Customer Reviews for

A Time to Kill

Average Rating 4.5
( 432 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(284)

4 Star

(95)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 284 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Great book!

    I am currently reading this book and love it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Absolutley Amazing!!

    This novel is simply stunning! It is my favorite by John Grisham and my favorite fiction overall. It appeals to virtually every reader and holds you and and makes it difficult to put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Petmommy

    Excellent!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    A real page turner

    Can't believe that I just got around to reading this book. I hated putting it down. It sure made me think about what I might do in this same situation.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Excellent!

    Grisham's first book is certainly one of his best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Typical John Grisham

    I have seen the movie a couple of times and finally got around to reading the book now that I have nook. As usual, the book was much better than the movie. I had trouble putting the book down as each chapter's ending makes you want to see what will happen next. The book keeps you going all the way through til the surprise verdict. It was interesting how the jury finally approached the process of coming up with the verdict. A good read. John makes you think about the legal process and the many questions the process sometimes leaves unanswered.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    A must read

    Very very great read; So vivid with details, did not want to put down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    One of My Favorite Books of All Time!

    If you live drama and legal fiction you will love this book! I couldn't put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Great Read

    If you liked the movie you'll like the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    One of the BEST books I've read and I'm only 13!

    I'm a 13 year old guy and this book was amazing. I liked it a lot, bcause law fascinates me. This was one of the BEST books I've ever read, and like I said I'm only 13. John Grisham is my favorite author. This was my first Grisham book but I WILL READ THEM ALL.. MUST READ!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Grade A+

    I own a hard back book copy, plus a copy for my nook.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Greast Book Ever

    I own two copies of this book and its the one book i can read all day everyday without losing interest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    Probably my favorite book ever!

    Great Book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Simply fantastic!

    After reading John Grisham's first novel you can truly understand why he has become such a literary star. This book drips with emotion, tense drama, realistic characters, and soul. This is a book that you can sadly picture happening when it took place and it is done so well. The antagonists are awful and real. The protagonists are flawed and fabulous. This is a story that so many different kind of people can learn from and relate to in some way. Overall, a fantastic novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    An outstanding read

    The first grisham work ive read and i couldnt put it down. Good writers not only force you to have an emotional stake in the outcome and characters, but they also make you ponder social issues. A time to kill hit both of these nails on the head. Topics like racism, rape and what true justice really is are all explored. Grisham not only made me think, he kept me entertained and attached throughout. Id recommend it to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Unforgettable!!!!!

    A must read book!!!! It is the kind of reading that makes you ask yourself the question "How far would you go to get justice for your kids?" I couldn't put the book down...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    my all time favorite book

    couldnt put it down. so great!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2010

    he did great

    i love it touched my heart i almost cried

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2010

    Incredible!!

    I love John's books. A Time To Kill is written with excellence. It definetely keeps you glued to it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2009

    awsome book

    this wa one of the best book i have ever read. this is a must read for the ones that love the thrill and not want to put the book down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 284 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 15