Customer Reviews for

Timeline: Eine Reise in die Mitte der Zeit (Timeline)

Average Rating 5
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 158 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2000

    When It's Put Down, It's Best Left Down

    Crichton worked so hard on convincing us of the plausibility of the technical aspects, that he completed neglected character development. The characters rarely thought of felt anything and most of the plot was constructed through dialogue. It seemed that it was the script for a made-for-TV program. This book lacked engaging characters -- someone you could really care about and whether or not they made it back. By the end, who cared if any made it back. If I was advising anyone about this book, I would tell them to skim the first half and note down the characters -- then read the second half. Never did find out about Traub -- or was that in a part I skipped. It was very hard to make myself read the book for a bookclub meeting. I would put the book down and then forget all I had read when I resumed reading it. I was constantly going back to re-read parts to reacquaint myself with what was happening -- I really didn't care what was happening in the first part. I read the second half in a day -- but it wasn't worth the effort!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2000

    Any Hollywood Hack Would Do Better....

    There is no way this book could have been published were it written by a mortal. It starts on page 166, with first 160 pages wasted. Timetravel-wise, it has more holes in it than a ton of Swiss cheese. The story is poor, so is the writing. Hope the movie will be better.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    This was an amazing story, so much better than the movie that it

    This was an amazing story, so much better than the movie that it was ridiculous! If you have seen the movie you have got to read the book book, if you have not seen the movie, stop, don't  do it read the book instead you won't regret it I promise you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Timeline

    This book makes my top 5. I am a very large fan of SciFi and this book was one of the best. Ever. When my English teacher recommended it, I thought it sounded very...weird. But the first page engulfed me and I read it in just 2 days (I was studying for midterms).<BR/>It saddens me greatly now that Michael Chichton died because I was looking forward to any and all of his novels of the future. I read Jarassic Park a while back, and I fell in love with his work.<BR/>I recommend this to anyone that loves suspensful science fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2007

    Great work!!

    It usually takes me about a month to read an average book due to the nature of my work. TIMELINE only took me five days to do. A great story with lots of action and supense. Definately a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2006

    Great plotline!

    the beginning of this story was very slow, but once you got past the first few chapters, this book is great. Although at times a bit confusing, if you have a creative imagination, this book is very entertaining!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2006

    amazing

    I am only 15 and I loved it! It was so interesting, and I really dont like science.. but i understood it all. He explained everything with great detail. I really couldn't put it down. The ending was perfect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2005

    Crichton's Best

    Michael Crichton has certainly headed a step further than what he normally did in his earlier books. Rather than simultaneously introducing prehistoric species in the modern day, he transports modern day beings to medeieval times--something even more dangerous by logic. The fast paced action sequence of this novel is simply awesome and to be appreciated by all. For those who have no interest and think they'll have no interest in history--think again. Crichton's just redefined it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2004

    Firm Grip

    While reading this book I found it hard to put down, but at times necessary. This is how I guage my reading experiences. While 'Timeline' was a terriic read I wasn't lost in his 'world'. There tended to be some drawn out areas which in turn took me out of the reading mode. Today, being a 17 year old, it is hard to find the time to become entangled in a good book, but 'Timeline' did manage to keep me reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2004

    Back to the Future and Back Again

    Michael Chrichton's Timeline is your classic time travel story with lots of adventure and suspense. A group of researchers are excavating a historical site and their friend is sent back in time. As you could guess, when the group of people go to find their missing friend, they lose their ability to get back to reality and are forced to live out the world in Medieval France.This is a very good book that has many twists and turns following the people stuck back in time trying to survive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2004

    Too Predictable

    I thought the book could have been much better. It was too easy to know what was going to happen next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2004

    WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This is a must to Read book!!!!!!!!! I had to read it for a book report at my school, i liked it so much i finnished it in a week!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2003

    One of the BEST

    I'm a big Michael Crichton fan, but this is by far one of his best books ever! Very chilling!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2003

    Addictive.... worse than crack

    Wow... I could not put this book down until it was finished. When I did finish it, I could not forget about what I have just read... wanting more. That is how you know you have just read a great story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2001

    This book was great

    I thought the book was an exciting read. It had action and humor and I also thought the science part was interesting and I don't even like science. To me, it was a page turner. I recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2001

    The Best Book that I've Seen in A Long Time

    Timeline is one of those books that you tend to neglect life so that you can finish the book. There is an amazing way of the sense of urgancy that is put into the plot. I would definately recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2001

    Speaking of Masterpieces....

    I LOVED THIS BOOK!! This was a fablous book blending ultra-modern technology with 14th century france. I was totally inspired by this book and now I'm in search of all books related to the Black Death and Castlegard! Just read it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2001

    Michael Crichton Does It Again With Timeline!

    Timeline tells the tale of four archeologists/scientists that make a trip back in time to fourteenth century France. Michael Crichton does it again with this amazing novel that tests the reality of time travel. His incredible detail will have readers believing in a technology that is non-existent today. The four archeologist friends in Timeline go back in time to try to save their Professor who is stuck back in fourteenth century France. Their short stay in the medieval times proves to be quite adventurous, and Crichton loads the story with action packed adventure. I loved this book because it always had me turning pages, and I could never put it down! Crichton just does a magnificent job setting up the story describing a technology that is so far-fetched yet becomes so realistic and believable through his words. I truly felt like I was one of the archeologists in fourteenth century France when reading this book. Crichton is very accurate in his detail according to the time period the story takes place in. The suspense in the book is also wrenching. The story always seems to incorporate some kind of twist or turn when the action has subsided and the way the book comes to an end is wonderful. I thought Timeline was a very good piece of fiction and would recommend it to ANY science-fiction buff. If you love science-fiction, you have to love Michael Crichton. And if you loved Crichton's earlier works such as Jurassic Park and/or The Andromeda Strain, this book will have you on the edge of your seat for almost four hundred pages!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2001

    This book will stand the test of Time !

    Once again, Michael Chrition has written a superb book. If you like history combined with fiction as well as adventure, you will enjoy this book. Imagine being able to travel in time, back to 14th Century France, where its not a peaceful time, to bring back a fellow collegue, who may or may not be alive. The group chosen to go, overcomes many obstacles to complete their mission, including love, death, and choosing to stay behind. The ending is a big suprise, not to mention deserving!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2001

    Superb Book!!!

    I am a 16 year-old high school student that read this book four times! I cant get enough. The science involved in it is absolutly intreaging and the historical fact are amazing, and true! Definetly worth five stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 158 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8