character.

    Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2009

    Excellent read

    Good writing and good plot... Hope they make a movie out of it...we loved The Shooter and this is the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2003

    Great Book....Great Series of Books

    I absolutely loved this book. I could hardly put it down every night when I read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2002

    Best ever

    I have never liked to read...every single book that i have read besides this one i couldn't read it for more then a few min. but this book is the only book that i have ever loved to read. It is one of the best books ever (to me atleast).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2000

    Outstanding!

    When I picked up Time To Hunt, I had no idea I'd be spending almost all my off hours reading it. It's that good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2000

    Action Packed!

    It's a non stop action roller coaster that get's better with every turn of a page. I couldn't put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 73 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4