Customer Reviews for

The Tin Roof Blowdown (Dave Robicheaux Series #16)

Average Rating 4
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Vintage Burke!

Every time I read the latest Burke opus, I say "it's the best he's done" but with each new one, like vintage wine, Burke just gets better! Based on TV accounts and other writings I've seen, Burke's account of Katerina and its aftermath is as good as any and better than ...
Every time I read the latest Burke opus, I say "it's the best he's done" but with each new one, like vintage wine, Burke just gets better! Based on TV accounts and other writings I've seen, Burke's account of Katerina and its aftermath is as good as any and better than most! I fully recommend this one.

posted by AtoZNY on May 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great author

We love this series and are listening to or reading them all.

posted by pellen on September 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    Vintage Burke!

    Every time I read the latest Burke opus, I say "it's the best he's done" but with each new one, like vintage wine, Burke just gets better! Based on TV accounts and other writings I've seen, Burke's account of Katerina and its aftermath is as good as any and better than most! I fully recommend this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Best this Author has done--True Picture of Post Katrina New Orleans

    As usual, Burke's characters are in perfect form; more so because the story unfolds in their home setting of New Orleans. The plot is complicated and leads the reader to an unexpected ending. If you are new to Burke, you will find it a little more graphic depiction of murder, crime and the lives of two very unusual lead characters. The treat in this story is the realistic depiction of the condition of New Orleans and the absolute poverty and misery of the City's inhabitants following the destructive results of Katrina. Great Read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    Very insightful

    This book provides a realistice feel of New Orleans and Louisiana following Katrina. It is great reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2009

    Tough Talk and Solid Writing

    This is a burly, well-written book, and a welcome addition to the Robicheaux series. It persuasively and compassionately depicts the terrifying situation in NOLA following hurricanes Katrina and Rita. Difficult issues such as racism are handled with sensitivity. Characters are distinctive and colorfully portrayed with minimal verbiage. Rewarding reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2008

    Burke never, never mails it in!

    I've read all of James Lee Burke's novels including his earlier novels which didn't attract much attention. The constant in everything of his I've read is his commitment to his craft and his reader. Unlike many of the currently sucessful 'series authors', Burke doesn't take shortcuts with characters, settings and especially not with dialogue. Each one of his books, whether a Dave Robechaux story, a Billy Bob Holland story, or a free standing story will stand on it's own without it being necessary to have read earlier installments. James Lee Burke never shortchanges his readers!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2008

    Masterful Storytelling

    Once again, Mr. Burke has set his mystery in the steamy bayous of southern Louisiana. This time the chaos and despair following Hurricane Katrina are the backdrop for theft and murder. The characters are intensely portrayed, and the author manages to evoke sympathy for even the lowest of the low who show the possibility of redemption. And thank heavens the women in Detective Robicheaux's life are strong and assertive, and not a one of them needs to count on a man to rescue her! I kind of suspected what the 'lights' beneath the floodwaters might mean, and had confirmation in the powerful and mystical final passages of the book. A incredibly moving novel of the good, the evil, and the soul-damaged, by an author at the peak of his game.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    Feels like New Orleans?

    This was the first Burke book I've read. A family member recommended I include it in my reading leading up to my first ever visit to New Orleans that's on the drawing board. Great story that I enjoyed on several levels. Not only do I now have a feeling for post-Katrina New Orleans, but I appreciated the numerous subtle lessons about life that Mr. Burke wraps in a rough & tumble story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    highly recommend

    loved this book lovely descriptions of the Louisiana culture ans countryside story was very captivating

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Can't say enough about James Lee

    This was my first James Lee Burke noverl. Now I've read all of them. What a wordsmith! What a storyteller! Give us more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2007

    A reviewer

    I have enjoyed Mr. Burke's books of the past. I must say that Tin Roof is the best so far, his writings bring out the attitude and mood of the circumstance as though you the reader where entwined in the scene. This man is an American treasure, among the greatest authors I have had the pleasure to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2007

    Burke and Robicheaux Deliver Again

    James Lee Burke's 'Dave Robicheaux' series has been a longtime favorite of mine. This title artfully blends the fictional world of Dave, Clete Purcel, and other returning characters with the tragedy of Hurricane Katrina. I don't know if Mr. Burke was in Louisiana at the time of the hurricane, but the graphic and detailed descriptions of events are either eyewitness accounts or a testament to Burke's mastery of the story form. I read at least thirty books a year and I would put this one in my top two or three this year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2007

    As good as they come

    James Lee is my all time favorite, and I have read all his books. If you do not feel you are in southern La., you've never been there. His mysteries make you feel like you are there, and are believable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2007

    I love the New Orleans flavor of this book . . . . .

    I don't know why it took me so long to discover this author, but I am so thankful that I did. I love the setting of New Iberia/New Orleans and the masterful way the author was able to weave the story of Dave Robicheaux throughout this sad time of hurricane Katrina. I can't wait for the next installment of Dave Robicheaux.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2007

    His very best.....

    Others have described what actually happens in this work so I won't go into it again. All I want to say is that every word of this story has its own weight and evokes a picture or an odor or a feeling. When I started to read this book, a projector in my head began to show me a film which didn't stop until the final page. This book is absolute magic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2007

    One of the best audiobooks you will ever hear.

    Will Patton does an outstanding job of bringing James Lee Burke's novels to life. There is a definite synergy between these two masters. The Tin Roof Blowdown is a true gem. I listened to the unabridged version and was glued to every minute. Dialogue that is gritty, thoughtful, complex, simple, this book has it all. Enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A potent and chilling crime thriller

    Nobody knows specifically what will happen when Hurricane Katrina hits but under the cover of wind rain and darkness, braving the floodwaters, criminals come out of the woodwork to steal things. In one New Orleans neighborhood four criminals made a rich score, finding coke, blood diamonds, a gun and money. These same criminals were spotted by a young woman who they raped and tortured earlier in the month. She identifies two of them as her attackers.----------- A shot rings out later that night leaving one of the criminals dead, one paralyzed from the necke down and the remaining duo flee. The quartet leader Bertrand is on the run as everyone is looking for him while many people remain shell shocked from Katrina. New Iberian Parish deputy sheriff Dave Robicheau looks for Bernard, the stolen diamonds, and becomes involved in the investigation of which victim killed the criminal. Bertrand took them from the most powerful crime lord in the country and it is through that same crime lord that Ronald Bledsoe, a torturer and killer, was hired by that crime lord to find the diamonds. He crosses paths with Dave¿s daughter Dave knows that Bledsoe will be coming after her because she dissed him leading to a cat and mouse game played on a devastated landscape.------------- James Lee Burke has written a potent and chilling crime thriller that makes the protagonist ponder the nature of evil as Bledsoe and Katrina are two forces out of control. Like the hurricane, Bledsoe goes his own way doing what he wants. This metaphorical analogy makes this provoking police procedure a chilling work that keeps readers entertained.------------ Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2