Customer Reviews for

Timeline

Average Rating 4.5
( 921 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(497)

4 Star

(245)

3 Star

(112)

2 Star

(42)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

excellent book

The book Timeline by Michael Crichton is an extremely captivating book. The characters in the book are architects digging up a fourteenth century castle sponsored by the science lab. Little do they know the science lab has created a way to travel back in time, until o...
The book Timeline by Michael Crichton is an extremely captivating book. The characters in the book are architects digging up a fourteenth century castle sponsored by the science lab. Little do they know the science lab has created a way to travel back in time, until one of the professors goes back in time, disobeying the scientists and doesn't come back to the present time. The scientists call upon a small group of the architects to go back in time and retrieve him, but they only have thirty seven hours. What they thought would be a quick and easy trip turns into a lot more than just that once they get there. They quickly become wanted dead by everyone, which is not a very good thing during a time of war and havoc where no one can be trusted. Follow them on their many near death experiences on their quest to find their friend and escape to a secluded place to go back home before time runs out. Will they all make it back alive? I found this book extremely difficult to put down, being that the characters run into one near death experience after another, escaping being captured. The author does a wonderful job of writing form each characters point of view, which gives you a very good insight on what is happening in the book. Timeline is a must read.

posted by 1274830 on April 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

astounding book

Timeline by Michael Crichton is an breath taking book. It is set in modern time period, but takes you on the journey to 14th century. The novel focuses on four archeologist who takes this journey back to 14th century. In the novel that say that time travel is not possi...
Timeline by Michael Crichton is an breath taking book. It is set in modern time period, but takes you on the journey to 14th century. The novel focuses on four archeologist who takes this journey back to 14th century. In the novel that say that time travel is not possible because the past isn't a location. But a company named ITC has developed a technology which is a form of a space travel. ITC uses Quantum technology to manipulate an orthogonal multiverse coordinate change. This technology works like a 3D fax machine which can literally fax a 3d object even human form one place to another, form one time to another. This technology give chance to this archeologist not only to study the past but enter it. The twist in story begins when the professor breaks the rules set by ITC company and gets lost in 14th century. Now it is up to his students to save him. But a little do they new the dangers of this time period. War is everywhere, women and children and beheaded and no one even cares. Due to miscommunication between the company back home and this four archeologist in 14th century things get worse. But by the end everyone is back home safe except one. The book is excellently paced and easily understood every the hardest concept of multiverse and space travel.

posted by summer6195 on March 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 921 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 47
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    Entertaining

    Highly recommended and a very entertaining read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    Great read

    A great book if you like history

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2009

    As bad as the movie

    x

    1 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    great old fashioned adventure

    Timeline by Michael Crichton (Book Review)
    This book was published in paperback by Arrow in 2006. It is a science fiction thriller that has since been made into a movie. It is fast paced and full of danger, a gripping read. Doniger, Head of ITC plans a theme park with artefacts from the past for profit and he wants to revive it via his time machine. In 1999 his chief historian the professor has got in trouble in fourteenth century France and the young historians need to go back in time to save him. They are unaware of the dangers of the 14 th century France and they only have 37 hours to save him. They get split up but find their way home. It is an old fashioned adventure. Crichton has done alot of research for this book and it shows. He combines science of the future with historical past. Reviewed by Annette Dunlea author of Always and Forever and The Honey Trap.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2008

    Crichton - Great Writer

    Excellent book. Loved the merge between science fiction and history. Suspenseful throughout every page.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2008

    suspenseful journey

    I loved it. Great read. If you like history mixed with a like modern technology and science, you'll love it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2003

    WOW! This book is lame....!

    I started reading Michael Crichton when I picked up Jurassic Park and I literally could not bring myself to put it down. After I finished that novel, I picked up Rising Sun and loved it just as much. I went back and read all of his old fiction, and some of his non-fiction too. When Disclosure came out, I read it immediately, but it was disappointing. After that followed Airframe, which was a slight improvement, but still not as good as the rest of his work. This brings us to Timeline, which has to be one of the worst books I have ever forced myself to finish. Crichton's strong suit is his meticulous plotting, where he can make the fantastic seem feasible. Reading a Crichton book is almost like a lecture from your favorite teacher, where you learn a lot and are entertained at the same time. Unfortunately, Timeline's plot never comes together quite right. The story revolves around a company attempting to create a time-travel device, while the management of the company is trying to hide the machine's glaring defects (which includes the altering of many of it's test subjects). Crichton's prose and characters (never more than passable in the best of his works) aren't up to snuff and can't carry our interest, and the plot is boring and predictable. Avoid this book at all costs.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2000

    When It's Put Down, It's Best Left Down

    Crichton worked so hard on convincing us of the plausibility of the technical aspects, that he completed neglected character development. The characters rarely thought of felt anything and most of the plot was constructed through dialogue. It seemed that it was the script for a made-for-TV program. This book lacked engaging characters -- someone you could really care about and whether or not they made it back. By the end, who cared if any made it back. If I was advising anyone about this book, I would tell them to skim the first half and note down the characters -- then read the second half. Never did find out about Traub -- or was that in a part I skipped. It was very hard to make myself read the book for a bookclub meeting. I would put the book down and then forget all I had read when I resumed reading it. I was constantly going back to re-read parts to reacquaint myself with what was happening -- I really didn't care what was happening in the first part. I read the second half in a day -- but it wasn't worth the effort!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2000

    Any Hollywood Hack Would Do Better....

    There is no way this book could have been published were it written by a mortal. It starts on page 166, with first 160 pages wasted. Timetravel-wise, it has more holes in it than a ton of Swiss cheese. The story is poor, so is the writing. Hope the movie will be better.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2014

    Whats it about?

    Uh................................i like dinosaurs jurassic park spiderman because he can lift 10 tons sometimes 15 (200,000-250,000 lbs) and run 15 times faster than average human stick 2 walls shoot and swing from webs has a spider sense that warns him of danger oh yeah whats timeline about whats up with things going all weird i want spoilrs!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    Bjjg

    Frgghuiv

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    exceptional

    exceptional

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Movie better

    One of those times movie version is better then novel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2014

    Excellent--

    Got involved with characters rapidly-- the details for the story were consistent and very vivid. Although I don't have a scientific background it held my interest and attention. I was able to visualize myself in the plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    The book Timeline by Michael Crichton is very interesting. It is

    The book Timeline by Michael Crichton is very interesting. It is a very captivating take on the general science fiction novel. The quantum technology used in the book is explained with such detail that you would think that it is actually used in reality. He also did a great job on the characters and their storyline. They consistently get captured in tough situations and have to find their way out of it. Crichton did a great job creating a nice balance between science, drama, and mystery in this novel. Megan T.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    The book Timeline by Michael Crichton is a very thought provokin

    The book Timeline by Michael Crichton is a very thought provoking book. It depicts the technological advances that scientists in reality have not even came up with yet in excruciating detail. I also like how Crichton depicted the medieval world very accurately to history by the bows and arrows, the swords, jousting, and the attire. Although, other than the science and the history in the book I personally did not like the book very much. They repetitively get captured and then escape, which became very annoying. Some scenes in the book seemed irrelevant to me and I wondered why he included it in the novel. In all it was a good book by Michael Crichton, but I personally did not enjoy it. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2014

    AL

    Hellooooo

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    Beats

    My brain hurts

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    MC

    Arrives back at mists of avalon res 3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Bleh

    I could not stop reading at the end simply because i wanted to be done with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 921 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 47