Customer Reviews for

Timeline

Average Rating 4.5
( 769 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(411)

4 Star

(215)

3 Star

(96)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

excellent book

The book Timeline by Michael Crichton is an extremely captivating book. The characters in the book are architects digging up a fourteenth century castle sponsored by the science lab. Little do they know the science lab has created a way to travel back in time, until o...
The book Timeline by Michael Crichton is an extremely captivating book. The characters in the book are architects digging up a fourteenth century castle sponsored by the science lab. Little do they know the science lab has created a way to travel back in time, until one of the professors goes back in time, disobeying the scientists and doesn't come back to the present time. The scientists call upon a small group of the architects to go back in time and retrieve him, but they only have thirty seven hours. What they thought would be a quick and easy trip turns into a lot more than just that once they get there. They quickly become wanted dead by everyone, which is not a very good thing during a time of war and havoc where no one can be trusted. Follow them on their many near death experiences on their quest to find their friend and escape to a secluded place to go back home before time runs out. Will they all make it back alive? I found this book extremely difficult to put down, being that the characters run into one near death experience after another, escaping being captured. The author does a wonderful job of writing form each characters point of view, which gives you a very good insight on what is happening in the book. Timeline is a must read.

posted by 1274830 on April 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

astounding book

Timeline by Michael Crichton is an breath taking book. It is set in modern time period, but takes you on the journey to 14th century. The novel focuses on four archeologist who takes this journey back to 14th century. In the novel that say that time travel is not possi...
Timeline by Michael Crichton is an breath taking book. It is set in modern time period, but takes you on the journey to 14th century. The novel focuses on four archeologist who takes this journey back to 14th century. In the novel that say that time travel is not possible because the past isn't a location. But a company named ITC has developed a technology which is a form of a space travel. ITC uses Quantum technology to manipulate an orthogonal multiverse coordinate change. This technology works like a 3D fax machine which can literally fax a 3d object even human form one place to another, form one time to another. This technology give chance to this archeologist not only to study the past but enter it. The twist in story begins when the professor breaks the rules set by ITC company and gets lost in 14th century. Now it is up to his students to save him. But a little do they new the dangers of this time period. War is everywhere, women and children and beheaded and no one even cares. Due to miscommunication between the company back home and this four archeologist in 14th century things get worse. But by the end everyone is back home safe except one. The book is excellently paced and easily understood every the hardest concept of multiverse and space travel.

posted by summer6195 on March 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 215 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2009

    excellent book

    The book Timeline by Michael Crichton is an extremely captivating book. The characters in the book are architects digging up a fourteenth century castle sponsored by the science lab. Little do they know the science lab has created a way to travel back in time, until one of the professors goes back in time, disobeying the scientists and doesn't come back to the present time. The scientists call upon a small group of the architects to go back in time and retrieve him, but they only have thirty seven hours. What they thought would be a quick and easy trip turns into a lot more than just that once they get there. They quickly become wanted dead by everyone, which is not a very good thing during a time of war and havoc where no one can be trusted. Follow them on their many near death experiences on their quest to find their friend and escape to a secluded place to go back home before time runs out. Will they all make it back alive? I found this book extremely difficult to put down, being that the characters run into one near death experience after another, escaping being captured. The author does a wonderful job of writing form each characters point of view, which gives you a very good insight on what is happening in the book. Timeline is a must read.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2008

    Timeline Book Review

    Timeline, written by Michael Crichton, not only sends readers on an adventure that involves multiple time periods and settings, but also makes readers feel as if they are developing an understanding for the complicated, far-fetched science that is present throughout the novel. The story is an enjoyable escape from reality during the action scenes that keep readers on the edge of their seats and also requires a great deal of scientific reasoning. This combination of exhilaration and intellect kept me hooked from their first journey through time.<BR/> The shift between the 21st century at a technology corporation¿s headquarters and 15th century France forces the reader to be attentive at all times. I found myself in a constant mental dispute over which time period was being described. Though confusing at times, I enjoyed the slight uncertainty because the answers were portrayed through a large amount of dialogue rather than simply pages of boring narration or description. The different settings also provide a way to bring different elements of literature to life. While medieval France is extremely volatile and chaotic, the headquarters of International Technology Corporation stress a seriousness of purpose and a high level of intelligence. Using both of these time periods, Michael Crichton is able to tell a story simultaneously involving suspense, thrill, and deep thought.<BR/> The constant description of quantum mechanics and its propinquity to time travel is what interested me most about this novel. Crichton uses dialogue concerning this concept in a way that makes it sound legitimate and feasible. The man responsible for this innovation and many others at ITC, Robert Doniger, is the most intriguing character in the book. Crichton portrays this character as a genius, unethical, affluent jerk. His motivational speeches to employees and rebuttals to criticism show the magnitude of his intelligence and the flare of his character. His conversations about quantum mechanics, though covered with profanity and vulgarities, will have readers believing they are more intelligent than they actually are.<BR/> I would highly recommend experiencing all that comes with reading Timeline. It is one of the very few books that I have had a tough time putting down. For those who find difficulty in reading for the sheer beauty of literature, with whom I am able to sympathize, the novel is kept interesting through the use of profanity, occasional humor, and a particularly descriptive, sexually suggestive scene. If that is not enough and nothing else is gained from reading this novel, the reader will be able impress his or her friends by touching on quantum mechanics in a conversation and acting like they know what they are talking about.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Ap World History Review

    Timeline by Michael Crichton, is an amazing book. Set in modern time, Michael links the past closely to the present. Though many novels have attempted to describe and present time travel in original way, none have done it like this. Timeline is centered on four historians working on a reconstruction of sites from the 14th century. The whole project is sponsored by ITC; the head of this corporation is Robert Doniger. Miscommunication arises between the two parties, and Professor Johnston, the main organizer of the project within the group of historians. He's there at ITC headquarters longer than expected and the historians start to worry. Continuing on the project they come across evidence of the Professor's presence there. Not long after they get a call from ITC to come over to headquarters. Curiosity overwhelms the three historians as the go to ITC. They learn that ITC has been keeping secrets from the public. That they had only thirty seven hours to save the professor and that there was a distinct possibility that they all could die.

    Through the book, the immense research and preparation that Crichton put into creating this novel is evident. He portrays the book through many characters point of views. This not only makes the characters more realistic, but it also gives more insight into the plot and how it relates to other events. Time after time the novel leaves readers breathless, hoping for the good to succeed, and secretly knowing that success is slim. They wish differently, but know that historical events won't change and that evil might prevail. Yet they can't help but hope differently, because of being able to connect to the characters. From beginning to end the book is an outstanding read and worth the time of the reader.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2009

    Like watching a movie

    This is a quick read. It was exciting and like watching movie.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2009

    Timeline

    This was an extremely fascinating read. Perfect for anyone who's interested in European history. Crichton makes everything seem so realistic, combining the present with the past. From the time machines to the Black Plague, Timeline is sure to have the reader turning the pages faster and faster after they really get into it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2009

    Timeline- an Adventure

    Timeline is a book about a few scientists who get trapped back in the Middle Ages. The main characters are Marek, Chris, Kate, and the Professor. I liked the characters because they all had their own mood and role in the story. The author created an interesting and action filled story line that was able to make the characters real and believable in the plot. This book had the perfect amount of historic details and action elements. I especially liked it when the author went back from the Middle Ages to present time so I could understand what everyone else was doing to help the main characters get back to their homes. I also liked how the author adds suspense and mystery by placing an evil character from present time in the Middle Ages to try to stop the main characters from returning home. Michael Crichton did a great job in creating this exciting story and I would rate this book a nine out of ten.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2008

    Top notch suspense

    I had trouble putting the book down. When I did, I couldn't wait to pick it up again.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    great old fashioned adventure

    Timeline by Michael Crichton (Book Review)
    This book was published in paperback by Arrow in 2006. It is a science fiction thriller that has since been made into a movie. It is fast paced and full of danger, a gripping read. Doniger, Head of ITC plans a theme park with artefacts from the past for profit and he wants to revive it via his time machine. In 1999 his chief historian the professor has got in trouble in fourteenth century France and the young historians need to go back in time to save him. They are unaware of the dangers of the 14 th century France and they only have 37 hours to save him. They get split up but find their way home. It is an old fashioned adventure. Crichton has done alot of research for this book and it shows. He combines science of the future with historical past. Reviewed by Annette Dunlea author of Always and Forever and The Honey Trap.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2008

    suspenseful journey

    I loved it. Great read. If you like history mixed with a like modern technology and science, you'll love it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2014

    Timeline by Michael Crichton is a very well written book that sh

    Timeline by Michael Crichton is a very well written book that should be read by all history buffs- especially if you are interested in 14th century France. The book captivates you from the very beginning where you meet the character who essentially makes the whole book happen- and he doesn't even last more than 20 pages (that's an estimate). Crichton makes sure he has all his facts straight, and even though this is a sci-fi book you could easily describe it as an educational book where the history is concerned. The amount of time Crichton spent researching for this book is appreciated as it makes the book more captivating. The pages seem to turn themselves as you watch the dangerous events unfold in your mind. Prior knowledge about the time period and location this book is about would be tremendously helpful to anyone who picks this up. Also, the alternating POVs make the book much more interesting as you know what almost all the characters are thinking at almost all times. Calling all history buffs, this is your book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2014

    Havent read what happens

    Btw peeps read jurassic park and sphere they r the vawesomest books ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2013

    The book Timeline by Michael Crichton is a unusual yet exciting

    The book Timeline by Michael Crichton is a unusual yet exciting experience. This book links the past
    and the present in an action adventure that will make you wish to never put the book down. If you are a
     fan of archaeology and time travel then i recommend this book because Crichton takes you on a journey from
    the 21st century to 14th century France. Most of the setting in the book is based around a town called Castelgard.
     One of the main characters Professor Johnston had teamed up with a corporation called ITC which dealt with
     time travel. ITC sent Professor Johnston back to the time that Castelgard first existed.
    They were not able to retrieve him. The majority of the book is about his son and the Professors colleagues
     trying to locate him and bring him back. They had many challenges and had to rely on their archaeological
    knowledge of the time period and the town itself to help them through. They risked their lives because it was a
    time of war. Lord Oliver held them captive until they could produce &quot;Greek Fire&quot; to help him win the battle. Some
    of their team died trying to rescue professor Johnston. In the end most of the team made it back to our time just
    before the time portal closed forever. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    Great entertainment and fast paced.

    If you like sock em and chop em action action you will love this book. Pure entertainment with video game like action with one level after another being completed and a predictable ending, BUT great fun.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    Very good

    Well researched and fun. Wish the characters had been a little more fleshed out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    My favorite book as a child and the one to introduce me to Crich

    My favorite book as a child and the one to introduce me to Crichton and his other amazing works. I will be forever indebted to the guidance consular who thought it was a perfect gift for an overactive nine year old.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Loved it

    Saw the movie loved the book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very good idea

    I really loved the idea of this book and it started off very well. Don't see the movie, the book is way better. I don't want to give away the ending but I really thought he did an excellent job and of course he is an excellent writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2011

    AP World History Review: Good Book!

    Timeline is a great book that not only is a good history novel, but it combines history with intriguing science-fiction. Though I must say I wish there was a little less of the science included because the historical parts of the novel are quite captivating. The book takes place in the middle of the Hundred Years War. Well, half of it does. I love how the author first creates the setting of France and England by illustrating a research site of their medieval ruins. Then some of the characters travel back to that very place in time. The fact that they travel back to such a dangerous time with so many threats, including the war, makes the novel suspenseful and exciting. Michael Crichton did a spectacular job at creating an intriguing, historic book. As I found on another web page, Crichton said his goal was to write a time-travel story because he thought it would be a good way to write about history. Then, he determined the rest of the setting and plot of Timeline from there. Though I like history, it surely is not my best forte, so I am not a likely candidate to go read a historic novel in my free time. I must admit that I am happy I read Timeline. It is truly interesting and entertaining. Crichton surely succeeded at writing a good time-travel story. His several conflicts and twists on the plot increase the suspense throughout the book. The suspense makes the book that much more hooking and exciting. Overall, kudos to Crichton for making a book historically accurate and a great, exciting read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2011

    Engaging and entertaining

    This is the first book by Michael Crichton that I have read. What a great way to start. Timeline had everything I love...romance, murder, knights and kings, and a great storyline to boot. The only reason I gave it a 4 out of 5 stars is that it is a bit gory at times. Still, though I don't read much sci-fi, I know I will read Michael Crichton again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    If you love time travel.......................

    I love time travel.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 215 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11