Customer Reviews for

Tinker

Average Rating 5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Delightful amalgam of urban fantasy, romance, sci fi

    A friend originally recommended this title to me and I have been a huge fan of Wen Spencer since. This book is so creative. Spencer is able to take elements you would not expect to find together and weave them into a cohesive and unexpected result. I love being surprised and Spencer always brings something unexpected to the mix.
    This is a great novel for anyone who is a big fan of fantasy but needs something fresh and new.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2009

    It is okay

    I think I expected more quality. The writing style is mediocre. The character development I find to be slightly better. The main character may or may not be a cliché - can't decide. The romance in the book seems oddly forced. Moves a long at a brisk pace. All in all I was never fully transported into the story. If your primary venue of entertainment is reading than it's certainly worth your time. But if for those which reading is a relished activity don't be lured in my the interesting premise of the book. The premise is really the only thing which sparkles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2005

    highly recommended

    I recently read Wen Spencer's A Brother's Price and liked it so much I decided to try one of her other books. What amazes me is how the author is able to create such an intricate detailed world and two races, the elves and the oni. What was also interesting was the use of physics to explain magic and how the other races used it to bio engineer themselves, making elves seem more science orientated than mystical. This is a terrific book and screams for a sequel. I look forward to reading 'Wolf Who Rules' in 2006.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2005

    Entertaining and Great Writing

    I'm new to the SF club and wanted to start with something that felt like it not only had fantastic elements but also complex characters and a lot of heart. This story has it all. Tinker is super intelligent but inexperienced and enjoys her junkyard dog ways. The action starts immediately, and I'm immediately cheering for Tinker. She captured my interest for the entire book, as did the compelling action, characters, relationships, and writing. Just great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2005

    Like your fantasy with a little tech and humor?

    Tinker is just what the doctor ordered! Alexander Graham Bell, nicknamed Tinker, is a gadget inventing, hoverbike racing, pixie sized genius. Living in a Pittsburg that through an accident of physics, spends most of the time on Elfhome instead of Earth. This no-nonsense girl hasn't got Time to rescue the local elf ruler and get involved in politics--she's got a business to run! But since nobody else seems to be volunteering to save both worlds, she'd better come up with a plan. Fortunately, this girl excels at making plans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2003

    Charming mix of fantasy and sci fi

    Tinker is a genius firmly grounded in physics and mechanics when she becomes involved in an interdimensional power play between two magical realms. Honor, courage, friendship, and the love of an Elf Lord all play into Tinker's experiences. Hopefully, there will be a follow on...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2003

    wonderful tongue-in-cheek fantasy joy ride

    On the Rim of Elfhome in Pittsburgh, business owner Tinker and her cousin Oilcan are moving around wrecks that temporarily reside in her Pittsburgh Scrap and Salvage yard to makes room for the influx of new vehicles that Shutdown Day always brings to her. However, a power failure leads to her gadgets inability to keep out the local flow of magic that jumps sky high when a pack of wargs chase an Elf into her scrap yard. <P>Preferring to literally mind her business, Tinker laments that the prey has to be Windwolf, an arrogant noble who saved her life five years ago from a saurus, but placed a life debt on her that forces her to help. Not long afterward every official from the NSA to the EIA (Elfin Interdimensional Agency) make demands of Tinker. Even those not officially officious want a piece of her. All Tinker desires is to remain in Pittsburgh wanting her first kiss on her first date, but alas even the city will not cooperate as it is no longer earth tied. <P>Anyone who thought Pittsburgh was Steelers, Pirates, and Penguins, oh my, will quickly change their mind with Wen Spencer¿s wild fantasy. The story line is as fast as a novel can go yet the key players seem genuine. Readers will adore the harried heroine, an ingenious tinker who has never been kissed (but is standing on an Elven mound not a pitcher¿s mound). Windwolf lives up to his clan¿s reputation for inhuman haughtiness though this human has breeched his soul. Amusing, ironic and loaded with daring and dastardly deeds, TINKER is a wonderful tongue-in-cheek fantasy joy ride around the city by the three rivers. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 19 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1