Customer Reviews for

Tin God

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

What a suspense filled book! It starts out with Jaymee being tol

What a suspense filled book! It starts out with Jaymee being told she was going to be evicted. She has been through a lot with family issues, a best friend being murdered and giving up her daughter for adoption. But when she discovers a dead body, life becomes even hard...
What a suspense filled book! It starts out with Jaymee being told she was going to be evicted. She has been through a lot with family issues, a best friend being murdered and giving up her daughter for adoption. But when she discovers a dead body, life becomes even harder for her. The twist at the ending was excellent and a surprise to me!

This was a book that will definitely hold your attention and you will not want to put it down. Yet I really hated for it to end. For me that is always the sign of an excellent book. The author writes such descriptive words, you can picture places and people as if you knew them.

I highly recommend this book for anyone who likes suspense, mysteries, romance and just an all out great read! This is the third book that I have read by Stacy Green and have loved all of them. She does not disappoint with her books.

(I received this advanced copy from the author for my honest review.)

posted by cindyhreads on April 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I was really interested in reading this book.  The concept was r

I was really interested in reading this book.  The concept was really intriguing, and provided an opportunity for a great story. The idea of a baby selling ring and a predator who takes advantage of young girls to impregnate them for the purpose of selling their babies,...
I was really interested in reading this book.  The concept was really intriguing, and provided an opportunity for a great story. The idea of a baby selling ring and a predator who takes advantage of young girls to impregnate them for the purpose of selling their babies, was great, but in the end, I was very disappointed with this book.  The characters were all unlikeable, and many of their actions just did not ring true. The book also needed a good editor, as it was about 100 pages too long, repeating thoughts and dialogue that was unnecessary for the story. Also, the idea that a "good mother" stays with a physically and emotionally abusive husband to hold a family together, is just wrong!!  

posted by RonnaL on July 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 28, 2013

    What a suspense filled book! It starts out with Jaymee being tol

    What a suspense filled book! It starts out with Jaymee being told she was going to be evicted. She has been through a lot with family issues, a best friend being murdered and giving up her daughter for adoption. But when she discovers a dead body, life becomes even harder for her. The twist at the ending was excellent and a surprise to me!

    This was a book that will definitely hold your attention and you will not want to put it down. Yet I really hated for it to end. For me that is always the sign of an excellent book. The author writes such descriptive words, you can picture places and people as if you knew them.

    I highly recommend this book for anyone who likes suspense, mysteries, romance and just an all out great read! This is the third book that I have read by Stacy Green and have loved all of them. She does not disappoint with her books.

    (I received this advanced copy from the author for my honest review.)

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2013

       This was the first book I had read by Stacy Green, but it wil

       This was the first book I had read by Stacy Green, but it will no means be the last. I found the mystery to be hard to put down. I had to keep reading (too long into the night for work the next day)to see who the murderer was and, boy, was I surprised. She does a great job drawing in the reader and building sympathy for Jaymee. My experience with churches is far different from Jaymee's but I'm sure that there are some with bad guys just like these self-righteous users who are in churches to simply further their own agenda. I'm just glad that I don't know anyone like this in my church!




      While this is a mystery, Jaymee does have a love interest. I will readily admit that I was drawn to another good guy and somewhat hoped that she might decide that he was the one, but it was not to be. I think the hero being flawed made the story much more interesting anyway. I'm hoping that her childhood friend (I did fall just a little in love with him) will get his own story and "happily ever after" in the future. Don't want to tell too much to spoil the book for others. This is one great mystery, not to be missed.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was a truly gripping thrille

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book. It was a truly gripping thriller that pulled me in from the start. Just when I thought I had it figured out, the story twisted in another direction. In the end, I can honestly say I never saw it coming. It was a total, “OMG, NO WAY!!” moment. Nicely done, Ms. Green.

    The characters in this book are complex and realistic. They were all painstakingly created and very human. I appreciated the fact that Jaymee was a strong woman who confronted her vulnerabilities with courage. I liked her.

    I really liked the fact that the romance did not distract from the main plot of the book. It was handled very elegantly. I enjoyed watching the relationship develop and the conflicting emotions both Nick and Jaymee wrestled with. Again, it was really well done.

    I would definitely recommend this book. It is the first in the Delta Crossroads series. I really like the small-town, southern feel of this series. I am anxious to read the next installment to the series when it comes out.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    Okay

    This book was not very believable. It was well edited, stand alone, had a predictable conclusion. There is quite a bit of violence. A lot of the reviews are plot spoilers, so I am not going to say much. This is a so-so read. Nothing outstanding. The title refers to tin idols worshipped in Bibical times. This surprized me, as far as I knew, tin was a more recent discovery. Therefore, this comment was not very well researched. ( I double checked, before I remarked on this statement.) For readers 18 and up, due to child abuse, rape, kiddnapping, forced impregnatation, child trafficking, murder, drugs, and other types of violence. Ages 18 and up.

    AD

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The characters in Green¿s novel are fleshed-out, tormented and g

    The characters in Green’s novel are fleshed-out, tormented and genuine. From the sinister to the sweet, Green fleshed them out bringing this town and its secrets to light. Jaymee is angry, frustrated and so courageous. She is also stubborn, independent and proud. I loved watching this emotional, head-strong woman makes steps to trust, and confront her past. Nick is a well-known investigative newspaper reporter but since his wife’s death he has just been stuck in a rut as he obsesses over everything he did and didn’t do in his marriage. The fact that her killer still roams free torments him. I liked the interaction between Nick and Jaymee, without trying to they help each other confront the past and deal with their own emotional baggage as they hunt down answers. A romance develops slowly and felt genuine as it held the promise of healing, hope and love. The suspects in the case, all affluent members of this society’s small-town gave us a glimpse into its dark secrets. There are giant pink elephants wandering the streets but townsfolk ignore them. We often see this dynamic in small town politics and Green captured it beautifully.
    Stacy Green weaved a fantastic suspense thriller that felt plausible and made me shiver. Her descriptions from the homes to the oppressive heat in the small town of Roselea were captivating and so fleshed out that I could taste the humidity and smell the river. From the beginning she gave us a strong sense of the town’s mentality and deeply religious convictions. The more we learn about Jaymee and her baby the darker the tale becomes. Green wove all of the murders together with a common thread and I found it riveting as Nick and Jaymee unraveled clues and got closer to the truth. The tale gradually picked up intensity as the pieces clicked together. The facts and events had an air of believability about them and could have been ripped from today’s headlines. Green added some twists that even I didn’t see coming, and anymore that is hard to do. The tale wrapped up nicely and I was delighted to hear there is a second book that deals with one of the secondary characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The set up Jaymee Ballard has had a pretty tough life already to

    The set up
    Jaymee Ballard has had a pretty tough life already to be only 25 years old. Yet she's resolved to find her daughter who she was forced to give up seven years ago in what she now knows was an illegal adoption. Her luck seems to continue south when she discovers her friend and employer, Rebecca Newton, murdered in her home. It's even more troubling as friend, Lana, was murdered in a similar way four years ago...and both women looked so much alike it was remarkable. Nick Samuels, Lana's husband, doesn't think it's a coincidence, either. 

    The mystery
    First Lana is murdered, then Rebecca and the only common link aside from their similar appearance is Jaymee. Nick is convinced that the secrets Jaymee refuses to share with him are critical to solving the murders and she's too frightened of the repercussions to say much more. It's clear that her baby's adoption is key but can't be the only thing driving the killer. Lana and Rebecca's connection to Jaymee doesn't explain their murders...and those that follow.

    The suspects
    There are enough lowlifes in this story to keep you brain zinging as well as a ton of secrets to knock you off balance. There's Jaymee's cruel and hypocritical father, Rebecca's aloof husband, and a smarmy pastor just to name a few. 

    What works
    Everything about this story works like a beautifully composed symphony, with the crescendos in the right place and in perfect tempo. The hot, humid Mississippi setting made it even more intriguing. This mystery meanders around the town and it's characters who live duplicitous lives, twisting and turning through the truths, lies and secrets, which reveal themselves at just the right moments. Underlying the mystery is the slowly developed relationship between Jaymee and Nick that sneaks up on you just like it did them, in tandem with the pace of the story. Clues unfold naturally, leading to the tension-filled climax. 

    Bottom line
    This story is masterfully written with the right attention paid to the elements that create a good mystery. The characters are well developed with motivations and behaviors carefully woven in the fabric of the plot. The romance was not too much nor too little, just enough to add another level of interest. There are more than a few surprises and twists but you were set up to receive them given the players. I loved this story that kept me more than a little off balance and unwilling to put it down. 

    (I received an ARC from the author)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Stacy Green¿s novel, Tin God, is powerfully evocative of Mississ

    Stacy Green’s novel, Tin God, is powerfully evocative of Mississippi life in a small historic town where everyone knows everyone else. Oppressive heat and oppressive secrets combine as Jaymee struggles to make ends meet and the owner of a beautifully restored home that she cleans is found brutally murdered. Perhaps Jaymee will just find other houses to work in. But then the husband of her former best friend comes back into town and secrets start slotting into place like pieces of a jigsaw. When another woman dies, the question is, will Jaymee and Nick manage to solve all the clues before the killer reaches them?

    With a tagline that says “I just killed your wife again,” this book just begs to be read, and it’s every bit as intriguing and enticing as the tagline’s promise. Sure, Jaymee’s actions aren’t always for the best, but the constant balancing of meeting expectations, proving independence, and determinedly pursuing a long-held goal make her a convincing and compelling protagonist.

    Told slowly, as befits the oppressive themes, locale and atmosphere, this story’s one of consistently compelling writing, convincingly flawed characters, and fascinating plot, with a sense of evil that pleasingly retains the possibility of good. Religious leaders both betray and befriend, and the Bible is quoted for good and ill to wise effect.

    If this is truly the first of a series, I shall look forward to reading more.

    Disclosure: The author kindly gave me a free ecopy when I reviewed another book. I’m just sorry it took me so long to get around to reading it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2013

    I was really interested in reading this book.  The concept was r

    I was really interested in reading this book.  The concept was really intriguing, and provided an opportunity for a great story. The idea of a baby selling ring and a predator who takes advantage of young girls to impregnate them for the purpose of selling their babies, was great, but in the end, I was very disappointed with this book.  The characters were all unlikeable, and many of their actions just did not ring true. The book also needed a good editor, as it was about 100 pages too long, repeating thoughts and dialogue that was unnecessary for the story. Also, the idea that a "good mother" stays with a physically and emotionally abusive husband to hold a family together, is just wrong!!  

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    This novel draws you all the way in right from the get-go. I cou

    This novel draws you all the way in right from the get-go. I couldn’t put it down, even for a second. 




    Green is a master storyteller. She balances just the right mix of mystery, suspense, love, and reality in her stories to make it entertaining for everyone. She also develops a very solid storyline that leaves you reeling and wanting more at every twist and turn. Although you can’t always guess where she’s going with the story, once you get there the journey makes perfect sense. Not only that, but Green’s vivid descriptions and masterful manipulation of scenarios makes for a very fulfilling read.




    I love the characters in this novel. They’re so real. They are extremely complex characters and you feel for them on multiple levels. Green develops all of her characters very subtly in order to create extremely realistic characters. You find out things about them that you would about real people that you know and meet every day. You don’t know their entire life history and psych profile, but rather the things that come up in real life.




    Oh, and as for the ending… HOLY F&$@ING S#%T. I did not see that coming. 




    Please note that I received this novel free of charge from the author in exchange for an honest review

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Stacy Green wrote an awesome book! Had a hard time putting the b

    Stacy Green wrote an awesome book! Had a hard time putting the book down. Filled with so many twists and turns. Murder and intrigue as Jaymee with Nick's help try to find Jaymee's daughter she gave up for adoption when she was a teenager. A very enjoyable read for mystery lovers. Buy this book today you won't be sorry! Looking forward to the next book in the series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2013

    I received a copy of Tin God in exchange for my honest opinion o

    I received a copy of Tin God in exchange for my honest opinion of the novel. We know before we open the first page of the novel that Jaymee, the main character, was pregnant as a teenager and gave her child up for adoption. What we find out in the fast paced novel is that her father was
    abusive and her childhood not at all easy. She wants her child back, and is working to get the money for an attorney to help her. She suffers more loss and now, a tragedy is at her feet and she has information pertaining to it. She and her partners investigate the tragedy themselves and find out some things they never imagined. Twists and turns are the order for the day in Tin God, and even the title has a reveal in the story.  Stacey Green is an excellent writer, taking the reader on a journey we’re not quite sure we want to end; but we are sure that it’s magical. I sincerely hope there is more to come from this writer! Awesome read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I received a free copy of this novel in exchange for my honest r

    I received a free copy of this novel in exchange for my honest review. Jaymee Ballard had a difficult childhood, from her abusive father, to being forced to give up her baby for adoption. She’s been in poverty and desperately trying to save the money to afford a lawyer to help her get her daughter back. She lost her best friend 4 years prior and now her boss it dead. Does her misfortune ever end? Will she give the police the information her friend is too afraid to? I enjoyed this book very much. I felt really bad for Jaymee. Can you imagine losing your child, best friend, everyone closest to you? As Jaymee, Nick and Cage investigate the latest murder, they find more than what they bargained for.

    This was an amazing book! It had me drawn in from the very first page. This story had so many twists and turns that the end will surely surprise you. I think Jaymee was a great main character. She had been through so much but never gave up. The description of Roselea is so beautiful; I can just imagine those southern mansions. This was a very engrossing mystery, one I highly recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I was fortunate enough to receive a copy of this book from the a

    I was fortunate enough to receive a copy of this book from the author in return for an honest and unbiased review.

    I thought that this was such an amazing read. For this only being the author's second book, I felt that she did a phenomenal job writing
    this story. I personally can't wait to read more from this author. I am thrilled that this was book one to series and can't wait to see what
    she comes up with next for book #2.

    From the moment I started this book, I just couldn't get enough of it. I found the story to be engaging and interesting. It tells a story of a
    small town, and depicts accurate descriptions on how things in a small town are really like, which I really appreciated. At first, I thought I
    knew what the outcome was going to be from early on, but the story was just so good, it actually didn't bother me to think that I knew what
    may happen, or not necessarily what was going to happen, but who was going to be the base for all the troubles. Boy was I mistaken when
    I thought I had it figured out because the ending was totally different than what I thought it would have been, which was awesome. It moves
    at a great pace and flows very smoothly. I also really liked to see how the title came into play into the story. Stacy Green very clearly
    answers that. 

    Green's characters are very in depth and easy to get lost in their stories. Some are extremely likable and others are extremely hate-able.
    Either way, they are diverse and unique. I found myself feeling invested in their lives and the future of their lives. As I said, I can't wait to
    read book #2 to see where their lives go from here.

    I am so thrilled to have been asked to read this book because it is probably one of the best books that I've read this year. It was a very
    refreshing read. It had intricate mystery and just the right touch of mystery making it a perfect combination! I'm so thrilled to have a new
    great author to add to my favorites list and will be watching for more from her!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2013

    I received this book from Promotional Book Tours in exchange for

    I received this book from Promotional Book Tours in exchange for a fair and honest review.

    This book was amazing. It was very fast paced and I felt very invested in the characters. There were twists and turns through out the book. This book is the type of book that stays with you when reading it. I wanted to do nothing but read to find out what happens.

    My heart went out to Jaymee. As a parent I can't imagine being in her situation. She was young and vulnerable. Instead of finding help and comfort, she was munipulated and abused over and over again.

    I loved how the book ended. All of my questions and wondering how things worked out were answered. Nothing was left unanswered.

    I highly recommend this novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    Excellent Book!

    All I can say is that I could not put it down. It started out as a book that I read before I go to sleep; I'd read a few pages each night. Well, that didn't last long...it kept pulling me back. Again, excellent book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2014

    Pretty good

    Good suspense. Captivating story line and characters. Would have given 5 stars if not for the drawn out ending. Would still recomend though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    Excellent

    Kept me reading and guessing, i look forward to more books from this author dc

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2014

    Could not put it down!!

    I'm already looking for the next one in the series. I will definitely look for more books by this author. She can really hold the readers attention and leave you guessing the whole way through the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    Excellent book!

    This mystery will keep you turning pages well inti the night! Loved the book. Well written, no excessive cursing, some romance, This was a fast page turner. I recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    Excellent!

    This was a great, fast paced book. Full of surprises and twists. I'll definitely look for more books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2