Customer Reviews for

A Time to Love (Quilts of Lancaster County Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 399 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(156)

4 Star

(105)

3 Star

(74)

2 Star

(38)

1 Star

(26)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Not Your Typical Amish Love Story, Its so much more!!!

A Time To Love isn't your average Amish romance read! Instead the author takes a very current subject, the war overseas and its impact on the most innocent of victims the children, and tells us how Jenny King the main character of the story felt compelled to get those c...
A Time To Love isn't your average Amish romance read! Instead the author takes a very current subject, the war overseas and its impact on the most innocent of victims the children, and tells us how Jenny King the main character of the story felt compelled to get those childrens voices heard.

The author starts the story with Jenny being driven to her grandmothers Amish farm in Lancaster Pa. She has just survived a car bombing while reporting overseas and needs a place to heal her wounds both physical and emotional. So when she arrives at her grandmothers she is reaquainted with Matthew, an amish man that she had fallen in love with as a teen.
Matthew and Jenny's story gives us hope for second chances and shows us that putting our faith in God and casting our fears aside is the only way to find true contentment and love.

I really can't say enough good things about this book, it tugs at your heart strings, but also the author does a great job of throwing some humor into the story so it isn't overly dramatic. The main character is so easy to relate to with her fears and longings and wanting to make a difference for children. The struggles she faces while recuperating is something that we hear often on the evening news pertaining to wounded soldiers.
Thanks to Netgalley and the publisher for providing me a copy of this book to review!

posted by kittycrochettwo on August 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Nice story, but abrupt transitions and ending.

This was a nice story of love rekindled and spiritual healing. However, there were several times in the story line that felt as though a few pages or a chapter were missing. I didn't quite get the transition between beginning to have feelings for each other then sudde...
This was a nice story of love rekindled and spiritual healing. However, there were several times in the story line that felt as though a few pages or a chapter were missing. I didn't quite get the transition between beginning to have feelings for each other then suddenly they are professing love and are engaged. The book also ended on a very abrupt note with no epilogue to clear up outstanding issues. There seemed to be an issue with giving/keeping journals with some of the Amish characters, and it was played in the story that it was going to be an important factor, but it was never explained or resolved. Overall, it was a nice book, but I won't be reading any more in the series. For great Amish stories, I'll stick to Beverly Lewis.

posted by RGaskins310 on March 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 399 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 20
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    Excellent!

    Very relaxing, east to read story. It was hard to set down, I truly enjoyed it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    ?...

    This book was incredibly boring. Even for free I was extremelydisappointed. Very poorly written; no character development, terrible plot and highly unlikely. Had a hard time finishing it even though it was so short.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    great story, truely enjoyable reading

    great story, truely enjoyable reading

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Lovely read

    This is a must read. This story is fantastic and grips you from the beginning. I did not want to put this book down with all the twists that goes on, you want to keep going to see what happens. This is like no other Amish book I have read. Love it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    Good read, family friendly

    I really enjoyed this book and the love story. It was interesting to read about the Amish and how they view the English people. It provided a lot of insight.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Great book

    Really takes you into the amish world, makes it very interesting. Great story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Excellent Book!!!!!

    This was an exceillent book!!! I can't wait to read the rest of this series!!! You really become vested in the characters!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Very Realistic Amish Romance

    I really loved this book. It is especially appropriate for readers who want to read about romance without the graphic sex. It also brings God into the story without preaching

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    sappy and predictable

    sappy and predictable

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Terrific

    Relaxing, sentimental read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    This was a feel-good story about nice people who fell in love an

    This was a feel-good story about nice people who fell in love and got
    married. They lived in an Amish community, which added interest. Nothing
    very bad or very good happened. But, the characters were likable, and I
    enjoyed sharing their experience for a while.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Eh.

    Didnt catch my fancy much. A rather normal story. Nothing too exciting. The end was so short and abrupt I didnt even know it was ending! It went from being very meticulous in story telling tonfast forwarding and cutting things out. I wont be reading anything from this author again any time soon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2012

    I really enjoyed the story line and can't wait to read the rest

    I really enjoyed the story line and can't wait to read the rest of the
    series.You feel for Jenny and all shes been through.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Good idea, poorly written

    I enjoyed the basic premise of the book. However, the author didn't get too deep into anything. The book felt like it was a lot of fluff - mostly idle conversations between the girl and her grandma or Matthew, not much description of any of the girl's activities, such as the physical therapy appointments or the quilting circle meetings she went to. With a series name "Quilts of Lancaster County," I expected there to be a lot more storyline devoted to her time spent meeting members of the quilting circle, going to meetings, making friends there.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Slowwww

    Very hard to get into. I kept waiting for the story to gain momentum. It never happened.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    An OK read

    It was a bit boring but the characters were likable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    Good read

    It is a heart-warming story. The plot is simple and pleasant to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2012

    Loved it :)

    Great story of overcoming obstacles, love lost and found and the importance of faith and family. I was surprised how much I actually enjoyed it. It was offered as a free friday book and sadly that is the only reason I gave it a chance. Its not one of my typical reads but all that has changed. I'm looking forward to buying and reading the next book in the series. Thanks B&N for broadening my reading horizon with your excellent free Friday reads :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Too religious for my taste

    Their world is innocent and perfect. Pretty bland.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Beware

    This was touted as amish romance but its really bible thumping.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 399 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 20