Customer Reviews for

Timeless (Parasol Protectorate Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 109 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Another delightful installment of one of my all time favorite se

Another delightful installment of one of my all time favorite series and authors. I read 3-4 books a week in many different genres. Gail Carriger consistently get a five star rating from me - which I do not give out lightly! It is rare that an author can crack me up - b...
Another delightful installment of one of my all time favorite series and authors. I read 3-4 books a week in many different genres. Gail Carriger consistently get a five star rating from me - which I do not give out lightly! It is rare that an author can crack me up - but I always have laugh-out-loud moments with the Parasol Protectorate.

posted by CaliforniaNookLover on March 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not what I expected

I love this series but this book had some twists and turns that I felt forced the end of the series instead of gently guiding you there. It feels more like she needed to give the series a finite ending but didn't quite plan on how to do it until she had written half the...
I love this series but this book had some twists and turns that I felt forced the end of the series instead of gently guiding you there. It feels more like she needed to give the series a finite ending but didn't quite plan on how to do it until she had written half the book which was really sad because the rest of the series was amazing.

posted by kayjones18 on March 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 109 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted March 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I must first note that I am sad to see the Parasol Protectorate

    I must first note that I am sad to see the Parasol Protectorate series come to a close. While it may be argued that there is not much substance to these books, I have found them to be greatly entertainingly fluff reads. The novel featured a little bit of a lot of things: steampunk, Victorian, werewolves, vampires, humor, romance, absurd situations, mystery, intrigue, adventure, and more. Alexia Tarrabotti is a preternatural, a “soulless”, whose lack of soul leads to her touch cancelling out the powers of those with excess soul. In other words, she can make vampires and werewolves mortal and exorcise ghosts. She is married to an earl, Lord Maccon, who also happens to be a werewolf alpha. At the end of the last novel, their daughter, Prudence was brought into the world. Unlike her mother, who merely cancels out supernatural power, Prudence steals it. This leads to some entertaining toddler mayhem scenes, as this novel is set a few years after Heartless.

    I think Timeless did a good job of tying up many of the loose ends of the series. I enjoyed the exploration of the relationship between Lord and Lady Maccon and their daughter, and their daughter’s adoptive father, Lord Akeldama. It is interesting to see how they have settled into their domestic roles in adjoining households. However, this doesn’t last long. Loyal readers of the series know that Alexia cannot stay out of trouble for too long. She receives a summons from the vampire queen of Alexandria which she cannot ignore. Thus, Lord and Lady Maccon and their daughter see off to Egypt under the guise of accompanying Ivy Tunstell’s theatre brigade. Of course, this can only end…well. While these characters are away from London, I enjoyed seeing the maturation of Biffy. I rather enjoyed what transpired between him and Professor Lyall. The mystery elements of the story were well played — the reader was only privy to the information that the main characters had, so it was hard to predict the answers ahead of time. The novel had a good bit of adventure, some thrills, and a copious dose of Gail Carriger’s signature style of humor. And through all this, Carriger manage to continue the development of her characters, not allowing them to become stagnant.

    While I can’t say that Timeless was my favorite novel out of the five, I enjoyed it all the same. I’m sad to see the series end, but I think it left off on a good foot and closed in a satisfactory way.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2012

    Another delightful installment of one of my all time favorite se

    Another delightful installment of one of my all time favorite series and authors. I read 3-4 books a week in many different genres. Gail Carriger consistently get a five star rating from me - which I do not give out lightly! It is rare that an author can crack me up - but I always have laugh-out-loud moments with the Parasol Protectorate.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Not what I expected

    I love this series but this book had some twists and turns that I felt forced the end of the series instead of gently guiding you there. It feels more like she needed to give the series a finite ending but didn't quite plan on how to do it until she had written half the book which was really sad because the rest of the series was amazing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    I really enjoyed this whole series. The writing was at a higher

    I really enjoyed this whole series. The writing was at a higher level than sixth grade, which I appreciate. It was witty, pithy, and generally amusing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Love this crazy world

    Good end to one unique story. It made me laugh with the crazyness. This wasnt my favorite overall, but I always want a nice happy ending. I will be dtarting iver and reading all at least one more time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Wearwolves, Vampires, Preternaturals....Oh my! (Or in other words a steampunk steamy love story)

    This book caught me up right in the beginning. It was very well written and the characters were just perfect! When I finished the first I quickly proceeded to the second book and so on, finishing the whole series in a week to my utter dismay! I absolutely fell in love with all the characters and was quite sad the series ended. Overall this book is a grrat start to a fantastic adventure into steampunk/fantasy culture

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Great ending to a fabulous series!

    This series is unlike anything I've ever read and I am sad to see it end, but Timeless wrapped up the storylines very well. Looking forward to the first book in her YA series, Etiquette & Espionage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Uvjvjgkh

    Love this authors sense of humor adventure. I dont like reviews that outline the whole story,as many seem to do. I finished the series You judge

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    Carriger's strength is in the settings she creates and the chara

    Carriger's strength is in the settings she creates and the character dialogue.  That said, these books are just average because her plot  action is mediocre at best.  She does not have enough suspense and/or action sequences to her stories.  I read all five (barely). 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Spoilers ahead for the Parasol Protectorate series. I'm going

    Spoilers ahead for the Parasol Protectorate series.

    I'm going to miss this series.

    Honestly, I could praise the plot of this story -- I had some points figured out, and some I didn't -- and I could praise the continuation of the world building and the beautiful plot continuity itself.

    But what's the point?

    The reason that I have always loved this series and the reason I will always love this series is because its characters. Alexia Tarabotti is everything I want to be as I get older - smart and sassy and demanding and kind and clever and a large fan of pastries. Lord Maccon is hot and angry and kind and loving and angry and a werewolf and immortal and gorgeous and flawed and beautiful.

    Oh, and Biffy! Dear, dear Biffy! I was not expecting you to be so important, but oh, you were! And then your plot was beautiful and unexpected and I was so very PROUD! (Which, if you note, is a silly emotion for a character that you didn't write and had no attachment to prior to this book, but still. Perhaps it was pack pride?)

    Akeldama is as hilarious and intelligent as always, and Madame Lefoux is always a tricky and interesting character to read about.

    Prudence was perfection in the form of a two-year-old. Everything she said had me giggling or wincing on behalf of those in the room with her. Who would have thunk a two year old would be such a great character!?

    But that's Carriger for you. That woman could rewrite the phone book and I would read it. Her characters are always multidimensional and interesting and I've fallen in love with all of the -- even the villains, to an extent. They're just... ugh. So good.

    And for the record? Lord Maccon and Alexia will always be my OTP (one true pairing, for those of you not familiar with fandom terms) above every other pairing. I've never met a couple I've loved so much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2012

    Awsome book and series

    Amazing story line

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    Great Read

    I didn't initially like Soulless and found it quite boring but as I pushed myself to go on, I found myself starting to enjoy it enough that I bought the second book and since I'd already invested in the series I had to continue. I came to truly enjoy the series with Timeless bringing it to a close. Timeless was a great fast speed read with a bit of excitement that made me wish there were more books to follow but sadly no. However, I wish I had more closure on all the characters I came to love. Hoping thats it's true about a book on Prudence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2012

    So very many different exclamations throughout this short book!

    So very many different exclamations throughout this short book! It felt as though the antics of each of the main characters elicited at least one semi-audible gasp from me at some point along the way. And alas, as this is the last book in the series, the characters that I've grown to love (or hate...Felicity!) will no longer be able to offer me amusement or frustration with their antics.

    I will say this - as much as I enjoyed the story, I did truly hate the ending. Not that it ended, but that it ended that way. There were far too many questions left unanswered, far too many events that need to have follow-ups, far too many loose ends! for me to feel any real closure.

    Sure, things happened. Conall made a decision, which Alexia, surprisingly, agreed to. Mysteries were solved, battles were waged, and plays were performed.

    But, but, BUT! Lyall and Biffy and Ivy and Floote and Channing and Prudence and (growl) Felicity! Genevieve and Mssr. Trouve and Lord Akeldama and, of course, Alexia and Conall!

    Far too many questions for me there. The romanticism of Conall's decision is all well and good, but seriously. What of the rest of them? So many juicy tidbits were plopped down right in front of me, and yet none of them were followed up on!

    I would give anything right now for an Afterword. Just a tiny one. Just a paragraph or four on each of the characters mentioned above. You know, to set a fan's mind at ease. To assure a girl that things worked out just swimmingly in the end. To give a person some damn closure already!

    No? Just me? Blast.

    Well, I did, overall, immensely enjoy this series. The characters well and truly stayed with me, even the ones I disliked (or hated...Felicity!)

    It's always hard for me to let go of a series, especially one that I truly loved. I would bet money, though, that at some point over the next few years, I'll pay another visit to these books. What can I say? Stories that are different, fun, intelligent, and that make me laugh and care for the players are true gold, in my eyes. And it's easier to revisit at my leisure than to let go completely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Must read for those getting bored with paranormal romance!!!

    Definitely the new paranormal romance best! Great for those of us getting tired of the same old same. Brings freshness to an old genre. Love it as much as Lestat and Louis!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2012

    If you've read the other books in the series, I think you'll eas

    If you've read the other books in the series, I think you'll easily find this one the best of them all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Anne B. for Readers Favorite "Timeless" i

    Reviewed by Anne B. for Readers Favorite

    "Timeless" is the 5th book in 'The Parasol Protectorate series' by Gail Carriger. I was not familiar with this series and had no idea what to expect. I do not usually listen to vampire books but the cover of this one caught my eye. I found the tale fascinating. There are vampires, ghosts and werewolves galore in this tale. Lady Alexia Taraotti Maccon and her daughter are summoned to Alexandria, Egypt. Matakara demands their presence. The family packs their bags and head to Egypt by steamship. There are several other high energy threads woven into the plot. The wolf pack is working on the God-Breaker Plague mystery. The ending of this book brings all the threads together and ties them up in a pretty bow.

    While this book is a paranormal mystery it is filled with romance and wit. The plot is fast-paced and kept me eagerly listening. I very much enjoyed the character of Alexia. She is amusing, independent and snarky. Her daughter Prudence is quite a handful and she sort of reminds me of mine except without the fangs. I felt as if I had been dropped into the middle of a series (which I was). These books need to be read in order to truly understand the nuances of the characters. I do intend to go back and read the first four books in this series. If I understand correctly, this is the last book in this series. I am sad to see this series ends just as I find it. Something about this book vaguely reminded me of the 'Amelia Peabody series' by Elizabeth Peters. Perhaps Amelia and Alexia have similar personalities.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    I hated to read the last page of timeless

    The whole series was awesome and brillantly written. Amazing author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Fun series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    I hope therev I hope there I wish there was more

    Love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    Love this series. Originally the covers turned me off, but now I

    Love this series. Originally the covers turned me off, but now I look for every detail. Alexia with her toddler under the care of a vampire, her husband Lord Maccon and with the Tunstells she heads to Egypt. Of course there is adventure. But her personal life is put to test. And Alexia will learn more about her child and the powers she has.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 109 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6