Customer Reviews for

The Tin Star

Average Rating 4.5
( 297 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(173)

4 Star

(79)

3 Star

(30)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

wonderful!

ok..this is my first book i read that is m/m romance...i loved it! it opens your eye about how people can still be so naive. its actually really sad.... Also read the Broken H..not as good as The Tin Star, but still good.

posted by bookcrave on July 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

What a WONDERFUL Story!

This story will make you laugh, make you cry and also make you very HOTT!!!! I enjoyed this story of the two young cowboys very much! Thanks J.L. Langley!

posted by JPEVANS on October 31, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 299 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    RD

    I have read this book multiple times and it never stops being absolutely amazing. It grasps you and it's so easy to sympathize with the characters. You cannot help to love Jamie's sweetness and Ethan's strength of character. I would absolutely recommend this book to any and all willing to open their minds to this romantic and yet realistic novel.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    wonderful!

    ok..this is my first book i read that is m/m romance...i loved it! it opens your eye about how people can still be so naive. its actually really sad.... Also read the Broken H..not as good as The Tin Star, but still good.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    EXCELLENT WEEKEND READ!!!

    This book grabs you from the first few pages and keeps you interested through the last. Touched in a special way by the storyline and characters. Very well written!!! After finishing this book I just had to purchase the next in this series, The Broken H, which happens to be another excellent read by this author. :)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2010

    This book is Free-kin Hot! LoL...what a find!!!

    This is a must read. I read this book last week, just finished the sequel and OMG, what a read. I simply loved it. Great story-line and great chemistry between character. When I look in my nook library I have to smile when I see the cover of this and the sequel...LoL what a find. Both are now included in my favorites of all time! and considering Im really a paranormal romance reader I just have to LoL :-)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2007

    Bravo!

    This was an excellent M/M erotic romance. Cowboys aren't usually my favorite, as they are so overdone. However, Langley manages to make this story fresh. Jamie and Ethan are a good couple, and the problems they face in their relationship, with family, society, and work, are realistic and often sad. The sex is frequent and steamy (explicit) without being repetitive. There are a couple of things in the story that stood out as being particularly well done. First, there is Jamie's older brother's relationship with Ethan. John is straight, and has known Ethan was gay for years--and they are still friends. Holy Moly, Batman! It's nice to see a straight male character that isn't bigoted, or has secret homosexual leanings. John is a well-developed secondary character who takes part in the story. Second, I like the fact that Jamie and Ethan have known each other for years. Since Jamie is 11 years younger, their relationship was necessarily different in the past. This makes their new found emotions more poignant. It's not the typical love at first sight--more like seeing possibiltiies that have been right before your eyes the entire time. Hot sex, touching romance, a plot with some depth--I will definitely read more from this author. Thankfully, The Broken H, the next in this Ranch series, is finally available. And, I love the cover art!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2009

    BEST BOOK EVER!

    I couldnt put it down. The writing is wonderful and it is full of romantic and touching moments between the two main characters. The writing is so good and it is just a wonderful story about love and overcoming prejudices.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2007

    A reviewer

    When Jamie told his father and brother that he was gay, he expected yelling and screaming. What he didn't expect was getting thrown off the Quadruple J with no job and no where to go. However, Jamie's brother John and his friend Ethan are supportive and understanding. So Ethan calls Jamie and offers him a place to stay and a job at his ranch, the Tin Star. As soon as Jamie arrives, Ethan starts to see him for the man he has become instead of his best friend's brother.***** Jamie has always had a crush on Ethan and working so closely with him at the ranch is going to be hard when he can't touch him like he wants to. But Jamie is pleasantly surprised when Ethan tells him he is gay too. Things are hard for Jamie the townsfolk and fellow ranch hands don't approve of gay men, and Jamie's own father is the worst of the lot. At the same time Jamie and Ethan start a secret affair, the threats against Jamie are increasing. Now the cowboys have to try and make a life for themselves amongst the danger and prejudice surrounding them.***** Ethan and Jamie have a really comfortable, passionate relationship right from the start. These cowboys had me flushed and panting every time they touched! They are so sexy, yet the chemistry between them is more than just sizzling sex, they are also really romantic. I just adore Ethan and Jamie together. They fit each other like a glove. The Tin Star is a terrific story!*****Reviewed by Nannette for Joyfully Reviewed

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Hot Cowboys...who can go wrong with that?

    I absolutely loved The Tin Star. The writing was good and the plot kept me interested until the very end - which I hated to see coming because I fell for Ethan and Jamie. These two characters were so in love with each other from the moment they met on the page (even if they didn't know it yet!) and we as readers were treated to their boiling desire for one another - in the form of SUPER HOT sex scenes!

    I couldn't put this one down because every scene left me wanting more and turning the page to find out what happened. Well done!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2010

    What a WONDERFUL Story!

    This story will make you laugh, make you cry and also make you very HOTT!!!! I enjoyed this story of the two young cowboys very much! Thanks J.L. Langley!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2006

    Brokeback Mountain happy ending

    This was a great book. It had it all, humor, drama, intrigue and romance. It was well written. The many characters stories were interwoven nicely. I got a real feel for the people. There were two reasons I gave it only 4 stars. Firstly, the relationship between the main characters seemed to develop a little too quickly and easily. They just slipped into the relationship with an ease that I found a bit unbelievable. My other problem was the end. It came too abruptly. Too many ends were left untied. What happened to the father? Did the other siblings find out about their younger brother's parentage? These questions weren't answered by the end. I guess that makes a good set up for a sequel, though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    Great story

    A story of hatred toward m/m love and the energy it takes to stand your ground for acceptance, enjoy the overall story: contains good images of men making love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Great red!

    This is one of those rare books tha t

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2014

    Loved it!!

    Second title I've read by this author & it was a good read it. It was my weekend lie in bed read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great writer

    I like any writer who shows tenderness and emotion and uses expressive graphic written language in his stories. Unless someone interrupts me (which happens often), I cannot put this book down. This book, with its hot sex, has a storyline that makes me want both men near me while reading the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Great

    Another great book from this author. Loved the With or Without series and this one was great, too. 500 pgs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    Ok

    This is the second book I've read by this author and I'm not impressed. I couldn't even stay interested enough to finish it. If you want a good m/m cowboy romance it doesn't get any better than Bareback by Chris Owen. Now THAT was a story to get this 45 year old hetero woman hot and bothered! This story just didn't do it for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    A good read

    I really injoy the book. Hope there are more like this one. It is one of the book I would read over again. Could not put it down. One I would recomend 2 anyone 2 read. Can't wait for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2012

    I own this book in paperback and ebook. It is by far my favorite

    I own this book in paperback and ebook. It is by far my favorite from this author who happens to be my favorite my Author!!! Her characters come alive on the page and you truly began to feel for them. I also recommend the "with or without" series by J.L. Langley. Another AWESOME read by far. Again, the characters will grab you and you will be hard pressed to let them go... no pun intended!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    AMAZING

    So fantastic hated having to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Great!!!!

    Great love story. People should be allowed to love whomever they want.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 299 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15