Customer Reviews for

Timeless

Average Rating 4.5
( 229 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(148)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Timeless

I don't usually write reviews for books, but for this one ill make an acception. Timless was more than just a story in my opinion. it felt as if it had actually entered my life and succumbed me. Out of most of the books i've read, this book had to be one of the best boo...
I don't usually write reviews for books, but for this one ill make an acception. Timless was more than just a story in my opinion. it felt as if it had actually entered my life and succumbed me. Out of most of the books i've read, this book had to be one of the best books ever. i loved every detail about this book;the settings, characters, plot, the whole thing. Of course the author, Alexandra Monir,is a brilliant writer who has talent with storytelling. i loved how she wrote the book and how it made me feel as if i was sucked in the book and i was actually there. i could picture every little detail of the book in my mind, whether it was the beautiful setting of New York or the characters. What i also loved about this book is how the main character was transported back to the old New York and when she was i felt as if i could actually see the old New York in my mind. The book absolutely amazed me and i give my congrats to the author for her first novel. i recommend this book to anyone who wants to read something really good. i will continue to read more of the author's novels and other works once they come out.

posted by Rebecca_E93 on March 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Didn't Make the Cut

I'm an immensely big reader, so I've had my fair share of good romances and adventure stories, but when it came to this book, it didn't make the cut. From all the highly recommended reviews I thought it would be really good, but so far all its been is dry, predictable, ...
I'm an immensely big reader, so I've had my fair share of good romances and adventure stories, but when it came to this book, it didn't make the cut. From all the highly recommended reviews I thought it would be really good, but so far all its been is dry, predictable, and frankly, boring. Alexandra Monir writes like a twelve-year-old, asking the dumbest questions and making the outcome of experiences inaccurate and un-relatable. When it came to the love story I was just annoyed because she jumps right into it without any backstory and I have no idea of who this guy is. Other than his "amazing blue sapphire eyes" there's no real taste of his character, his personality, his flaws, and the things that make us readers like him. And when it came to Michele I had only a smudge of sympathy for her circumstances, but other than that I found nothing relatable or interesting about her. The author writes what you expect to happen, not what might actually happen. I haven't yet gotten around to finishing the book but I'm over a good 100 pages in, and if the story isn't good by now, it probably won't be. I regret spending twenty bucks on this book, and highly recommend to other people NOT to buy this book. Its a decent and modest storyline but is executed in the most premature ways.

posted by lexi1001 on February 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 231 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted February 5, 2011

    Didn't Make the Cut

    I'm an immensely big reader, so I've had my fair share of good romances and adventure stories, but when it came to this book, it didn't make the cut. From all the highly recommended reviews I thought it would be really good, but so far all its been is dry, predictable, and frankly, boring. Alexandra Monir writes like a twelve-year-old, asking the dumbest questions and making the outcome of experiences inaccurate and un-relatable. When it came to the love story I was just annoyed because she jumps right into it without any backstory and I have no idea of who this guy is. Other than his "amazing blue sapphire eyes" there's no real taste of his character, his personality, his flaws, and the things that make us readers like him. And when it came to Michele I had only a smudge of sympathy for her circumstances, but other than that I found nothing relatable or interesting about her. The author writes what you expect to happen, not what might actually happen. I haven't yet gotten around to finishing the book but I'm over a good 100 pages in, and if the story isn't good by now, it probably won't be. I regret spending twenty bucks on this book, and highly recommend to other people NOT to buy this book. Its a decent and modest storyline but is executed in the most premature ways.

    13 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    Timeless

    I don't usually write reviews for books, but for this one ill make an acception. Timless was more than just a story in my opinion. it felt as if it had actually entered my life and succumbed me. Out of most of the books i've read, this book had to be one of the best books ever. i loved every detail about this book;the settings, characters, plot, the whole thing. Of course the author, Alexandra Monir,is a brilliant writer who has talent with storytelling. i loved how she wrote the book and how it made me feel as if i was sucked in the book and i was actually there. i could picture every little detail of the book in my mind, whether it was the beautiful setting of New York or the characters. What i also loved about this book is how the main character was transported back to the old New York and when she was i felt as if i could actually see the old New York in my mind. The book absolutely amazed me and i give my congrats to the author for her first novel. i recommend this book to anyone who wants to read something really good. i will continue to read more of the author's novels and other works once they come out.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    Highly recommended!!!

    In Timeless, a story of love, music and time travel, Alexandra Monir gives us just the right measure of romance and mystery. Although her life is anchored in today's world, Michele is able to visit her ancestors in other time periods. We travel back with her through various decades of 20th century New York starting with one hundred years ago. I am intrigued by the author's insights on the notion of Time, what it means, and on life and death. Is time just an illusion? Can Michele actually shape her own destiny? As the romance between Michele and Philip unfolds, Alexandra Monir recreates beautifully the sights and sounds of the big city during the rise of jazz as a major musical movement. This is a book I could not put down! I could almost hear the music, feel the mood and smell the scents. And best of all, you can actually listen to the songs on iTunes and allow yourself to be transported back to the story again and again!!! I can't wait for the next book to come out!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Elegant time travel love story..

    Timeless reflected an elegantly written love story that transported me through a charming time travel. Michele, a bright and talented writer, was an easy character to connect with. Her relatable tone, even during tragic occurrences, carried the same level of comfort throughout. Michele, early in the novel experiences a life altering loss that causes her to move in with her rich grandparents in NYC. There, her depression elevates while being in a big house with a cold atmosphere. When she stumbles upon a magical key and her ancestor's diary, a new discovery of time travel throws her into a whirlwind world of questions. The descriptive quality during the 1900's was breathtakingly fascinating. I would have loved to physically see the busy, city lights turn into a calm, and demeanor society. I gratefully admire Monir's research and hard work in developing the scenery. It's nice to be mentally taken back one hundred years.

    Michele's back and forth visits through time gained her access into the Windsor's history. Her ancestors such as Clara and Stella were tastefully done. Their personalities shined through even when Michele graced their presence for a short while. Now, the romantic aspect surrounding her travels revolved around Philip. At first sight, he was an attractive and well-mannered gentleman with moralizing values. The inevitable chemistry seemingly showcased a bond that would stand the hands of time. Another element which was easy to follow was the modern and old school, aristocratic acts between the two worlds. All in all, the ending left me yearning for the sequel. After all, I did say out loud, "son of a gun" once I finished it. I really enjoyed the whole feel and concept expressed in Michele's unforgettable love quest and I look forward to continuing it with the rest of the series.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    blah

    I agree with "Didn't Make the Cut by lexi1001"

    after reading so many good books, I found the writing very boring. It's not very detailed compared to many great books I've read. It just literally sounds like a thirteen year old is writing, and I don't know why I just find the main character annoying.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2011

    My New Favorite!!

    WOW WOW WOW!! Haven't fallen in love with a book and a character (Philip!!!!) like this since I read my most favorite series, Twilight. The amazing ending has me needing the sequel NOW! Ahhhh the romance and time-travel mystery and music and all is soo good. I went on the author's website and she actually has music from the book on there, soo cool!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2011

    absolutly wonderful

    i couldnt put it dwn. For the two days i read it i felt i was actually experiencing everything too. cant wait to read the next book. :)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2011

    WOW.

    this book made me laugh and cry and fall in love with it. it is an AMAZING book! i thought it was even better than twilight and i love twilight! i can't wait till the next one! i really hope it comes soon. :)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing

    Timeless is a Beautiful nail biting love story,that will keep guessing how this book will end. This book is a must read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2011

    Courtesy of Readergirl Reviews a Teen Book

    Some books you just fall in love with, and this is one of them. I thoroughly enjoyed this story. It had adventure, it had an interesting time travel element, and it had a touching romance. I loved the characters in this story, especially Michele, as she was strong, self-sufficient, and smart.

    There were so many details in this book, historically, and I was amazed at the amount of research the author must have done to make these different time periods and places come to life. She did a phenomenal job with this. It gave the novel a vibrancy that was riveting.

    I loved seeing how well she was able to tie in everything together so completely. The book will apparently have a sequel and I am so bummed that this book just came out, because that means I'm going to have to wait so long for the sequel to come out!! I can't take it!

    I highly recommend this book. I loved it,loved it, loved it!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2011

    A definite YES!

    I just loved this book! TIMELESS is the next Twilight!!! Addictive!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    Highly Recommended!

    Simply THE BEST.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    Awesome

    It was a very good read and i cant wait for the second book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    Great book

    i couldn't put it down i bought it tuesday night and was done with it by thursday night. i want to read the next one. im going to the store this weekend to get another book!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    A Great Page Turner- Nice Idea for a Story

    Timeless is really a page turner. The story moved me in many ways. Put here is my Pros and Cons of this novel.
    Pros:
    The idea of having someone traveling back in time and finding their soul mate was a great idea. That what really drew me to this book.

    The History be hide all the times that Michele went through was well researched. I learned a lot about the early 19th century from this book.

    The chemistry between Michele and Philip was amazing. Most of the time when Michele was worried something bad might happen to him, made me tear up. The Romance was great. Philip is really a true gentlemen.

    I love how Alexandra Monir puts her intersects into her characters. If you don't know she is a songwriter and a singer.
    In the book, Michele is a songwriter and Philip is a composer.

    Cons
    Alexandra Monir could have been more detailed about the places that Michele was going. Maybe more feeling to it.

    I know this is Alexandra first book, but she should have written it more for older teens. Her written content seems more for preteen age group.

    I felt like Alexandra could have described what Michele was really feeling.

    Over all I would suggested this book to anyone that interested in a love story. It's really good book. I read it in 3 days. And to anyone I think you would fall in love with Philip.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Perfect YA!

    I love New York City. That being said, receiving a book that was not only a great story, but also one that put NYC front and center in all its glory, was a true gift!

    In this debut novel we greet Michele Windsor. Michele is having a great life with her Mom in California. She has good friends and she spends her time writing poetry and lyrics; her dream is to one day do this for a living and put words into the mouths of the greatest singers that the world has to offer. Michele does have a little bit of an issue that crops up once in a while...a dream of a young man with sapphire eyes. The handsome "ghost" always stares back at her from a mirror, as he stands beside a girl who looks just like Michele - the only difference being that she's dressed in a strange costume. As the image takes the girl's hand, Michele can actually feel his fingers interlacing with her own as he whisks her around a dance floor. Then...she wakes up and the dream is over.

    Unfortunately for Michele, when the dream ends a nightmare begins. Her mother - her absolute best friend in the world - dies tragically in a car accident, and in the blink of an eye Michele is transported from her loving home in L.A. to a cold, stark mansion in New York City. Michele comes from a long line of Windsors, an extremely rich family who has ruled NYC society since before the time of the Astors and Vanderbilts. The Windsors were America's first multimillionaires and the reason why Michele's mom had raced away from NY a long time ago. You see, Windsor women had always been expected to marry their own "class" of people, and Michele's dad was from a much lower station and deemed inappropriate for a Windsor's daughter. Michele's mom had gone against the family tree and ran from her home with her true love by her side. Unfortunately, he disappeared before Michele was born, so she was never able to meet Henry Irving for herself.

    In a state of depression, Michele arrives at the Windsor mansion and meets up with her stuffy, cold grandparents who long ago had made her mother's life a true misery. The white columns in front of the stately mansion look nothing like the rest of modern day New York. It's set between high rises and neon signs, looking as if it were simply a historical relic - a memorial to a magical time in American history.

    Trying to fit in with the blue bloods is almost impossible for Michele. But as her story unfolds, it quickly goes from impossible to improbable. She finds a key that unlocks an old drawer in her room. As she sits on her bed with the eyes of the Windsor generations staring down at her from their portraits littering the walls, Michele begins to read an old diary left behind by Clara Windsor - a girl who was adopted into the clan a long time ago.

    Soon Michele finds herself being whisked away - transported through time to 1910. Here, in the Gilded Age, Michele meets up with her lineage and learns the secrets of the past that changed her future. She also meets Philip - the owner of the sapphire eyes who haunts her in her dreams. Not only is he from the family that are literally the archenemies of the Windsors, but he is also a person, like Michele's mom, who wants nothing to do with extending the family wealth by marrying someone he doesn't love. He's a pianist and loves to compose music that perfectly combines with Michele's wonderful lyrics in order to create songs that the world will never forget.

    W

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    have to read this!

    finally a clean love story that keeps you guessing! loved it! Cant wait until the next book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    the best book !!!!!!!!!!

    i loved this book it was full of romance. it makes you belive in true love agin. i really hope alexandra monir comes out with a 2 book!!!!!!!!!! it makes you feel like youve gone back in time

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2011

    I loved it!

    This book sucked me in. Its not everyday that a book makes me laugh or cry. I can't wait for the sequal!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    Extremly totally Recomended!!!!!!!!!!!

    OMG!!! This book rocks! i could not put it down it was the best book I have read since harry potter. I really hope it becomes a series

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 231 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12