Customer Reviews for

Timeline

Average Rating 4.5
( 767 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(411)

4 Star

(213)

3 Star

(96)

2 Star

(29)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

excellent book

The book Timeline by Michael Crichton is an extremely captivating book. The characters in the book are architects digging up a fourteenth century castle sponsored by the science lab. Little do they know the science lab has created a way to travel back in time, until o...
The book Timeline by Michael Crichton is an extremely captivating book. The characters in the book are architects digging up a fourteenth century castle sponsored by the science lab. Little do they know the science lab has created a way to travel back in time, until one of the professors goes back in time, disobeying the scientists and doesn't come back to the present time. The scientists call upon a small group of the architects to go back in time and retrieve him, but they only have thirty seven hours. What they thought would be a quick and easy trip turns into a lot more than just that once they get there. They quickly become wanted dead by everyone, which is not a very good thing during a time of war and havoc where no one can be trusted. Follow them on their many near death experiences on their quest to find their friend and escape to a secluded place to go back home before time runs out. Will they all make it back alive? I found this book extremely difficult to put down, being that the characters run into one near death experience after another, escaping being captured. The author does a wonderful job of writing form each characters point of view, which gives you a very good insight on what is happening in the book. Timeline is a must read.

posted by 1274830 on April 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

astounding book

Timeline by Michael Crichton is an breath taking book. It is set in modern time period, but takes you on the journey to 14th century. The novel focuses on four archeologist who takes this journey back to 14th century. In the novel that say that time travel is not possi...
Timeline by Michael Crichton is an breath taking book. It is set in modern time period, but takes you on the journey to 14th century. The novel focuses on four archeologist who takes this journey back to 14th century. In the novel that say that time travel is not possible because the past isn't a location. But a company named ITC has developed a technology which is a form of a space travel. ITC uses Quantum technology to manipulate an orthogonal multiverse coordinate change. This technology works like a 3D fax machine which can literally fax a 3d object even human form one place to another, form one time to another. This technology give chance to this archeologist not only to study the past but enter it. The twist in story begins when the professor breaks the rules set by ITC company and gets lost in 14th century. Now it is up to his students to save him. But a little do they new the dangers of this time period. War is everywhere, women and children and beheaded and no one even cares. Due to miscommunication between the company back home and this four archeologist in 14th century things get worse. But by the end everyone is back home safe except one. The book is excellently paced and easily understood every the hardest concept of multiverse and space travel.

posted by summer6195 on March 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 411 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 21
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    One of the greatest novels i' One of the greatest novels i have ever read yet

    I absolutely loved his style of writing and he made this book seem real. A shame that he has passed on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    One of the best books I have ever read

    I sometimes have a hard time getting into books. I will start to read them, get bored and stop. This is not one of them. I read this quite a few years ago and have never forgotten about it. It is one that I will read more than once, which is why I am buying it! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    Love it

    Favirite, read in highschool first chapter is sllow but amaxing afterwards

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Addictive

    Egde of your seat. Easy back and forth flow between the present and the present past. Not a dull moment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    Excellent blend of future tech, old world history, and characters

    Another great read from Michael Crichton. I'm techie and this is another fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    My Favorite Book Ever!

    Read. You'll love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Unexpected suprise

    Having read many novels by this author, I was suprised I had not heard of this one. I am glad I read it. Great storyline and character development. You feel as if you are there to!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    Very suspenseful.

    I liked the part where the couple was trying to find the rug place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Loved it

    Very interesting story-history lesson very enjoyable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Cant put it down

    Absolutely wonderful read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Loved the book

    Loved the book and the movie

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    READ THIS BOOK

    THIS BOOK IS AMAZING YOU WONT WANT TO PUT IT DOWN

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    One of my favorites

    This is one of my favorite books I have ever read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Fastpaced, exciting, hard to put down

    My new favorite book.numerous twists and turns. Unexpected turns all the way to the end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Highly recommended

    One of my favorite books.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Captivating

    Great book, could not put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    AP World History Review

    Time Line by Michael Chrichton explores the ideas of time travel mixed with the middle ages. Unlike many novels, Chrichton actually shows an accurate historical representation of the time period. I would reccomend this book, because it is actually entertaining to read and does not destroy and ignore historical facts along with its pursuit of theatrics and drama. He displays any drama that occurs with historical context in mind. The middle ages were more barbaric than chivalrous and Chrichton represents it as so. Michael Chrichton does an excellent job representing historical facts. Michael Chrichton also does an excellent job of combining sciences and explaining them in a way that makes sense. He does this without confusing the reader and making it seem over complicated in a way the reader can actually understand. Time travel was an excellent topic for Chrichton to right about and the way it is displayed is new and refreshing. The author does an excellent job representing the sceinces along with historical content.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good Amusement Ride

    MMPB/Science Fiction: Like Jurassic Park, this book is about a multimillionaire that has too much money so he discovers a way to move people back in time. This is a really fun book and a real page turner. The characters are very likable. Unlike the last book I read that the characters could find each other too easily, in this one, every step was a chore for them. There are no dinosaurs, just soldiers and the soldiers are everywhere. The book is very violent and the first murder did surprise me. After that, you had a feeling that any of the main characters could get axed at any moment. There are two things that were brought up in the book that really bugged me because they were not answered: the red fingers and the balloons? At first I did not like the ending, but after I read the epilogue, it was very satisfying. I bought the DVD and we will see how much it ruins a really good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2011

    Creative and informative

    Concept wise, it is very different, although as Crichton himself says, the science premise is fantasy--today anyway. I'd almost call this historical fiction given the detail about the period, language and customs as well as the author's informed speculations. The only downside was the long series of narrow escapes from danger. All said, if you read this, you may come away having learned something--a rather surprising takeaway from a novel meant to entertain--which in my estimation is a one of the defining characteristics of literature. But make no mistake, it moves fast and will keep you turning the pages. Michael, if you are around in one of the alternate universes now, please send another one up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    Timeline: Boook of the modern era.

    Only one book can still top Timeline, and that is Jurrasic park. This novel takes the reader to the world of technology and makes a story out of it. Every time I read one of this mans books, I say to myself "wow, this could acually happen. This was one of hese books. Reading other books made by Chricton at the moment and I give a thumbs up to each and every on of them. These are goig to be some of my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 411 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 21