Customer Reviews for

Timeline: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 920 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(496)

4 Star

(245)

3 Star

(112)

2 Star

(42)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

excellent book

The book Timeline by Michael Crichton is an extremely captivating book. The characters in the book are architects digging up a fourteenth century castle sponsored by the science lab. Little do they know the science lab has created a way to travel back in time, until o...
The book Timeline by Michael Crichton is an extremely captivating book. The characters in the book are architects digging up a fourteenth century castle sponsored by the science lab. Little do they know the science lab has created a way to travel back in time, until one of the professors goes back in time, disobeying the scientists and doesn't come back to the present time. The scientists call upon a small group of the architects to go back in time and retrieve him, but they only have thirty seven hours. What they thought would be a quick and easy trip turns into a lot more than just that once they get there. They quickly become wanted dead by everyone, which is not a very good thing during a time of war and havoc where no one can be trusted. Follow them on their many near death experiences on their quest to find their friend and escape to a secluded place to go back home before time runs out. Will they all make it back alive? I found this book extremely difficult to put down, being that the characters run into one near death experience after another, escaping being captured. The author does a wonderful job of writing form each characters point of view, which gives you a very good insight on what is happening in the book. Timeline is a must read.

posted by 1274830 on April 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

astounding book

Timeline by Michael Crichton is an breath taking book. It is set in modern time period, but takes you on the journey to 14th century. The novel focuses on four archeologist who takes this journey back to 14th century. In the novel that say that time travel is not possi...
Timeline by Michael Crichton is an breath taking book. It is set in modern time period, but takes you on the journey to 14th century. The novel focuses on four archeologist who takes this journey back to 14th century. In the novel that say that time travel is not possible because the past isn't a location. But a company named ITC has developed a technology which is a form of a space travel. ITC uses Quantum technology to manipulate an orthogonal multiverse coordinate change. This technology works like a 3D fax machine which can literally fax a 3d object even human form one place to another, form one time to another. This technology give chance to this archeologist not only to study the past but enter it. The twist in story begins when the professor breaks the rules set by ITC company and gets lost in 14th century. Now it is up to his students to save him. But a little do they new the dangers of this time period. War is everywhere, women and children and beheaded and no one even cares. Due to miscommunication between the company back home and this four archeologist in 14th century things get worse. But by the end everyone is back home safe except one. The book is excellently paced and easily understood every the hardest concept of multiverse and space travel.

posted by summer6195 on March 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted March 21, 2010

    astounding book

    Timeline by Michael Crichton is an breath taking book. It is set in modern time period, but takes you on the journey to 14th century. The novel focuses on four archeologist who takes this journey back to 14th century. In the novel that say that time travel is not possible because the past isn't a location. But a company named ITC has developed a technology which is a form of a space travel. ITC uses Quantum technology to manipulate an orthogonal multiverse coordinate change. This technology works like a 3D fax machine which can literally fax a 3d object even human form one place to another, form one time to another. This technology give chance to this archeologist not only to study the past but enter it. The twist in story begins when the professor breaks the rules set by ITC company and gets lost in 14th century. Now it is up to his students to save him. But a little do they new the dangers of this time period. War is everywhere, women and children and beheaded and no one even cares. Due to miscommunication between the company back home and this four archeologist in 14th century things get worse. But by the end everyone is back home safe except one. The book is excellently paced and easily understood every the hardest concept of multiverse and space travel.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    poop

    Tg

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Movie better

    One of those times movie version is better then novel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    The book Timeline by Michael Crichton is very interesting. It is

    The book Timeline by Michael Crichton is very interesting. It is a very captivating take on the general science fiction novel. The quantum technology used in the book is explained with such detail that you would think that it is actually used in reality. He also did a great job on the characters and their storyline. They consistently get captured in tough situations and have to find their way out of it. Crichton did a great job creating a nice balance between science, drama, and mystery in this novel. Megan T.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    The book Timeline by Michael Crichton is a very thought provokin

    The book Timeline by Michael Crichton is a very thought provoking book. It depicts the technological advances that scientists in reality have not even came up with yet in excruciating detail. I also like how Crichton depicted the medieval world very accurately to history by the bows and arrows, the swords, jousting, and the attire. Although, other than the science and the history in the book I personally did not like the book very much. They repetitively get captured and then escape, which became very annoying. Some scenes in the book seemed irrelevant to me and I wondered why he included it in the novel. In all it was a good book by Michael Crichton, but I personally did not enjoy it. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    Michael Crichton's Timeline is about a company called ITC that w

    Michael Crichton's Timeline is about a company called ITC that was trying to find a way to “fax” packages across the country but the packages they were testing kept disappearing. They found out that they were actually going back in time to Castlegard, France in 1357. So they funded some history researchers to do a dig there to find out why this was happening, in the meantime ITC started sending people back to gather information. The lead researcher, the professor, got suspicious as to where all this data was coming from. So he goes back in time himself and gets stuck there and the rest of his team goes to bring him back, where they end up getting caught up in a battle between France and England.
    Over all I thought this book was good. Crichton does a nice job describing the middle ages and makes the story believable by using science to back up everything he writes. You could tell that Crichton did a lot of research to make this book as historically acurate as possible, and he did a good job doing so. Though all of the Science and history are very thought out the character development was not. Throughout the book you dont really get to know the characters or the professor very well, and the way the book was written makes it hard to follow at times. For the most part i probably would recomend this book, it is very interesting and well thought out. It is a great combination of fact and fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Good story

    Michael Crichton's books are always interesting. I enjoyed reading it and would recommend it but felt like it was not a fully developed story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Ok book

    It's a fun read, but nothing more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Review

    Another attempt for Michael Crichton to cash-in on his name. A disappointing sci-fi tale from an author who has long since run out of ideas.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2010

    Too long.

    This book would have been great if it was about two hundred pages less. It's starts slow but gets interesting. The problem is there is to much writing about nothing and boring things.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2007

    Timeline

    This book was recommended to me by a friend of mine who had read it before. The characters all had interesting, distinct personalities and the use of future technology was very interesting. The dialogs between characters were somewhat choppy however and some gaps were left in the story. The ending was also a little disappointing. The story itself was good but the book could have been so much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2005

    Ehh... It's ok.

    Timeline whas not Crichton's best book. It took me a few weeks to read it, considering I couldn't get into it. Some fight scenes are good, but to me, I thought they were very boring, and not descripted enough. Also, in the beginning of the book, characters were being introduced so fast that I didn't know who was who. I do like things that do with history, but this book didn't draw me into it like his other books did. If I were you, I wouldn't get it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2005

    Close but this isn't horse shoes

    The scientific presentation within this book is spot on, but the character development lacks originality (odd for Crichton) and there are some holes in the plot itself. Basically the hardest part to take is that if the technology described within were real, using it to make a realistic theme park is downright ludicrous. Forget bettering man kind, or witnessing the dawn of early man, we are expected to believe priority one in time travel would be to design an accurate Medieval theme park. Flashes of brilliance but an overall dud.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2004

    Too much gore

    I enjoy Michael Crichton's books because of the science he includes. I also enjoy historical novels about the Medieval period. However, this is not the best of Crichton's books. Character development was quite poor--I couldn't figure out who the main characters were until halfway through the book when the grad students went back in time and wound up on their own. There was too much blood and gore and too many narrow escapes. The whole thing was written with a movie in mind from the get-go. I did enjoy how the time travel dilemmas were wrapped up at the end. This book seemed to appeal mostly to youth readers, judging from reviews. One big thing I don't like about any Crichton book is that he uses 'Jesus Christ' as a swear word all the time. I wish he'd use anything else--I can put up with crudeness, but not with demeaning people's religious beliefs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2004

    Too Predictable

    I thought the book could have been much better. It was too easy to know what was going to happen next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2004

    Really good, not quite great.

    I really enjoyed this book. I enjoyed the science fiction, the time travel, the premise. What I did not enjoy was the lack of relationship development in the story among the main characters. Their relationships were shallow and I couldn't remember who was who from the beginning of the book. It was slightly confusing until you're halfway through the book. The reader never gets to know who the professor is. And that silly passage everyone's searching for... who cares! Oh my gosh was that a boring thread. The cryptography to the map was very lackluster, not up to par cryptography such as we read Cryptonomicon or DaVinci Code. Loved the very ending and I recommend TIMELINE, but I preferred Willis' Doomsday Book & Passage better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2003

    Timeline by Michael Crichton: Classic Novel or Trashy Paperback?

    Michael Crichton, writes his novels like he writes his action-adventure horror movies. Brilliant Crichton graduated from Harvard University (summa cum laude) and Harvard Medical School. Reading his book, Timeline, is watching a medieval, knights-in-armor-style movie on a 50 ft screen with Dolby® Surround Sound 5.1 bellowing in your two ears. It is a wild, blood and guts mystery unraveling before your eyes. Unfortunately, that is all it is: another action movie. Timeline fails to arouse the intellectual and emotional stimulation like an intricate Robert Frost poem does. It seems to lack much of the merit and quality that great literature maintains. The story begins mysteriously. A delirious man is found, miles from any city, in a blazingly hot Arizona desert. His body is not hot but cool. Upon being brought to a hospital, a CAT scan shows that his blood vessels are misaligned. ¿Within 24 hours he is dead, his body Yes, this is all very gripping and suspenseful, keeping the reader reading. However, in this preface, quite a few characters are introduced, and quite annoyingly are forgotten in a few pages. As soon as the reader learns the characters¿ personality, they are gone. For example: the couple, that finds the man, has a pointless dialogue about rugs, ¿¿she sniffed, `[it] is not authentic.¿ `Of course it¿s authentic, honey. A rug is a rug.¿ ¿¿ (3). The policeman and the female ER doctor are described to have a semi-romantic relationship. ¿Are you free for dinner, or are you seeing your granny?¿ (21). Frustratingly, these characters, among others, are established and then obliterated from the plot. The reader, paying close attention to each seemingly important personality, is left disappointed. The main characters include: Andre, Chris, and Kate. Andre is the body-building, strong, and virile fighter. Chris, a wimpy academic, has a troubled background and problems with women. Kate is a confident, agile, and physically-fit woman. Towards the end of the book, after going back in time and surviving several conflicts, Chris supposedly evolves into this mature and heroic figure. Of course, Kate now sees him in a new light and they get married. It appears that the author tries very hard to show the evolution of a young man, but does not do such a great job. An amusingly moronic event occurs in the story (as well as every other action book and movie). Andre, after a fierce battle, is plugged with an arrow. Kate and Chris flee the blood-stricken scene. After, they realize that their friend is ¿dead¿. Sure enough, a little later they joyfully reunite with Andre. This is meant to be a very touching experience. However, it is a bit bothersome how Crichton struggles to pull on the reader¿s emotion. Throughout the book there are scientific explanations about time travel and such. ¿¿That single-photon interference proves¿must be in our universe¿beams of light simultaneously¿¿ (130) Some regard these details highly, saying that it gives the book credibility and shows that the author did research on the topic. Others are repulsed by the tedious mumble-jumble. Timeline is a typical action book. Swords slashing, bow and arrow shooting, castle sieges, are all scenes in Timeline. This book grips readers like glue. Naturally, it is easy to stay up late to see what happens next. Like a thrilling combat movie, it is intriguing; as a timeless novel, however, it is unappealing. People, who like action mystery books, who are Crichton fans and have read his other best-selling books such as Jurassic Park, Sphere, Congo, or The Great Train Robbery, or anybody in the mood for an excellent trashy novel, would greatly enjoy Timeline. Scholarly individuals looking for a high quality masterpiece should stick to Dickens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2003

    The movie is coming soon!!

    Just wanted to tell everyone who read the book that the movie is coming out sometime in November. I saw the preview and Paul Walker Gerard Butler, Frances O'Connor, Ethan Embry, Marla Welsh, Neal McDonough, Michael Sheen, Billy Connolly, Anna Friel, David Thewlis are in the movie. The preview wasn't to good but i want to read the book and see the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2003

    loved it, could'nt put this book down

    my favorite so far. ive read about half of his books and this was my favorite. this book had an excellent plot it was not like the other time travel boooks ive read. this book actually portrayed with what could happen in real life. anyone who didnt like this book either has bad taste or just couldnt comprehend it. i would recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2001

    Very interesting, not very exciting.

    Michael Crichton has had too much success. Too many of his books have become movies and this fact is painfully and predictably obvious in his latest book, Timeline. I can't help but compare every Crichton book I read to Jurassic Park, a novel so engrossing and amazing that you actually get excited and scared, etc., as you read the pages. I read Timeline in two sittings. I found it to be very, very interesting; very educational, but not exciting. The fate of the main characters is easily predictable once the action gets underway. Many questions are left unanswered, storylines are built up and dropped suddenly, character motivations are not clear, and some characters seem to have major incongruencies that you must ignore for the sake of the story. This book has too many narrow escapes, cliffhangers, and would-be hold-your-breath scenes to feel like a great novel. Instead it feels like a summer action blockbuster, which I predict it will soon be. This books feels very much in the vein of the film Stargate, released October of 1994. A very 'cool' movie with an interesting premise, yet having a decidedly obvious ending and showcasing a cast characters about whom we don't care. I continued reading the book only to see what would happen with the time travel concept, not to see who would survive. I don't recommend it to fans of Crichton's earlier work, success has affected his writing; although his technical prowess is first-rate as usual this novel lacks that spark of imagination and urgency that pervaded Jurassic Park and Congo among others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 112 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6