Customer Reviews for

Timescape (Dreamhouse Kings Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted July 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Packed with Suspense!

    "Timescape," by Robert Liparulo is the fourth installment in the captivating "Dreamhouse Kings" series. Because this book is packed with suspense, it is impossible to put down! With a cliff-hanger ending, "Timescape" leaves the reader constantly thinking about what will happen in the next book and excitedly awaiting it's release!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2013

    Hannah Mynes Timescape by Robert Liparulo Every book is filled

    Hannah Mynes

    Timescape by Robert Liparulo
    Every book is filled with suspense!
    Number of stars (1 to 5): 5

    If you have read the first three books of the Dreamhouse Kings series, then you’ll love this one! House of Dark Shadows, Watcher in the Woods and Gatekeepers have led you up to this book, Timescape. The first three books you up to read this one because the suspense in them is just amazing! You will be turning pages all day.

    Things are getting harder on Xander, David and Toria. Their mother is still missing because she was pulled through a portal by strong forces into a lost time. Stranger things are waiting for them in the hidden top floor of their house. The Kings kids have tried almost everything to get their mom back, but so far, that has failed. They have fought against gladiators and the German army, ran from both sides of the Civil War, and fought people in their own home.

    Their only hope is to make Taksidian (the evil stranger that wants to take the old house away from the Kings) go away and stay away. He wants to use the house and the portals for his own evil use to destroy the rest of the world.

    When they travel into a portal that they haven’t explored all the way, leads them into the future. And what the Kings see is strange, mutated creatures attack them. The world is going to end up like that if they don’t stop Taksidian.

    The future of the world is in the Kings’ hands.
    This book is packed with a lot of suspense that will leave you wanting more. If you have read the first three books, then you’ll definitely want to read this one!

    The King family continues in their quest to learn why their house is so strange - filled with portals to different times and places. Times and places that are often dangerous, but also the only way they have to find where their mother may have disappeared.

    Overall, the Dreamhouse Kings series are the best books that you’ll probably read!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    You Will Burn the Midnight Oil to Finish this Book!

    "Timescape," by Robert Liparulo is the fourth installment in the acclaimed "Dream House Kings" series. Like its companions, this book will leave you begging for more, and on the edge of your seat. I read this book in one day because it was so good! You will surely burn the midnight oil to finish this suspenseful novel!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This is Why I Love to Read!!

    Things just became a little more complicated for Xander and David King. Not only is their mother still missing, but a sobering look into the future reveals that much more is at stake. As Xander and David search for answers within the time portals they find an unexpected ally who sheds more light on the house and the greater mission they have been called to. With a renewed sense of purpose the King family decides to turn the tables and go after Taksidian to put a stop to the evil plans he has put into motion.

    As this series unfolds I continually find myself in awe of Robert Liparulo's ability to not just write amazing stories, but also his ability to get better with each offering. Timescape is easily the best novel of the Dreamhouse Kings series, showcasing the most intense action sequences and the most gut wrenching suspense we've seen. Two of the time portal scenes were actually crafted from ideas students entered into the Dream the Scene contest on Liparulo's website. In masterful fashion, Liparulo pulls out all the stops making these scenes the most memorable of the series so far.

    In a young adult market saturated by commercialism, mediocrity, and unoriginality it's refreshing to find a series like this that is not only fun to read but also challenging and engaging. These are the kind of books families can love and share together, and no matter your age you will find yourself easily immersed into this marvelous world of adventure that Liparulo has crafted. Once again Robert Liparulo reminds me of the beauty of story and why I love to read.

    www.fictionaddict.com

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Brilliant

    Started reading this on new-years eve and can't put it down! Already half-way through. My mom keeps telling me that I need to come out of the book but it's hard to put the bookdown. It's an amazing series and I highly recomend it to anyone looking for a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Ridiculous

    It is ridiculous that this book is $12 come on barnes an dnible really??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Fantastic!

    Just finished reading this. It was really well-written. The plot maybe would be a bit too complex for young readers though, so I would say this would be for ages 10+. Remarkable story though. It is something that takes a lot of imagination and curiosity to write. Well done. You outdid yourself, Robert Liparulo!
    -Angela, 12 yr old

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The King family continues in their quest to learn why their hous

    The King family continues in their quest to learn why their house is so strange - filled with portals to different times and places. Times and places that are often dangerous, but also the only way they have to find where their mother may have disappeared. Best read immediately after book 3 - I would recommend reading the entire series in order, back to back. One book moves seamlessly into the next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    Excelent book

    This is an amazing, fast paced series. Ive enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    It gets better with each book

    I find myself getting anxious as I turn each page. What's going to happen next. I only have two more books to go in this series. It is well worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    Cool

    But the cost is skyhigh 10 dollors wow, but great read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 18, 2011

    Excellent

    Im loving this series, i only wish there was more for my money. Each book is only 200 pages and $10!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2011

    beast

    awsome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Timescape

    When you firsdt open the book it says STOP Read the first two in the series. Please do it. It would be very difficult to catch on to what is happening. This book does not have a recap of the first two books. I read them first, and this one just picked up where I left off. Very good series. I enjoy it greatly. By the end of this book I was still on the edge of the seat hoping that the King family would come back with their mom. Then like the last book I was a bit annoyed that I would have to wait to read the next book. Its like a televisions end of season premier and you wanna know what happened to the main character and they cut it off right at the climax- Annoying. A really fascinating story of a weird house, stange places, and a families fight to stick together and get their family back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One big exciting, action-packed adventure divided into six parts

    Review by Jill Williamson

    The King family discover one portal that leads to the future, and it isn't pretty. Their only hope is to stop whatever it is that Taksidian is planning to do to create such a horrifying future. But how can they go up against someone they know so little about? They decide to switch things up, spy on Taksidian for a while. Do they really know what they're getting themselves in to?

    Ack!!! Each of Robert Liparulo's books end on cliffhangers and I think this was the biggest one yet. And now I must wait until January for book five in this six book series. Sigh. The Dream House Kings series is like one big novel split up into six installments. It's an exciting, action-packed adventure that follows the King family as they move into a house that's alive and try to discover their purpose for being there. Very highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Timescape!

    I loved this book. David and Xander go through many new trials and discover even more creepy things about their house. The only problem was that I read through it too fast and now I have to wait for the next book. Grrr. Read this series if you haven't already. It's worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    Awesome book

    This is book is great. Everyone should read the entire series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent addition to this series!

    Would someone please option this series for the movies! Seriously! I can not read these books without picturing the whole movie in my head. Love this series!

    This is the perfect example of a series where you CAN NOT read them out of order - absolutely not! But book #4 "Timescape" is fantastic and it is the first book that uses settings suggested by readers. So we get to follow David through a portal onto the Titanic... as it is sinking! I love where this series is going and I plan on being along for the ride the whole way.

    David and Xander are still trying to find Mom somewhere in the portals, stave off the bad guy from taking their house and keep from getting killed. Uncle Jesse is in danger, the portals want Grandma back and Dad wants them to go to school??? Life is not normal at their house and they just want Mom back... why do I have the feeling that life is going to get worse for them before it gets better?

    This is hands down one of the best YA series I've ever read - get it now :-)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 69 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4