BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Tipping the Velvet: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 110 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

ADDICTIVE

I completed this book in two days! With most stories, there are usually areas of 'filler' which tend to drag, and I find myself skipping over paragraphs (and sometimes entire pages) in an attempt to get to the meat of the story. Not with Tipping the Velvet... I savore...
I completed this book in two days! With most stories, there are usually areas of 'filler' which tend to drag, and I find myself skipping over paragraphs (and sometimes entire pages) in an attempt to get to the meat of the story. Not with Tipping the Velvet... I savored every word. Ms. Walters' prose is flawless, her characters intriging and her story captivating... what more could a reader wish for?

posted by Anonymous on July 20, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Wow

I picked this up without looking at it first. The cover and title looked fascinating. I was very surprised what it actually was about. A love story between two/three women and the ups and downs that ensue. The graphic sexual content in Tipping the Velvet is pretty shock...
I picked this up without looking at it first. The cover and title looked fascinating. I was very surprised what it actually was about. A love story between two/three women and the ups and downs that ensue. The graphic sexual content in Tipping the Velvet is pretty shocking at first. I have never read a novel quite so sex-orientated. The more I read it the more I disliked it, but I couldn't put it down. I think the age to start this book would be something like 18+. Also, reccomending this book would be based on the individual, not in general. If you're someone who is easily offended don't read it.

posted by DeDeFlowers on November 12, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2004

    ADDICTIVE

    I completed this book in two days! With most stories, there are usually areas of 'filler' which tend to drag, and I find myself skipping over paragraphs (and sometimes entire pages) in an attempt to get to the meat of the story. Not with Tipping the Velvet... I savored every word. Ms. Walters' prose is flawless, her characters intriging and her story captivating... what more could a reader wish for?

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow

    I picked this up without looking at it first. The cover and title looked fascinating. I was very surprised what it actually was about. A love story between two/three women and the ups and downs that ensue. The graphic sexual content in Tipping the Velvet is pretty shocking at first. I have never read a novel quite so sex-orientated. The more I read it the more I disliked it, but I couldn't put it down. I think the age to start this book would be something like 18+. Also, reccomending this book would be based on the individual, not in general. If you're someone who is easily offended don't read it.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2005

    Amazing

    An English friend of mine gave me this book as a going away present and I finished it before the plane was halfway home. It is an excellent read for anyone who is up for an intense and sensual story. It is a great gift especially for someone who would normally be afraid to pick something like this up on her own. A fantastic and thrilling read

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2004

    For Every Woman

    This Book is wonderful. I was strolling through the bookstore and saw a copy of this book misplaced, I picked it up and read the first three pages. That was it, I took it home and didn't even breathe until I got through the entire novel. Exquisite!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Disgusting

    Terrible and retarted worst book ever

    2 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Exciting read!

    This book was consistently interesting throughout its entirety. I must say, I don't think I've encountered another author as daring, cheeky, eloquent, and artful as Sarah Waters. I am truly hooked on her writing style and am just now starting to read Fingersmith. I will be pleased if it is even half as good as Tipping The Velvet!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Favoritr

    I own all of ms waters book. This book is one of my favorites

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    Wonderful read, a perfect example of Victorian Romance!

    I originally had seen the three part television series, but as it always is, the book was ten times better. Besides for the book being descriptive to the most minute detail , it has alot of charm, and just makes you feel as the character does. I highly recommend this book to lovers of victorian novels and/or young gay women who are tired of reading the same old lesbian stories.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An embellishment to any library!

    Many things surprised me about this book, but was caught like a fish in a net as the story developed. This is a lesbian fiction novel based in the late 19th century; a time when segregation was habitual and the British began to open the eyes of a brighter civilization. Nancy, the narrator, delivers a roller coaster ride through her self discovery and many life's lessons. A character of pride and mercenariness sticks Nancy in corners of pain and heartache, leading to forced decisions eventually mounting her on the right horse. A great book of relation to those of follow, to encourage open-mindedness and for anyone who seeks a story not quite found many bookshelves away. Tipping the Velvet is simply beautiful storytelling.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must Read Before you Die Kind of Book!

    Yes put this on the list of a hundred things you do before you die. I loved this book. It was crazy and crazy good at the same time. Try some of Sarah water's other books not too shabby either.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2006

    a warming lovely thick page turner

    this is my first Sarah Water's novel, but i am for sure going to keep supporting her work! i loved the idea of the Victorian romance, with its secrecy and romance that tied in with the stages of life that the main character took to discover what she actually wanted. Waters writes in a very fantasty like way, because it's hard to believe some of the paths Nan took so quickly...but its just a story. I recommend it very much!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2006

    A great read

    This book was given to me by a friend overseas who insisted I read a 'real piece of English literature.' I finished the whole book before the plane was halfway home. I couldn't put down this gripping story and I related to a lot more of it after a semester in Liverpool- more of the words made sense at least. But a person can always look up words like 'renter' and 'wanker' if she can't figure them out on her own. If you don't want to read the whole book you can always try the movie, but the book is so much more in depth and exciting. Overall, I'd recommend it to anyone but my mother.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2004

    Worth the read

    Although the beginning is slow, once Nan's eyes are opened to the world outside of her hometown, the book picks up. Some heart strings are pulled. The ending is almost too nice, but as a whole work the book is charming.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2004

    Good Book

    Interesting.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2001

    Emotional and Erotic and Exceptional

    With incredible detail, life in London just jumps from the pages and grabs you... making you taste and smell what the characters experience with a richness unlike any other. The details of the hidden loves and the pain of betrayal make you feel a range of emotion from rage to depression and for anyone with similar experience, a strange sense of nostalgia. Without a doubt, a must read for anyone who has longed for a woman and gotten more than they bargained for.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    1890's Lesbian Subculture - Fascinating

    I found the book a fascinating glimpse into a few subcultures of late nineteenth century England. I didn't always like the main character or agree with her choices throughout the book, but I think that just makes her even more human. If you like history and/or romance novels, this is a great book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    easy read but frustrating

    meh. it started well, and was a quick read, but became more and more disappointing as the book went on. period chick-lit

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    To 'to hey'

    Did you know that hes rigt!? and you.... are gay. And ae a hater of all NORMAL TJINGS!

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    There's a movie too!

    I bought this book because I ran across a movie on TV based on it. Wonderful story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    LOVELY!!!

    T'was quite divine.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 110 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6