BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

A Time to Love (Quilts of Lancaster County Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 399 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(156)

4 Star

(106)

3 Star

(74)

2 Star

(38)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Not Your Typical Amish Love Story, Its so much more!!!

A Time To Love isn't your average Amish romance read! Instead the author takes a very current subject, the war overseas and its impact on the most innocent of victims the children, and tells us how Jenny King the main character of the story felt compelled to get those c...
A Time To Love isn't your average Amish romance read! Instead the author takes a very current subject, the war overseas and its impact on the most innocent of victims the children, and tells us how Jenny King the main character of the story felt compelled to get those childrens voices heard.

The author starts the story with Jenny being driven to her grandmothers Amish farm in Lancaster Pa. She has just survived a car bombing while reporting overseas and needs a place to heal her wounds both physical and emotional. So when she arrives at her grandmothers she is reaquainted with Matthew, an amish man that she had fallen in love with as a teen.
Matthew and Jenny's story gives us hope for second chances and shows us that putting our faith in God and casting our fears aside is the only way to find true contentment and love.

I really can't say enough good things about this book, it tugs at your heart strings, but also the author does a great job of throwing some humor into the story so it isn't overly dramatic. The main character is so easy to relate to with her fears and longings and wanting to make a difference for children. The struggles she faces while recuperating is something that we hear often on the evening news pertaining to wounded soldiers.
Thanks to Netgalley and the publisher for providing me a copy of this book to review!

posted by kittycrochettwo on August 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Nice story, but abrupt transitions and ending.

This was a nice story of love rekindled and spiritual healing. However, there were several times in the story line that felt as though a few pages or a chapter were missing. I didn't quite get the transition between beginning to have feelings for each other then sudde...
This was a nice story of love rekindled and spiritual healing. However, there were several times in the story line that felt as though a few pages or a chapter were missing. I didn't quite get the transition between beginning to have feelings for each other then suddenly they are professing love and are engaged. The book also ended on a very abrupt note with no epilogue to clear up outstanding issues. There seemed to be an issue with giving/keeping journals with some of the Amish characters, and it was played in the story that it was going to be an important factor, but it was never explained or resolved. Overall, it was a nice book, but I won't be reading any more in the series. For great Amish stories, I'll stick to Beverly Lewis.

posted by RGaskins310 on March 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    ?...

    This book was incredibly boring. Even for free I was extremelydisappointed. Very poorly written; no character development, terrible plot and highly unlikely. Had a hard time finishing it even though it was so short.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Eh.

    Didnt catch my fancy much. A rather normal story. Nothing too exciting. The end was so short and abrupt I didnt even know it was ending! It went from being very meticulous in story telling tonfast forwarding and cutting things out. I wont be reading anything from this author again any time soon.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Good idea, poorly written

    I enjoyed the basic premise of the book. However, the author didn't get too deep into anything. The book felt like it was a lot of fluff - mostly idle conversations between the girl and her grandma or Matthew, not much description of any of the girl's activities, such as the physical therapy appointments or the quilting circle meetings she went to. With a series name "Quilts of Lancaster County," I expected there to be a lot more storyline devoted to her time spent meeting members of the quilting circle, going to meetings, making friends there.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    An OK read

    It was a bit boring but the characters were likable.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Too religious for my taste

    Their world is innocent and perfect. Pretty bland.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I've never read an Amish romance novel before (or honestly e


    I've never read an Amish romance novel before (or honestly even knew they existed), but it was a Free Friday pick and the concept seemed so strange to me that I had to give it a shot. I did finish the book so, I suppose I can't say its too bad, but I was not impressed. All the characters described as if the are saints instead of real people. Jenny is not a reporter because she's the least bit ambitious, or likes to be on television-no she does only it to "help the children." A phrase that if I read it one more time in this novel one more time, I think I might of vomited. Matthew is the perfect man and there are no conflicts between him and Jenny despite the fact that they grew up in societies with very different concepts of gender roles. All the Amish are treated as saints in fact, and the book seems to imply that we should all strive to live like them, which is ironic since this is available as an E-book. The book in fact doesn't even play lip service to the fact that Jenny grew up and lived her life in the "English" (what the Amish call non-Amish) world and that it might be hard to give up everything she'd ever known. Yes, reading fiction is about suspending disbelief, but in this case I just couldn't. Another thing that bothered me that there was lack of description for anything other than food. What's eaten is given quite a bit of description, but nothing and no one else. You're taking us to a world that most of us have never been to, describe it for Pete's sake!

    In the spirit of full disclosure, I would not describe myself as a Christian nor am I a fan of Romance Novels as a general rule, so I suppose I am not the intended audience for this novel. What I am a fan of is well written fiction that gives me relatable (if not likeable), realistic characters that behave like humans. This book gave me unreletable saints that did no act in a way I would expect a normal human would.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Ok

    I gave it 2stars cause the german in this book annoys the hell out of me lol

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    No thanks

    Not enough to make me read anymore amish tales

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    Rather dull

    A short read. Stuck with it, but really wasn't very exciting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    seems boring after Fifty Shades

    Started it, and moved on to something else..I will probably go back to it, but honestly, after finishing the trilogy of Fifty Shades of Grey, it just seems boring

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Boring

    I do not like to give bad reviews after an author worked so hard on their book. I was excited to read this book but it dragged on and on and felt like it would never end. I skipped to the end after suffering through 128 pages.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Okay

    It started out interesting, but after awhile it got boring, drawn out, and a typical love story, just set Amish style. It got to the point that i was skipping over sections just to get done with the book. Glad it was free, would not have paid for it. Thank you oh so very much B&N for another " free awesome" read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    In the Slow Lane

    I really wanted to learn more about the Amish life, but this book is so slow and boring, did not go in depth at all to describe the subject or the backdrop, I read the Wikipedia instead.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Barbara Cameron's book, A Time to Love, has a sweet message abou

    Barbara Cameron's book, A Time to Love, has a sweet message about love, even thought it reads like it was written by a PR committee for the Amish. Superficially it's lovely, but if you read just a wee bit deeper, the characters seem a bit flat, there are many inconsistencies, and the Kindle version is full of formatting errors. This seems to be a book that was banged out in something of a hurry without much editing and attention.

    One thing that bothered me throughout the book was Jenny's obvious blindness to the fact that not marrying Matthew would not prevent his family and him from feeling a profound sense of loss if she broke off the relationship. That bond of love is inherent in relationships, not in the formalization of them.

    The time frame of the book also bothered me. It doesn't seem realistic that the long string of therapy appointments and general recovery, plus the additional surgery and all that entailed would fit in the less than four months of calendar time available in Lancaster County between the onset of heavy snow (beginning of the book) and spring budding. Typically, bitter weather and heavy snow would not start there before Thanksgiving, and spring budding will begin by late March. That's four months at most. But hey! This is fiction and it's about hearts, not details. Or so it seems.

    Inconsistencies are rife. A tiny one is the sentence where the anesthesiologist lowers a mask over Jenny's face in the OR. As far as I know without researching it, anesthesia masks have been obsolete for decades. Perhaps Cameron has been fortunate enough to have been spared any experience with surgery, direct or otherwise.

    A much bigger example is Jenny's book project. As she packs to close her apartment, she puts decades of paper journals into a box. At her grandmother's house, she pulls out a NEW laptop, explaining that the battery will soon die, but there is enough power left to show Phoebe a DVD. Some number of days after that, Jenny is sitting in the living room writing in her journal (presumably paper), when Matthew arrives. She reaches for the (presumably recharged) laptop to show him the DVD. He urges her to write a book about her experiences. When he leaves, she reviews the notes she made earlier on a yellow tablet. Then has a conversation with Phoebe and reaches her laptop. My head is spinning!

    Why would she even buy a new laptop after making a commitment to a life without electricity and full intention of honoring her new lifestyle? She didn't have the Internet power for a printer at the house. This book is promoting understanding of the Amish way, and at the same time overlooking primary limitations.

    Back to the main story. It is sweet and I enjoyed reading it, and it makes me crazy that publishing houses and prolific writers like Cameron are failing to show proper respect for readers. The failure to exercise due diligence in editing to track down conflicts and typos is dumbing down their work and teaching the public to accept inferior products on a par with discount store clothing mass-produced in the Asian sweatshops we rail against. Perhaps in the two years since this book was published, Cameron and Abingdon Press have upgraded their standards. I sincerely hope so.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2