Customer Reviews for

Tiny Dancer: The Incredible True Story of a Young Burn Victim's Journey from Afghanistan

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    Sample

    Sample wont open

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2005

    Just in Time

    Even though the cover reveals a happy ending, the story grips you and makes you want to turn every page as if the act itself gives you the power to heal. Tiny Dancer is part history lesson, part cultural lesson, and more importantly, a positive example of humanity and it's potential for goodness--it couldn't come at a better time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2005

    Inspiring

    An inspiring story and one that we can all learn from in these times of strife, unrest and war as a nation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2005

    A Beautiful Story about Perseverance and Life

    What an incredible story of real life perseverance through the life of this heroically strong willed child. In the world of problems and fighting, this is an amazing real life story about people from all around the world of different lifestyles and beliefs joining together for one little girl. That union has lead to changing so many lives and beliefs and has resulted in the beautiful must read of TINY DANCER. Read this book and share with your family and friends to uplift your spirits and life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2005

    A Beautiful and Inspiring Story!

    In a world filled with so much despair and loss, it it refreshing to read a book filled with hope and courage. Zubaida's story is awe inspiring and a testament to the power of a Father's love and the determination in a child's heart. My children are also reading this book and we have had some incredible discussions about overcoming obstacles in life and persevering through hard times. This is a must read for the whole family!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2005

    A Truly Inspiring Story

    Thank you so much for the gift of 'Tiny Dancer'. What an absolutely amazing story of courage and human resiliance. I was thoroughly absorbed by the story which is so well written and totally gut wrenching. In these difficult times when we are so overwhelmed by 'bad' news on a daily basis it was such a treat to read this inspirational story of hope and courage. God bless Zubaida's 'little cotton socks'. It seems clear that destiny has something great in store for her and hopefully her life will have a wonderful positive impact on her country and the world in general.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2005

    Courageous and Inspiring

    A 'must read' - it brought tears to my eyes and renewed my faith in the difference good people can make in this world. A story that needs to be shared.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2005

    Tiny Dancer, Huge Heart

    I loved this story. It made me cry. It is so full of heart.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2005

    Ordeal by Fire and Victory of the Human Heart

    From Zubaida's catastrophic accident until her return to Afghanistan, TINY DANCER is a remarkable series of miraculous events that is a pageant of human compassion. TINY DANCER is both a marvel and an ordeal to read. Through Anthony Flacco's erudite and eminently readable narration, I suffered the child's torture that would have made me mad before it murdered me. Set against the tumultuous background of 9/11 and the American invasion of Afghanistan, the beginning of the book belongs to Zubaida's devoted father who, in defiance of all that he knew and in exhaustion of all that he had for the sole purpose of saving his little girl, almost eclipses the story of the child who held fast to life with her bare hands. TINY DANCER revealed a kindness in the American Armed Forces that I never would have dreamed existed as the process unfolded that brought the child to the United States and her salvation at great risk to her benefactors. Flacco's revelation of the 'domino' effect that supported Zubaida as she was rebuilt and reinvented in our country was compelling with a flow that kept me reading and missing it when I couldn't. TINY DANCER is graceful and powerful and at times, even funny. It's a glorious story with a large human heart and lean muscles. Anthony Flacco is showing great promise as a writer of creative non-fiction. I anticipate his next effort eagerly. To read TINY DANCER is to renew one's faith and to warm one's heart. She's a 21st Century Anne Frank who reveals that in spite of everything, there's good in all of us. ...Bill Jackson

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2005

    Can't wait for Tiny Dancer... the movie!

    Such a moving story! Anthony Flacco's vivid descriptions made me feel as if I were there every step of the way. This story will forever be etched in my heart as will Mohammed's love for his daughter, Zubaida. Zubaida's story is a true testament that people can work through language and cultural barriers to make a difference. Through the attempt to give 'peace' a chance, Zubaida gained a second chance on life. I hope there will be a movie of this story, it needs to be shared globally. Such a beautiful girl with an amazing will to live. I've purchased two more copies to pass on to my teenage sons. They can learn tons from Zubaida!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2005

    Miraculous and moving

    The riveting and touching story of a badly burned young Afghani girl's physical and emotional transformation . An insightful look at the differences of two cultures which ultimately reveals the humanity which makes them not so different at all. At times you feel as if you are right there inside Zubaida's head experiencing it all with her. A powerful true story of what can be achieved when good people refuse to turn a blind eye to the suffering of another. A beautiful testimony to the power and strength of the human spirit to survive and flourish through seemingly impossible odds. Read this book, you'll be glad you did!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2005

    A persect story of irony and humanity

    A story that in the end, makes you feel good about people. Tears of joy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1