Customer Reviews for

The Tin Collectors (Shane Scully Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2002

    Awesome!!!

    My favorite subject of the book was the teenager Chooch because it touched the reality of today's world. It also made me laugh at times.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Faster than the speed of light

    Los Angeles Police Sergeant Shane Sculley sleeps peacefully in his bed with no major cares haunting him until the call at 2:16 AM comes. Barbara Mular, the wife of Shane¿s former partner pleads with him to save her life from her husband Ray who is beating her up. When Shane arrives at the Mular home, the door is open so he enters. He sees Ray knocking Barbara around with his nightstick. Shane tries to diffuse the situation, but is forced to kill Ray when the latter draws out his gun. <P> Instead of the normal channels, a high up in the department forces Ray to go before a review board. Ray happens to have been the mayor¿s driver and bodyguard. ¿His Honor¿ wants Shane to go down preferably with a murder conviction. Shane learns that things are soon missing form Ray¿s home and if they discretely reappear all charges would be dropped. Shane knows corruption has been a way of life for LAPD (duh!), and he has to uncover it if he wants to clear his name. <P> Stephen Cannell starts this novel with a fast-action tale that continues to build up momentum until the story line exceeds the speed of light. Readers will empathize with Shane, an endearing hero struggling to regain his idyllic life lost in the corruption maelstrom. THE TIN COLLECTORS is an exciting story that leaves the audience wondering who will police the police when IA is corrupt? <P>Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2009

    Tin Collectors in one day

    I couldnt put the book down, I read it from cover to cover in one day. Shane Scully novels are the only books I read outside of sports. This had a little football in it anyway. I suggest you read them in order, I wish I would have!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2002

    awwwwsome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I love this book. I picked it up in the book for a book review I had to do for a college class. I thought it was going to be just a boring book, but it wasn't it keep me very interested. I really like the way the book turns out when Shane finds out he is Chooch's father. This book also relates to the everyday world of police corruption.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2001

    EXCELLANT

    This was my first time reading a Stephen J. Cannell novel. I gobbled this book up in two days. I was totally engrossed and just could not put it down. Additionally, I must confess - The ending filled my eyes with bona fide tears! I would love to see this novel brought to the big screen!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2001

    Authentic, Audacious and Artful

    Cannell has both an unbelieveable ear for dialogue and an uncanny knack for conjuring inventive plots. The TIN COLLECTORS is a riveting, action-packed, emotionally-charged cop thriller that makes Ed McBain pale in comparison. Cannell is a modern day Hammett who can plot!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Exciting story!

    Great police crime novel that grabs you with the first paragraph! I highly recommend it and will continue on to the next Shane Scully book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    Awesome!

    Great suspenseful read. I'm looking forward to reading the rest of the series. If you like cop series, read this book!
    I would also recommend: The Jack Reacher series by Lee Child and the Inspector Wexford series by Ruth Rendell.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2002

    Its a very good read

    This is the first Stephen Cannell novel I have read and I liked the way this author developed the complicated plot. The characters were well developed and although I picked up early on the attraction between Shane and Alexa I was impressed with the way these characters were handled. I also liked the ending in which the loose ends were all tied together. In so many novels there is non stop action until the last page leaving the reader unclear as to the motives. One such novel of this was Deep Fantom.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2001

    AMAZING!

    This book was not only a pleasure to read but also amazingly interesting. At first i was skeptical becuase i wasn't too sure how a novel about the LAPD was going to keep me interested but once again Cannell has managed to put together a book that includes murder, romance, as well as more than you ever wanted to know about the LAPD! I find Cannell's writing to be so interesting because you will actually learn something with each novel of his you read, and the subjects are endless. The book is an excellent read and will leave you hanging to the point it's next to impossible to put down. I loved every minute of it! Thank you Stephen , your a creative genius!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2001

    Bone chilling, and realistic

    Well written, and hard to put down.The Author of this book should meet the Author of another shocking cop true-life story, U.S Customs Badge of Dishonor.Both of these books would make great movies.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2