BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Tin Roof Blowdown (Dave Robicheaux Series #16)

Average Rating 4
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Best this Author has done--True Picture of Post Katrina New Orleans

As usual, Burke's characters are in perfect form; more so because the story unfolds in their home setting of New Orleans. The plot is complicated and leads the reader to an unexpected ending. If you are new to Burke, you will find it a little more graphic depiction of...
As usual, Burke's characters are in perfect form; more so because the story unfolds in their home setting of New Orleans. The plot is complicated and leads the reader to an unexpected ending. If you are new to Burke, you will find it a little more graphic depiction of murder, crime and the lives of two very unusual lead characters. The treat in this story is the realistic depiction of the condition of New Orleans and the absolute poverty and misery of the City's inhabitants following the destructive results of Katrina. Great Read!

posted by Blackhorse on October 10, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great author

We love this series and are listening to or reading them all.

posted by pellen on September 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Best this Author has done--True Picture of Post Katrina New Orleans

    As usual, Burke's characters are in perfect form; more so because the story unfolds in their home setting of New Orleans. The plot is complicated and leads the reader to an unexpected ending. If you are new to Burke, you will find it a little more graphic depiction of murder, crime and the lives of two very unusual lead characters. The treat in this story is the realistic depiction of the condition of New Orleans and the absolute poverty and misery of the City's inhabitants following the destructive results of Katrina. Great Read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    Vintage Burke!

    Every time I read the latest Burke opus, I say "it's the best he's done" but with each new one, like vintage wine, Burke just gets better! Based on TV accounts and other writings I've seen, Burke's account of Katerina and its aftermath is as good as any and better than most! I fully recommend this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2010

    The novel to read about Hurricane Katrina

    James Lee Burke fans will love following Dave Robicheaux through the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina. Who better than Burke to walk us through the idiosyncrasies of New Orleans and that city's dealings with the insurance industry?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good story

    Good characters and was a good fictional account of Katrina events.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    Great author

    We love this series and are listening to or reading them all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    Very insightful

    This book provides a realistice feel of New Orleans and Louisiana following Katrina. It is great reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2009

    ATTENTION

    I think the book was thrilling.It was really kepping a grasp on me.Although it took me a while to get in to it... it turned out very interesting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2009

    Tough Talk and Solid Writing

    This is a burly, well-written book, and a welcome addition to the Robicheaux series. It persuasively and compassionately depicts the terrifying situation in NOLA following hurricanes Katrina and Rita. Difficult issues such as racism are handled with sensitivity. Characters are distinctive and colorfully portrayed with minimal verbiage. Rewarding reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2008

    Burke never, never mails it in!

    I've read all of James Lee Burke's novels including his earlier novels which didn't attract much attention. The constant in everything of his I've read is his commitment to his craft and his reader. Unlike many of the currently sucessful 'series authors', Burke doesn't take shortcuts with characters, settings and especially not with dialogue. Each one of his books, whether a Dave Robechaux story, a Billy Bob Holland story, or a free standing story will stand on it's own without it being necessary to have read earlier installments. James Lee Burke never shortchanges his readers!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2008

    Masterful Storytelling

    Once again, Mr. Burke has set his mystery in the steamy bayous of southern Louisiana. This time the chaos and despair following Hurricane Katrina are the backdrop for theft and murder. The characters are intensely portrayed, and the author manages to evoke sympathy for even the lowest of the low who show the possibility of redemption. And thank heavens the women in Detective Robicheaux's life are strong and assertive, and not a one of them needs to count on a man to rescue her! I kind of suspected what the 'lights' beneath the floodwaters might mean, and had confirmation in the powerful and mystical final passages of the book. A incredibly moving novel of the good, the evil, and the soul-damaged, by an author at the peak of his game.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    Feels like New Orleans?

    This was the first Burke book I've read. A family member recommended I include it in my reading leading up to my first ever visit to New Orleans that's on the drawing board. Great story that I enjoyed on several levels. Not only do I now have a feeling for post-Katrina New Orleans, but I appreciated the numerous subtle lessons about life that Mr. Burke wraps in a rough & tumble story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    highly recommend

    loved this book lovely descriptions of the Louisiana culture ans countryside story was very captivating

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Can't say enough about James Lee

    This was my first James Lee Burke noverl. Now I've read all of them. What a wordsmith! What a storyteller! Give us more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    My E-copy was never legible

    each chapter's first page was normal and then following pages were not legible with a magnifying glass. Other books work fine. i downloaded this one twice (paid for it twice too) and have not bought a book from B & N since. maybe it's my iPhone 4, maybe it's the book. but definitely not worth the hassle dealing with B & N IT . i could have read the whole book in the time i have spent getting it legible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Will keep you Involved till the conclusion.

    I thought that this book was a real page turner. The story was also a chronicle of what Katrina did to New Orleans, South Louisiana, and the suffering brought on to the people who experienced that terrible storm. It was especially real in describing how it changed their lives dramatically. This is a well written story and Mr. Burke opinions of the handling of the storm's impact are obvious; both in the narrative and in the prologue. Familiar characters and their personalities, and Dave's family are deeply involved in this fast action novel.
    Overall, this story will keep you involved right up to its surprising climax.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    Supporting Characters Sink to New Lows

    As a longtime fan of the Robicheaux series, I have enjoyed the author's unique descriptions of the Louisiana terrain and its people. What other author incorporates so many references to odors and fragrances in his descriptions of the scene he is setting? But the supporting characters reached despicable depths in this story. Their language, which sometimes seemed to be gratuitous filth, their actions, and their total lack of conscience, made me so hesitant to pick the book up again, that I totally lost interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2008

    Another Burke to Enjoy

    Once again, tortured antihero Dave Robichaux takes the reader through the perils of a tragedy that occurred in settings as only Burke can describe. It's a sin to say it, but Burke makes catastrophe a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2008

    Burkes Liberalism shines through

    Although I have read all of his other books, I became aware early on of his political beliefs. He took a good story and made it a left wing hate Bush story in relationship to the flooding of New Orleans. Too bad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2007

    A reviewer

    I have enjoyed Mr. Burke's books of the past. I must say that Tin Roof is the best so far, his writings bring out the attitude and mood of the circumstance as though you the reader where entwined in the scene. This man is an American treasure, among the greatest authors I have had the pleasure to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2007

    Burke and Robicheaux Deliver Again

    James Lee Burke's 'Dave Robicheaux' series has been a longtime favorite of mine. This title artfully blends the fictional world of Dave, Clete Purcel, and other returning characters with the tragedy of Hurricane Katrina. I don't know if Mr. Burke was in Louisiana at the time of the hurricane, but the graphic and detailed descriptions of events are either eyewitness accounts or a testament to Burke's mastery of the story form. I read at least thirty books a year and I would put this one in my top two or three this year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3