Customer Reviews for

A Time to Love (Quilts of Lancaster County Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 399 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(156)

4 Star

(105)

3 Star

(74)

2 Star

(38)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Not Your Typical Amish Love Story, Its so much more!!!

A Time To Love isn't your average Amish romance read! Instead the author takes a very current subject, the war overseas and its impact on the most innocent of victims the children, and tells us how Jenny King the main character of the story felt compelled to get those c...
A Time To Love isn't your average Amish romance read! Instead the author takes a very current subject, the war overseas and its impact on the most innocent of victims the children, and tells us how Jenny King the main character of the story felt compelled to get those childrens voices heard.

The author starts the story with Jenny being driven to her grandmothers Amish farm in Lancaster Pa. She has just survived a car bombing while reporting overseas and needs a place to heal her wounds both physical and emotional. So when she arrives at her grandmothers she is reaquainted with Matthew, an amish man that she had fallen in love with as a teen.
Matthew and Jenny's story gives us hope for second chances and shows us that putting our faith in God and casting our fears aside is the only way to find true contentment and love.

I really can't say enough good things about this book, it tugs at your heart strings, but also the author does a great job of throwing some humor into the story so it isn't overly dramatic. The main character is so easy to relate to with her fears and longings and wanting to make a difference for children. The struggles she faces while recuperating is something that we hear often on the evening news pertaining to wounded soldiers.
Thanks to Netgalley and the publisher for providing me a copy of this book to review!

posted by kittycrochettwo on August 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Nice story, but abrupt transitions and ending.

This was a nice story of love rekindled and spiritual healing. However, there were several times in the story line that felt as though a few pages or a chapter were missing. I didn't quite get the transition between beginning to have feelings for each other then sudde...
This was a nice story of love rekindled and spiritual healing. However, there were several times in the story line that felt as though a few pages or a chapter were missing. I didn't quite get the transition between beginning to have feelings for each other then suddenly they are professing love and are engaged. The book also ended on a very abrupt note with no epilogue to clear up outstanding issues. There seemed to be an issue with giving/keeping journals with some of the Amish characters, and it was played in the story that it was going to be an important factor, but it was never explained or resolved. Overall, it was a nice book, but I won't be reading any more in the series. For great Amish stories, I'll stick to Beverly Lewis.

posted by RGaskins310 on March 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 399 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20
  • Posted August 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not Your Typical Amish Love Story, Its so much more!!!

    A Time To Love isn't your average Amish romance read! Instead the author takes a very current subject, the war overseas and its impact on the most innocent of victims the children, and tells us how Jenny King the main character of the story felt compelled to get those childrens voices heard.

    The author starts the story with Jenny being driven to her grandmothers Amish farm in Lancaster Pa. She has just survived a car bombing while reporting overseas and needs a place to heal her wounds both physical and emotional. So when she arrives at her grandmothers she is reaquainted with Matthew, an amish man that she had fallen in love with as a teen.
    Matthew and Jenny's story gives us hope for second chances and shows us that putting our faith in God and casting our fears aside is the only way to find true contentment and love.

    I really can't say enough good things about this book, it tugs at your heart strings, but also the author does a great job of throwing some humor into the story so it isn't overly dramatic. The main character is so easy to relate to with her fears and longings and wanting to make a difference for children. The struggles she faces while recuperating is something that we hear often on the evening news pertaining to wounded soldiers.
    Thanks to Netgalley and the publisher for providing me a copy of this book to review!

    19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    Nice story, but abrupt transitions and ending.

    This was a nice story of love rekindled and spiritual healing. However, there were several times in the story line that felt as though a few pages or a chapter were missing. I didn't quite get the transition between beginning to have feelings for each other then suddenly they are professing love and are engaged. The book also ended on a very abrupt note with no epilogue to clear up outstanding issues. There seemed to be an issue with giving/keeping journals with some of the Amish characters, and it was played in the story that it was going to be an important factor, but it was never explained or resolved. Overall, it was a nice book, but I won't be reading any more in the series. For great Amish stories, I'll stick to Beverly Lewis.

    13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    Wonderful!!!

    I have never read a book about the Amish until just recently. I loved the idea and searched for another one. It was then that I came across this series. It did not disappoint me. I love the storyline, details, suspense, and peacefulness of the described Amish life. It is a wonderful change of pace and I am eager to read not only the remaining books in the series but also more books about the Amish. It just goes to show that people are people no matter where we go...all with their own struggles, beliefs, and emotions...and respect and chivalry are not dead.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    Beautiful Story

    I am not a fan of Amish stories, but something about this book drew me in. It was wonderfully written and I hated to see it end. This is a keeper and I will read it again at some point.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Terrific Amish Fiction title!

    I really enjoyed reading this Amish fiction title for free. I am reading the third in the series now, and still loving it! Thanks!

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2012

    Heartwarming read. I very much enjoyed the storyline and felt co

    Heartwarming read. I very much enjoyed the storyline and felt connected to the characters (I'm not Amish!) and cared what happened to them. It's a book I've continued to think about even though it's been a few months since I've read it.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2012

    A Great Read

    I loved this book. Jenny is a reporter in a war torn nation, she is injured by a car bomb. Jenny finds not only physical injuries but cosmetic scars, yet she still has a longing for where she has based her work on for the last several years; war torn children. She finds herself wrapped in her grandmom's quilt and knows where she wants to go to heal; with her grandmom who is Amish. I laughed so hard I had tears running down my face and woke up my husband. This book touched my heart, spirit and my funny bone. Don't miss out on this wonderful read.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    So so book

    I must admit I am not a big fan of amish stories. But it was a free book. Really though, how many love stories can you come up with when it is all amish. The book was very predictable and at times boring. While I respect the amish people and sticking to their beliefs, why can you not marry someone of faith unless they absolutely conform to your exact way of living? Calling children kinner and not being able to have pictures of your loved ones? And to top it all off you have to get married in a plain dress that you know you are going to be buried in? Some people may call that a live story, but I call it morbid.

    7 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    Loved it. A true love story

    A real tear jerker.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Very good story.

    This was a very good short story. It was a good free read. The characters were very intriguing and I learned about Amish life too. Enjoy!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2010

    A book to remember

    If you would like to read a book that makes you want to go home
    again, "A Time to Love" is the book for you. The story grabs you
    from the beginning - I couldn't put it down.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    Smoke 101

    They should put more action books on Free Fridays. All they put are love books. More action books! Who's with me? More action books!

    6 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    More to learn from this book than Amish way of life.

    More to learn from this book than Amish way of life.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    Very good

    This is a good book, it is light and nice. I am looking forward to reading the other books in the series

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    :I had a lot of trouble staying interested

    Jenny has endured an ordeal that few non-military Americans can even fathom.

    She was a high profile reporter who was nearly killed in a car bombing in Afghanistan. When she awoke in the hospital the quilt Grandmother had given her was wrapped around her giving her the feeling of peace the she desperately needed. Now, in order to recover she's returned to her Grandmother's home in Lancaster County. One of the few places she's ever felt safe and comfortable.

    If only she could remember everything that happened here the last summer she spent here. She remembers the feelings of peace and comfort. But there is something more, something momentous that Jenny just can't put her finger on.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Amish-Lancaster part 1

    like, cant wait to read the next 2

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    good story

    this was a wonderful story it made me really think about gods will in my life. i hope you will enjoy it as much as i did

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2012

    Great Read!

    This book was a great read! I never really read Amish books before this one was offered on Free Fridays. I loved the book so much I bought the other two in the series! I can't wait for Barbara Cameron's other series that comes out this spring. I will buy all of them! I highly recommend this book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Amazng

    It is an amazing touching book. It s really moving. You will get adicted. This is the first of three books. You will wish she wrote more of theese books. :) :) :D :D :) :) :) :) :) :)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    Great book!

    Loved it

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 399 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20