Customer Reviews for

Time to Run

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Very good story!

    I did like this story. I thought it was realistic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    Team Melton

    the Team 12 Series is sexy, suspenseful and engaging

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A nice touching story

    It started real good, got a little slow, and then picked up again. I think it could of gotten real good with a little more navy seal team action, and more intimacies. But the plot was original, which is always a plus when you have read a hundreds of romance books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Jennifer Wardrip - Personal Read

    The books in this series are full of passion, action-adventure, and suspense, and if you haven't had the chance to read them yet, you need to pick them up today! <BR/><BR/>Chief Petty Officer Chase "Westy" McCaffrey was having a bad day when he strode into the Trial Services Building at Oceana Naval Base. It wasn't just that he needed the signature of a JAG lawyer to sign off on a case, or the fact that he'd just returned from sniper duty in a bad hot spot. It wasn't even really the fact that his stepfather was dead; rather, it was the fact that he had to head back to Oklahoma to take control of the McCaffrey land that the lazy, cruel, and insufferable man had been living on. When he sees Sara Garret, wife of infamous prosecuting JAG attorney Captain Bartholomew Garret, he's immediately struck, once again, by her skittishness. When Sara asks to meet with him only a day later, in a secluded park, he figures out why she's always seemed so nervous-Sara claims to need to escape her husband, and wants Chase to take her and her son with him to Oklahoma. <BR/><BR/>Sara Garret is a woman who, for all intents and purposes, is an abused wife. Her husband demands absolute perfection from her, and also crazy things like arranging their groceries in the cabinets in alphabetical order. When she fails at any task he's given her, or disobeys him in any way, he takes something away from her-which is why, for several months, she hasn't been allowed to drive. But Sara has been forming a plan, a way to escape. Then things boil over when her husband strangles her son's rabbit, simply for the boy playing his music too loud, and Sara knows she has to make her move. <BR/><BR/>Chase instinctively refuses to help Sara when she asks for his assistance. Later, though, he has a change of heart, and shows up telling her and Kendal to hop into his car on his way out of town. As newspapers flash stories of Sara and Kendal's disappearance and possible kidnapping, Sara and Chase realized that it's going to take a lot more than just leaving town to get rid of Captain Garret. One way or another, though, this man has to go. <BR/><BR/>When Sara realizes that she's developing feelings for Chase that are more than those of a friend, she's more panicked than ever. She doesn't have the time or the energy for a relationship, but Chase treats her differently, more like a woman, than any man in her life ever has. As for Chase, although he realizes the dangers in having a relationship with Sara, he's determined to protect her and her son from harm at any and all costs. <BR/><BR/>This newest installment in Ms. Melton's SEAL series is a heartfelt winner, and I highly recommend it. I can't wait for further books in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2008

    A Time to Enjoy

    I am not a huge fan of romance novels, but Marliss Melton made me a fan. The way she describes the charater Chase Mcafferty in A Time to Run is amazing. You can easily picture him in your mind, and what a picture. She combines romance,mystery, and supense into an awesome page turner. A Time to Run was the first of her novels, that I have read, but as soon as a finished it, I ran out looking for more of her work. I have not been disappointed yet. I can not put them down once I get stated. She describes people, places and things that make you feel as if you are right there. If you have never read about the navy seals in her books you are missing an awesome treat, and an amazing get away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2008

    Fantastic

    I absolutely loved this book. Marliss Melton is brilliant. She knows how to tell a story. I was completely immersed in this book. It had suspense, humor, romance...all the things I look for in a good book. I like the fact that Ms. Melton writes her books in a way that the reader can get a good mental picture of characters and places....and she doesn't over do it by explaining things over and over and over again. The relationship between Chase and Sara was great as well as the friendship between the men on the SEAL team. Read Forget me not, then In the Dark before reading Time to run.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    Originally Posted on Romance Junkies

    TIME TO RUN is the third installment in Ms. Melton's Navy SEAL series, and the third book I've given five blue ribbons. The books in this series are full of passion, action-adventure, and suspense, and if you haven't had the chance to read them yet, you need to pick them up today! Chief Petty Officer Chase 'Westy' McCaffrey was having a bad day when he strode into the Trial Services Building at Oceana Naval Base. It wasn't just that he needed the signature of a JAG lawyer to sign off on a case, or the fact that he'd just returned from sniper duty in a bad hot spot. It wasn't even really the fact that his stepfather was dead rather, it was the fact that he had to head back to Oklahoma to take control of the McCaffrey land that the lazy, cruel, and insufferable man had been living on. When he sees Sara Garret, wife of infamous prosecuting JAG attorney Captain Bartholomew Garret, he's immediately struck, once again, by her skittishness. When Sara asks to meet with him only a day later, in a secluded park, he figures out why she's always seemed so nervous-Sara claims to need to escape her husband, and wants Chase to take her and her son with him to Oklahoma. Sara Garret is a woman who, for all intents and purposes, is an abused wife. Her husband demands absolute perfection from her, and also crazy things like arranging their groceries in the cabinets in alphabetical order. When she fails at any task he's given her, or disobeys him in any way, he takes something away from her-which is why, for several months, she hasn't been allowed to drive. But Sara has been forming a plan, a way to escape. Then things boil over when her husband strangles her son's rabbit, simply for the boy playing his music too loud, and Sara knows she has to make her move. Chase instinctively refuses to help Sara when she asks for his assistance. Later, though, he has a change of heart, and shows up telling her and Kendal to hop into his car on his way out of town. As newspapers flash stories of Sara and Kendal's disappearance and possible kidnapping, Sara and Chase realized that it's going to take a lot more than just leaving town to get rid of Captain Garret. One way or another, though, this man has to go. When Sara realizes that she's developing feelings for Chase that are more than those of a friend, she's more panicked than ever. She doesn't have the time or the energy for a relationship, but Chase treats her differently, more like a woman, than any man in her life ever has. As for Chase, although he realizes the dangers in having a relationship with Sara, he's determined to protect her and her son from harm at any and all costs. This newest installment in Ms. Melton's SEAL series is a heartfelt winner, and I highly recommend it. I can't wait for further books in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2006

    Marliss Melton has put the Romance back in Romance Novels

    If you haven't read Marliss Melton's previous works, 'Forget Me Not' and 'In The Dark' I strongly suggest that you do so, as all of the characters are introduced in 'Forget Me Not' Her account of Helen & Gabe's intimate reunion was exquisitely told, it was truly a 'Love Scene' rather than just another steamy sex scene, she has truly put the Romance back in Romance Novels. The fact that Hannah and Luther didn't immediately jump into bed in 'In The Dark' was very well done. She focused on developing the characters and the storyline. The account of Hannah's escape/rescue from the Cuban jail cell was riveting and grabs you from word one. And now to 'Time To Run', the opening scene of Sara putting away her groceries so meticulously and precisely because of her fear of her abusive husband was chilling and very true to life, and again she did not allow her lovers to jump into bed on page one, but rather formed a true friendship evolving to true love. Marliss Melton is a delightful new author and I for one am anxiously awaiting her next work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    fine SEAL romantic suspense

    US Navy JAG Captain Bartholomew Garret runs a tight ship at home expecting his wife Sara to even alphabetize canned goods and his ten year son Kendel to be quiet when he is at home. When Kendel plays his music loud, an angry Bartholomew strangles to death his son¿s pet rabbit. Sara knows they must leave him before his mental abuse turns to physical abuse on them. --- Chief Petty Officer Chase McCaffrey relaxes at Ocean Naval Base following completion of his latest assignment as a SEAL sniper. He notices Sara sitting outside Garret¿s office as her husband expects her to wait all day for him until he finishes his work. He asks Sara to give a package to JAG Lieutenant Renault who is tied up in a meeting. Because he is leaving to check his newly inherited Oklahoma ranch, he calls Sara to verify she gave the package to Renault. She begs him to take her and Kendel to Oklahoma. Chase takes them to his ranch and gets them new IDs. As the adults fall in love and he mentors her son teaching him to whittle. A supremacist group that his late stepfather belonged to and Bartholomew make it unsafe for Sara and Kendel. --- Marliss Melton¿s latest SEAL romantic suspense is an exciting tale starring a fine lead couple and her likable son. The return of Hannah from IN THE DARK will be welcomed by readers who have not forgotten this strong FBI agent. Though Sara adapts too easily and Bartholomew has no redeeming qualities (one must wonder why the Navy let him obviously mentally abuse his wife), fans will enjoy this wonderful thriller. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2