Customer Reviews for

Timeless: Live in Concert

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Bravo Barbra

    The only thing that topped being at the concert September 27, 2000 was hearing it again on this CD. Ms. Streisand does not so much possess a voice as she does a gift. The acting out of the history of her career was nothing short of inspired. She looked great (check out the VHS) and put on one heck of a show. Oh. And she can sing too! The album captures it all: From the Village beginnings all the way to the present. Highlights? Every note, every song is a treat not to be missed. Of particular importance is the first act closing where she sang Piece of The Sky. It left the audience breathless and the CD has the same effect. Thank you Barbra.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    It is Truly Streisand

    This Cd has Barbra all over. That equals wonderful music and a great show.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Obsessed fan for 30 years........

    I am moved everytime I hear Babs sing. I live in ON, Canada and really have no one to share my appreciation and love for this woman's music. I can't wait to get her newest CD - Timeless. Her singing is so intense, you can't go wrong with buying any of her CD's. She's a credit to any other performer who gets the privledge to sing with her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Shhhh! There's a lady on stage....

    What can I possibly say about Barbra's final live recording? In a nutshell, she is superb. Since her live performances have been so limited in her 40 year career, she tries to put on a fabulous production... and succeeds! I bought this album the night before seeing her in L.A. (and knowing what was going to be performed in advance didn't ruin the concert on little bit), and I was just dumbstruck (okay - not a big surprise) at how close to perfection this album is. Truly a gem for all Barbra fans!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Simply Elegant And Exuberant

    This is the most uplifting and spirited CD that Ms. Streisand completed. It is clear that Ms. Streisand is in a joyous place in her life. She exudes happiness and love and it shows by this CD. I'm glad she shared this CD with her fans who weren't able to attend the concert. I absolutely loved this CD.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Ageless voice, unforgettable concert

    Barbra Streisand's new album is a master class for those who wants to be a real singer with a superb career. This concert compiles her best. Each title brings you incredible sensations, an intimate moment that makes you feel there. For those, like me that never had the opportunity to see her ''Live'' this cd is a musical gift. One more time Ms Streisand is an ageless voice giving an unforgettable concert.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Barbra-licious

    Wow! I just finished listening to this two-disc live recording. Streisand has released a record of her Vegas-style show -- dialogue, New Year's countdown, and all. It features bright orchestrations of classic Streisand songs (as well as a healthy dose of never-performed-live tracks) by conductor Marvin Hamlisch. It is very interesting to hear Streisand revisit some songs that she's not sung in years (in some cases, decades). LOVER, COME BACK TO ME sounds great, and A SLEEPIN' BEE is gorgeous (with a introductory lyric not recorded by Barbra before). The Broadway section is great. ALFIE is just perfect. Act One ends with a touching medley of PAPA CAN YOU HEAR ME and YOU'LL NEVER KNOW. I've been a Streisand fan for years. With every recording I listen for ''the voice'' -- how is it holding up? Can she still hit those high notes? I'm happy to report that Barbra is in excellent voice on this recording. I believe she has chosen a few lower keys for some classic songs, but she's not 20 anymore! However, by the Second Act, her voice is warmed and in fighting condition. She just soars. All these years and Barbra sounds better than ever. Act Two features a bit more choral arrangements than my tastes prefer (on CLEAR DAY, PEOPLE, SOMEWHERE...). THE MAIN EVENT is a hoot. ''Come on, girls'' Barbra coos to her backup singers. I'VE DREAMED OF YOU is sumptuous and touching. And Barbra stuns with a long-held note on HAPPY DAYS (featuring that fabulous violin arrangement from THE GARRY MOORE show). The thing that is most amazing about the album is that Barbra actually sounds like she's having fun! This is the same performer who opened her 1994 concert tour with the lyrics: ''I don't know why I'm frightened ... I know my way around here...'' Barbra is center stage this time, having a blast, and entertaining her fans with this timeless show. Thanks, Barbra, for all the joy you've brought me over the years

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This is beauty

    This is a true wonder. It is a celebration of all that it means to be a talented individual. If the old adage that 'a woman is beautiful only when she is loved' is true, then that makes Barbra the most adored and cherished of women. Never have I heard something that fully encapsulates splendor. This album makes me feel as if I were the luckiest person in the world. I was not fortunate to attend the concerts, being only eighteen years old and living in England. But I am so thankful that Barbra and her wonderfully expressive and tender voice, are a part of my life. This album is an experience that none of us can afford to pass by. It's a celebration of everything that's delightfully Barbra.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    BREATHTAKING

    I flew to Sydney, Australia and heard Barbra sing to us in the rain. It was the best concert I will ever go to. When she is on stage you can feel her engery and passion. There is nothing quite like it. This CD is a must for anyones Barbra Collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Timeless - Live In Concert - simple the best

    The new CD TIMELESS is absolutly wandeerful. Thank you Barbra, you are the best DIVA in the world. WOW, what a great day are today. Thank Barbra Irek from Poland

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing!

    I was so excited driving to the music store to get this album and my excitement was not wasted. This album is Barbra at her best! You may have heard the songs before but this is a truly remarkable album! It will bring back memories for those of you lucky people who were there and it will make memories for those who weren't.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    New Year's Eve with Barbra

    I attended the New Year's Concert in Las Vegas and will attest to her BRILLIANT PERFORMANCE. At the end of her performing career, the concert is her vocal autobiography. One of the thrills of the concert was her selection from her obscure early music to her most recent albums. It was her most balanced performance music selected. And after 4 decades of singing, her voice is richer than ever. The years have been kind to her voice. This CD is the perfect tribute to her fans. Thank you Barbra.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    GOT THE PROMO COPY OF THIS CD TODAY 9/16/2000

    I Was able to get a copy of this cd from a local record store here in Los Angeles...You will be on the ground...wow what a CD !!! its great...I have $1275 seats for the 9/21 show at the Staples Center in Los Angeles..so I'm all excited...I got the chance to see Barbra at the MGM on 1-1-94 the last tour and it was an amazing night...her music is so uplifting. The way this live CD captured her show is amazing..I'm looking forward to the Staples concert to re-live this CD live. To think I'm going to hear ''The Main Event'' live is amazing...one of my favorite Streisand songs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Can hardly wait!...

    I am one of the lucky ones (and my partner!) who will get to see Barbra at MSG by the end of the month...I just found out on the web that Barnes & Noble will offer a special CD edition that will contain ''come rain or come shine'' from one of her Australian Concerts...Does anyone know anything about this? Please let know! I want it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Barbra is at her BEST!!!!!

    I was also there for her Timeless Concert In Las Vegas and it truely was a dream come true!!! My Husband suprised me with tickets on Christmas Eve-what a Christmas gift!!! We had great seats-could just about see the color of her eyes!!! But the voice-wow!! The highlight for me was when she sang along with the big screen behind her- singing her last song from ''Yentil'' she held that final note of the song just as she did 25 years ago!!! What a night to remember-and what a beautiful way to end a year and start a millenium with Barbra and James together on stage!!! I can not wait to hear the songs again and see the special!!! I also loved the ''Barbra Store'' at the MGM !!! I was able to purchase a lot of items to remember the ''evening of a lifetime''!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    America's ''First Voice'' concludes her live concert career with a performance that truly is ''TIMELESS''!

    Having been at Barbra's 1994 concert at Madison Sqaure Garden in New York and then again New Years Eve in Las Vegas... I can tell you that Barbra was so incredible in ''Timeless'' that it made her 1994 concert seem like a dress-rehearsal! A great stand-out was Barbra's ''The Main Event/Fight''... it was so unexpected that we (the audience) spontaneously grabbed our little fiberotic Duracell flashlights with glowing rainbow tips and stood up and started waving them, cheering and dancing along with her! Unbelieveable! Then to close Act I, Barbra does ''A Piece of Sky'' with Lauren Frost (who plays ''mini-me'' Barbra and who has an exceptional voice for a girl her age) and Barbra brings the house down!!! To close the concert Barbra again does ''Somewhere'' but this time, when you think she has finished and begins to ascend a staircase in the middle of the stage, she suddenly turns around and repeats the final three words ''Somehow, someday... Somewhere''... so loudly, so purely, so electrically that it was without doubt the single most thrilling and electric moment I have ever experienced at a live performance... that moment... that feeling... is what ''Timeless'' is all about! There were many, many highlights including a few medleys... ''Being Alive'' was great as was ''At the Same Time'' which sounded even better than her album version. ''I've Dreamed of You'' was sung to James Brolin in the audience and he joined and he joined her onstage when ''Brother Time'' tap danced his way to down the midnight hour and the beginning of the new millennium! Her version of ''Auld Lang Syne'', complete with Barbra's history of the meaning of the song, is beyond brilliant... you will hear that song every New Years Eve for the rest of your life and after hearing this version, I can guarantee you... Barbra's version will be the one that will come to mind!!! PLEASE NOTE: ''The Music That Makes Me Dance'' was only performed New Years Eve as a last minute addition and is NOT included on the CD and was not performed New Years Day Evening. BUT.... if you buy the ''Timeless'' CD at a ''Barnes & Noble'' store... YOU MUST ask for the special edition which includes a bonus CD of the song ''Come Rain Or Come Shine'' from Barbra's ''Timeless'' performace in Australia! Enjoy...! (Thanks Barbra!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Enthralling...

    Another beautiful album with a wonderfully apt title from La Streisand! Her music transcends time and space. I'm only 17 (born the year Yentl was released), and her work makes me wish I had been around to see the earlier decades first-hand. However, I am content with just listening to the music and imagining...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Best

    This is by far a wonderful CD. It tracks Barbra's history from Wholesale to Simple Pleasures. It is a real pleasure for any Streisand fan. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Will Knock Your Socks Off!

    I was there on 1/1/00 when this was recorded: it left me breathless! Had saved up my pennies like a miser and had a 7th row seat (6 rows behind Jim and Jason) for a 'memory' of a lifetime and it was worth every penny! (There must have been seven or eight 'real fans' right around me who had paid to see it both nights and they were still enthralled!) I think marriage must have really been good for Barbra as she just commanded that stage from beginning to end with a switch of tempo from number to number which left the audience ecstatic and would have left a lesser performer on their knees half way through! The monologues and seguis were just a perfect fit with her musical selections. And a surprising hit, (even to her when she ended up by saying she never thought before that she'd ever sing again!) was 'Main Event'. Brought the house down! The only upbeat number which might have been better is 'Stoney Road' which brings me out of my chair when it just turns up on the CD random selection. Now the big question is: when does HBO release the tape of the even which they made on 1/1/00? Hearing Barbra sing is always wonderful but it was truly spell-binding to watch her control that program and that stage in a way which makes her the only true diva!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Barbra Streisand ''Timeless-Live In Concert''

    Hi Barbra fans!!! I'm really looking forward to this release!!! Indeed a great concert,so I've heard!!! E-mail me...I'll write another review when I receive the CD!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1