BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Tin God

Average Rating 4.5
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

What a suspense filled book! It starts out with Jaymee being tol

What a suspense filled book! It starts out with Jaymee being told she was going to be evicted. She has been through a lot with family issues, a best friend being murdered and giving up her daughter for adoption. But when she discovers a dead body, life becomes even hard...
What a suspense filled book! It starts out with Jaymee being told she was going to be evicted. She has been through a lot with family issues, a best friend being murdered and giving up her daughter for adoption. But when she discovers a dead body, life becomes even harder for her. The twist at the ending was excellent and a surprise to me!

This was a book that will definitely hold your attention and you will not want to put it down. Yet I really hated for it to end. For me that is always the sign of an excellent book. The author writes such descriptive words, you can picture places and people as if you knew them.

I highly recommend this book for anyone who likes suspense, mysteries, romance and just an all out great read! This is the third book that I have read by Stacy Green and have loved all of them. She does not disappoint with her books.

(I received this advanced copy from the author for my honest review.)

posted by cindyhreads on April 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Okay

This book was not very believable. It was well edited, stand alone, had a predictable conclusion. There is quite a bit of violence. A lot of the reviews are plot spoilers, so I am not going to say much. This is a so-so read. Nothing outstanding. The title refers to tin ...
This book was not very believable. It was well edited, stand alone, had a predictable conclusion. There is quite a bit of violence. A lot of the reviews are plot spoilers, so I am not going to say much. This is a so-so read. Nothing outstanding. The title refers to tin idols worshipped in Bibical times. This surprized me, as far as I knew, tin was a more recent discovery. Therefore, this comment was not very well researched. ( I double checked, before I remarked on this statement.) For readers 18 and up, due to child abuse, rape, kiddnapping, forced impregnatation, child trafficking, murder, drugs, and other types of violence. Ages 18 and up.

AD

posted by Anonymous on July 1, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 28, 2013

    What a suspense filled book! It starts out with Jaymee being tol

    What a suspense filled book! It starts out with Jaymee being told she was going to be evicted. She has been through a lot with family issues, a best friend being murdered and giving up her daughter for adoption. But when she discovers a dead body, life becomes even harder for her. The twist at the ending was excellent and a surprise to me!

    This was a book that will definitely hold your attention and you will not want to put it down. Yet I really hated for it to end. For me that is always the sign of an excellent book. The author writes such descriptive words, you can picture places and people as if you knew them.

    I highly recommend this book for anyone who likes suspense, mysteries, romance and just an all out great read! This is the third book that I have read by Stacy Green and have loved all of them. She does not disappoint with her books.

    (I received this advanced copy from the author for my honest review.)

    20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    Okay

    This book was not very believable. It was well edited, stand alone, had a predictable conclusion. There is quite a bit of violence. A lot of the reviews are plot spoilers, so I am not going to say much. This is a so-so read. Nothing outstanding. The title refers to tin idols worshipped in Bibical times. This surprized me, as far as I knew, tin was a more recent discovery. Therefore, this comment was not very well researched. ( I double checked, before I remarked on this statement.) For readers 18 and up, due to child abuse, rape, kiddnapping, forced impregnatation, child trafficking, murder, drugs, and other types of violence. Ages 18 and up.

    AD

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2013

       This was the first book I had read by Stacy Green, but it wil

       This was the first book I had read by Stacy Green, but it will no means be the last. I found the mystery to be hard to put down. I had to keep reading (too long into the night for work the next day)to see who the murderer was and, boy, was I surprised. She does a great job drawing in the reader and building sympathy for Jaymee. My experience with churches is far different from Jaymee's but I'm sure that there are some with bad guys just like these self-righteous users who are in churches to simply further their own agenda. I'm just glad that I don't know anyone like this in my church!




      While this is a mystery, Jaymee does have a love interest. I will readily admit that I was drawn to another good guy and somewhat hoped that she might decide that he was the one, but it was not to be. I think the hero being flawed made the story much more interesting anyway. I'm hoping that her childhood friend (I did fall just a little in love with him) will get his own story and "happily ever after" in the future. Don't want to tell too much to spoil the book for others. This is one great mystery, not to be missed.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was a truly gripping thrille

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was a truly gripping thriller that pulled me in from the start. Just when I thought I had it figured out, the story twisted in another direction. In the end, I can honestly say I never saw it coming. It was a total, “OMG, NO WAY!!” moment. Nicely done, Ms. Green.

    The characters in this book are complex and realistic. They were all painstakingly created and very human. I appreciated the fact that Jaymee was a strong woman who confronted her vulnerabilities with courage. I liked her.

    I really liked the fact that the romance did not distract from the main plot of the book. It was handled very elegantly. I enjoyed watching the relationship develop and the conflicting emotions both Nick and Jaymee wrestled with. Again, it was really well done.

    I would definitely recommend this book. It is the first in the Delta Crossroads series. I really like the small-town, southern feel of this series. I am anxious to read the next installment to the series when it comes out.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2013

    I received this book from Promotional Book Tours in exchange for

    I received this book from Promotional Book Tours in exchange for a fair and honest review.

    This book was amazing. It was very fast paced and I felt very invested in the characters. There were twists and turns through out the book. This book is the type of book that stays with you when reading it. I wanted to do nothing but read to find out what happens.

    My heart went out to Jaymee. As a parent I can't imagine being in her situation. She was young and vulnerable. Instead of finding help and comfort, she was munipulated and abused over and over again.

    I loved how the book ended. All of my questions and wondering how things worked out were answered. Nothing was left unanswered.

    I highly recommend this novel.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2014

    Anonymous

    Wonderful book. Really worth reading.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The characters in Green¿s novel are fleshed-out, tormented and g

    The characters in Green’s novel are fleshed-out, tormented and genuine. From the sinister to the sweet, Green fleshed them out bringing this town and its secrets to light. Jaymee is angry, frustrated and so courageous. She is also stubborn, independent and proud. I loved watching this emotional, head-strong woman makes steps to trust, and confront her past. Nick is a well-known investigative newspaper reporter but since his wife’s death he has just been stuck in a rut as he obsesses over everything he did and didn’t do in his marriage. The fact that her killer still roams free torments him. I liked the interaction between Nick and Jaymee, without trying to they help each other confront the past and deal with their own emotional baggage as they hunt down answers. A romance develops slowly and felt genuine as it held the promise of healing, hope and love. The suspects in the case, all affluent members of this society’s small-town gave us a glimpse into its dark secrets. There are giant pink elephants wandering the streets but townsfolk ignore them. We often see this dynamic in small town politics and Green captured it beautifully.
    Stacy Green weaved a fantastic suspense thriller that felt plausible and made me shiver. Her descriptions from the homes to the oppressive heat in the small town of Roselea were captivating and so fleshed out that I could taste the humidity and smell the river. From the beginning she gave us a strong sense of the town’s mentality and deeply religious convictions. The more we learn about Jaymee and her baby the darker the tale becomes. Green wove all of the murders together with a common thread and I found it riveting as Nick and Jaymee unraveled clues and got closer to the truth. The tale gradually picked up intensity as the pieces clicked together. The facts and events had an air of believability about them and could have been ripped from today’s headlines. Green added some twists that even I didn’t see coming, and anymore that is hard to do. The tale wrapped up nicely and I was delighted to hear there is a second book that deals with one of the secondary characters.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2013

    I was really interested in reading this book.  The concept was r

    I was really interested in reading this book.  The concept was really intriguing, and provided an opportunity for a great story. The idea of a baby selling ring and a predator who takes advantage of young girls to impregnate them for the purpose of selling their babies, was great, but in the end, I was very disappointed with this book.  The characters were all unlikeable, and many of their actions just did not ring true. The book also needed a good editor, as it was about 100 pages too long, repeating thoughts and dialogue that was unnecessary for the story. Also, the idea that a "good mother" stays with a physically and emotionally abusive husband to hold a family together, is just wrong!!  

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2014

    Great read!-Interesting twist!

    You won't guess the end to this book. This Southern mystery has a lot of Southern elements making for interesting fiction. The lead character, Jaymee will pull at your heart strings as you root for her. Enjoy!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2014

    Tin God

    Excellent story with excellent writing Enjoyed this book very mucj

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I received a free copy of this novel in exchange for my honest r

    I received a free copy of this novel in exchange for my honest review. Jaymee Ballard had a difficult childhood, from her abusive father, to being forced to give up her baby for adoption. She’s been in poverty and desperately trying to save the money to afford a lawyer to help her get her daughter back. She lost her best friend 4 years prior and now her boss it dead. Does her misfortune ever end? Will she give the police the information her friend is too afraid to? I enjoyed this book very much. I felt really bad for Jaymee. Can you imagine losing your child, best friend, everyone closest to you? As Jaymee, Nick and Cage investigate the latest murder, they find more than what they bargained for.

    This was an amazing book! It had me drawn in from the very first page. This story had so many twists and turns that the end will surely surprise you. I think Jaymee was a great main character. She had been through so much but never gave up. The description of Roselea is so beautiful; I can just imagine those southern mansions. This was a very engrossing mystery, one I highly recommend.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2014

    Very good book

    Story is very entertaining

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2014

    Good read

    This was enjoyable all the way to the end. I was totally blown away by "who did it".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2014

    Highly recommend

    I enjoyed this book. It was well written,easy flow and the editing was great. I love a good mystery and this did not disappoint. I was even surprised by who was behind it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2014

    Excellent

    Great book. Recommend picking this one up and looking foward to reading the next books in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2014

    Fits together like a glove

    Fits together like a glove when all the clues are known but that may be to late. Very entertaining book, don't miss it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2014

    recommend

    Well written and a joy to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2014

    Good mystery

    Surprised who "done it" but it fit.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2014

    Good read!

    Held my interest. Interesting mystery. I would recommend

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2014

    Highly recommended

    Really an enjoyable thriller. Wasn't a bit disappointed

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4