Customer Reviews for

Times Have Changed And Life Is Strange

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

A GREAT READ!

This is a great collection of poems!! There is something in here for everyone to enjoy. The author touches on many topics, most are very deep and real. I felt myself relating to many poems, but what I really enjoyed was when I read one that I didn't relate to as much, I...
This is a great collection of poems!! There is something in here for everyone to enjoy. The author touches on many topics, most are very deep and real. I felt myself relating to many poems, but what I really enjoyed was when I read one that I didn't relate to as much, I felt like I was the person who had experienced it and felt exactly what the author was trying to express. I would recommend this book to anyone, even if you aren't in to poetry you have to pick this up! You won't be disappointed!!!

posted by WorkOutChik on February 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Beauty is Truth and Truth is Beauty

In reading Benjamin's book, I kept remembering this line of John Keat's: Beauty is truth, truth is beauty." In simple words, Ben wrote the most complicated and beautiful thoughts and unveiled a true self in a true world. The journey of reading the book is a journey to s...
In reading Benjamin's book, I kept remembering this line of John Keat's: Beauty is truth, truth is beauty." In simple words, Ben wrote the most complicated and beautiful thoughts and unveiled a true self in a true world. The journey of reading the book is a journey to share all the happiness and sorrow with Ben. I found myself happy for his happiness, sad for his sorrow, and heart broken for his outcry for social justice, fairness, and a better life without poverty, discrimination, and stereotyping. I think everyone will benefit from reading the book whatever one is looking for because it is so close to one's life.

posted by 1388109 on May 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted April 12, 2009

    Best Poetry Book Ever!

    This is one of the most insightful books of poetry that I have ever read because it is filled with ideas, situations and concepts that real people experience. The style of writing is a sort of modern eloquence that speaks to all readers and is easily understandable but still filled with depth that keeps you thinking. You not only relate to the poetry but you feel every emotion that the author conveys and I think that is what is truly remarkable about this book.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Exceptional!

    This is a wonderful book; the author obviously incorporates life experiences as well as everyday social issues. The wonderful thing about this book is that anyone can relate there is a poem for everyone to identify with. It is uplifting, and inspires hope and change.
    Definitely recommend!
    Joanna
    From Rockland

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2009

    Amazing Book

    Times Have Changed and Life is Strange is an excellent collection of poetry and gives the reader a first hand look at the realities of life, both good and bad. From love and sorrow to happiness and dreaming, Ben Burgess truely captures what the every day person experiences day in and day out. This is an excellent read with no sugar-coating and should not go unread.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A GREAT READ!

    This is a great collection of poems!! There is something in here for everyone to enjoy. The author touches on many topics, most are very deep and real. I felt myself relating to many poems, but what I really enjoyed was when I read one that I didn't relate to as much, I felt like I was the person who had experienced it and felt exactly what the author was trying to express. I would recommend this book to anyone, even if you aren't in to poetry you have to pick this up! You won't be disappointed!!!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2008

    COVER TO COVER - WOW

    This collection of urban poetry is, cover to cover, an entertaining, passionate and inspirational telling of the deepest thoughts of a human. Regardless of color, creed, race or religion, anyone can walk away feeling the relief that expression brings. Seeing the authors face and watching him tell these tales could be the only thing I'd want to improve.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Inspirational....

    I really enjoyed reading this book, the stories were moving and inspirational, I felt the authors pain and sorrow. I recommended this book to friends and purchased a few copies and gave as gifts @ Christmas.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2009

    Great Book!!

    This book is amazing! I feel like everyone can relate to atleast one of the pieces. I read this bookcover to cover and loved every page of!! I can't wait for the second book.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Times Have Changed And Life Is Strange

    Times Have Changed and Life is Strange by Ben Burgess Jr. is one of the most, if not the most inspirational books of poetry that I have ever read. The way the author writes, one can feel the honesty and feelings of the words. All of the poems are designed to teach and relate feelings to all of its readers. This is an inspirational book and there is a poem designed for all to read and relate to; the design of this masterpiece is a gift for all its readers.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2009

    A remarkable collection of works

    I must admit that I haven't read the entire book but I have gravitated toward particular enties in this unique text. You see, Ben was my personal trainer at my gym and I probably would not have known of this book had he not peddled it to me. That is a sad irony. Because Ben has a lot to say and a unique way of saying what often needs to be said. Now it's easy for anyone to write a review that praises some one they know. I am here to tell you that yes I know Ben personally, and yes he asked me to write this review. But I am not about to just give blanket praise based on a personal relationship.

    The reality is that this book is a collection of thoughts that many of us may have experienced. They are not always written in a manner that appeals to us. In fact, there were times that I questioned the use of prose. But the internal message of those portions that I did read had the effect of touching me in ways I never expected. It is an unvarnished piece of work, one that may violate proper prose from time to time. But it is replete with meaning and emotion and one cannot ignore that. I was particularly touched by a piece in this work that spoke of his father working hard to instill the best of his own self in his son at the expense of the relationship with his son. This unit, while in-perfect in prose, was deeply meaningful of touched me at a level that I would not expect. In fact, I would argue that it's inperfection in prose was its own genious.

    Ben Burgess is a New York City Cop who works with kids, while at the same time being a personal trainer who pushes his clients to an extreme of perfection, and in addition entertaines dreams of owning his own business in personal fitness. His journey may or may not be a successful one. But his attempts and his motiviations are clearly defined in this text of a man who has experienced or at least witnessed the human condition. Whether or not he succeeds in his future endeavors, he should be praised for his efforts in this text. He has succeeded in connecting with the soul of the struggling individual. And in that he comes out optimistic that this struggling individual can achieve more that he was ever expected to. My life is richer for knowing Ben, but it is even richer for knowing this work of his which exposed the soul in it's truely unvarnished nature; That is the soul of all of us; people who are often frightened of the unknown, frightend of our pasts and frightened of our futures, but yet find a means to push forward and make yet another day. Ben has found a way to break this struggle down to individual elements so we can all understand ourselves and eachother a little bit more than we did before.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommended read

    This was an excellent book. I bought copies and gave them out to my children's teachers as gifts and they absolutely loved it. They said it was so creative and different from any other reading material they have come across. i agree. Don't miss out.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A rare find...

    This book is a rare type of book. It genuinely touches all walks of life and will hit everyone's heart in more than one way. Even if you haven't been through the experience, the words will walk you through it and put you emotionally in those situations. I was impressed with the real thoughts put in this book, in a way, that most think of them but fear admitting them. I always find it better to read the real thoughts and feelings as opposed to always being in dream world. This book is great and I would recommend others reading it, to get a touch on reality and to realize that there is alot more to life than just what you experience.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2009

    Gripped me like a vice.Unable to put it down.Read it in one sitting.

    I was moved by the imagery and the emotions I felt when reading.I was unable to put it down. A letter to my unborn child,Holocaust, and Through the eyes of the Homeless are examples of the authors ability to connect you to people unknown yet very real.Raw in its expression and connection to social topics it makes you think of the challenges affecting our youth and our nation.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Something for everyone

    I think this book has something everyone can enjoy. The poems are skillfully written and I enjoyed how the reader can see through the eyes of the character in the poems.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Compassionate and Real!!!

    This book is very deep and real! It has something for everyone, its a great book.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Stories

    The poems in this book were deep and uplifting. Definetly one of my favorite books.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Must Read

    This book is a must read. Benjamin has taken those feelings so many of us store away and never want to bring into the light - and brought them out where everyone can find comfort. Benjamin speaks from the heart. This is a must read for all - I highly recommend this book.
    Dr. Marsha Carr-Lambert

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2009

    the words came alive

    The depth of each page brought you to where the author was in his life. I could feel his heart and soul as I read the words on the page. I felt the sadness of his broken heart. The creative use of language was well developed. I would definitely share this book with young men daring to put their words on paper.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fab Read

    I felt compelled to share this with you and fellow readers. Your book is very heartfelt I read each page and felt myself reconnecting with emotions and feeling I have not felt for a very long time. It is amazing to see that someone can have such a creative touch with words. Thank You for this I really feel like I am able to heighten my feelings and express so many things on a different level.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    AWESOME READ!!

    Ben, when I read your book, I could definitely relate. You appealed not just to a male audiance, but to females as well. I felt the sadness and joy in your poems. I could picture the words in my mind as I was reading. I read this book without stopping. My daughter, 17, loved it also. Truth in every poem. This book was written from the heart. GREAT JOB!!! Carolyn from San Antonio, TX.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    This book makes you think!

    This book makes you think. It is easy relatable and touches everyone in a different way. I find myself in the writers shoes many times and it is nice to have an outsiders perspective about different situations. It is an easy read, clear and every word is impactful. I can say that this book holds a special place in my heart and I am looking foward to future works of this author.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3