Customer Reviews for

Tis: A Memoir

Average Rating 4
( 169 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(76)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Simply Wonderful

I read angela's ashes and i will admit, i enjoyed them both equally. I admired his sincerity, after all that's what makes a well written memoir! Buy this book you'll be glad you did!

posted by 6173555 on January 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Okay

McCourt's 'Angela's Ashes' was unbelieveable in its candor and tradgedy. So after reading it in 2005 I immediately bought this one and later, 'Teacher Man.' The problem with ''Tis' is that he seems only to be saying 'woe is me!' throughout the whole thing. Yes, this p...
McCourt's 'Angela's Ashes' was unbelieveable in its candor and tradgedy. So after reading it in 2005 I immediately bought this one and later, 'Teacher Man.' The problem with ''Tis' is that he seems only to be saying 'woe is me!' throughout the whole thing. Yes, this period in his life was sad, but I felt like McCourt had made me sit down and he had whined his whole story to me, complete with sappy violin music.

posted by Anonymous on February 8, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 169 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Simply Wonderful

    I read angela's ashes and i will admit, i enjoyed them both equally. I admired his sincerity, after all that's what makes a well written memoir! Buy this book you'll be glad you did!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2005

    Great! A Triumph!

    I was amazed at how good this book was. I didn't think it could stand up to its supurb predeccesor but I was terribly wrong! It was an amazing read to say the least. I also got through it much faster than Angela's Ashes. Both are great reads and will go down in history as some of the best memoirs ever written!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2000

    'Tis something you must read! yes, 'tis!

    One cannot read Angela's Ashes without following through with 'Tis. Frank McCourt, God had a mission for you and you've fulfilled it with honor, grace, dignity and sincerity. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Real life delivered with all the emotions that come with it. Frank McCourt has the ability to write a story that touches you deeply one minute, has you smiling the next.

    After reading "Angela's Ashes", I was compelled to continue reading about Frank after he arrived in America. This story continues to describe his trials and tribulations as he makes his way. His warm character along with Irish prose make you want to keep reading about his fascinating journey.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2005

    Just as good as Angela's Ashes

    Frank McCourt has a fabulous way with words. It's hard not to get sucked into the story and feel as if you are standing right next to him while he is describing each and every detail... Highly recommended!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    Excellent - Must Read!

    Frank McCourt gave excellent insight into the struggle of a young Irish man to rise above poverty. He writes with such great detail that I can almost feel his pain of hunger, sore eyes, coldness, etc. I would highly recommend this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2009

    Wonderful

    Frank McCourt is a wonderful writer! He finds the humor in all the tragedies of his life. This book was as well written as Angela's Ashes but the content wasn't quite as interesting as Angela's Ashes but definitely worth the read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Every friday all the teachers had to stop at the local pub for a pint.

    As this is the second book regarding Frank McCourt's life I had to read it. His telling of life as he knew it and what he and his family survived growing up in Ireland during the depresion was very eye opening. I can only imagine what he went through and overcome. I would recommend this book to everyone I know.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I purchased the audio version.

    Being of Irish desent this audio was prefect to listen to.
    To hear how this young man grew up and the hardships he indured
    was something else. If half the middle school children of today were
    required to read this book I believe they would treat people in their
    daily life much better. It has been passed on to my family and friends
    and they also enjoyed it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    a genuine piece

    Tis is honest, open, telling, truthful. If you appreciate these qualities, read Angela's Ashes first to understand how the intimate life of Frank McCourt progresses. Both are candid, vivid memories of a life that is transformed from poverty-ridden Limerick, to opportunistic America. An emotional investment is what you'll be making by reading them back to back as you venture back with McCourt when he returns to Ireland on furlough from the U.S. Military. Great works even if there is a bit of profanity because after all, he is honest with us and himself.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2008

    Disappointing

    'Tis did give a realistic view of life during the time period and obstacles faced by immigrants. Frank McCourt proved to be a terrific story teller in Angela's Ashes and didn't do quite as well in 'Tis. He would be telling a great story and then there would be a section or chapter that just didn't work. He spent most of the book criticizing his parents, siblings, wife, co-workers and students. He harps on his red eyes and bad teeth and on the impact they caused in his life. Most of his problems came from excessive drinking and a lousy disposition. Frank McCourt was a very shallow man.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2008

    Okay

    McCourt's 'Angela's Ashes' was unbelieveable in its candor and tradgedy. So after reading it in 2005 I immediately bought this one and later, 'Teacher Man.' The problem with ''Tis' is that he seems only to be saying 'woe is me!' throughout the whole thing. Yes, this period in his life was sad, but I felt like McCourt had made me sit down and he had whined his whole story to me, complete with sappy violin music.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Very easy reading, loved it.

    This was his second book and I loved it and the first one he wrote. I bought the 3rd one to find it a repeat of things in the first two and could not read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2007

    I'M DISAPPOINTED

    Not even close to Angela's Ashes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2007

    Outstanding

    The problem with McCourt's trilogy is that there are only three of them. He has the ability to make the reader laugh and cry all within the same paragraph. A true sense of what life was like for Irish immigrants (and life before immigration Angela's Ashes). These three books require re-reading more than once. I would love to have dinner with the author. As you can figure I recommend highly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2006

    Interesting book

    This book is outstanding in a way, but on the other hand disappointing. Its outstanding because it explains about the war and tells you about poor peaple's lives and makes u realize what real life is for some people. It makes me want to be grateful for everything i have and be thankful to God for it because many people dont have it. The disappointing part is that the author uses a lot of fowel language. The story is very interesting but because of the inapropriate language it made me want to stop reading it. If the author would have used appropriate language than this book would be outstanding in everyway.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2005

    You must read this book, as well as Angela's Ashes

    I loved this book. First I read the book Angela's Ashes and I knew that I had to read this one one I finished the other. Tis is not a depressing as Angela's Ashes and it teaches people about the Irish ways, the Great Depression, and about racism. I really enjoyed this book, because I am half Korean and I can relate to the racism in many ways. I enjoyed learning about Irish and I recommend that anyone who should read the two of these books to watch the movie The Boondock Saints and relate the two. I found many unique comparisons between them, which made me enjoy the two of them even more. Read this book TIS.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2004

    angala's ashes

    Very good book, higly recomended. For everybodu who is not happy will life need to read this book,and they will start to apreciate selfs and everything they have.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2003

    I would like to give it more than 5 stars if possible...

    After reading the 1st book (Angela's Ashes), I told myself I have to read 'Tis as well. Like Angela's Ashes, it was very enjoyable punctuated with hilarious episodes throughout. It is a very true and frank account of the life of the author, and thru' his writing, you can see that life is not a bed of roses for him at all but nonetheless his unwavering spirit in persevering for the things he wants in life is truly a lesson that we can learn from. This is definitely a MUST READ but I think it would be better if you read Angela's Ashes 1st to know more about his childhood and his family members before proceeding to read this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2003

    Perfect Sequel to Angela's Ashes

    After I saw the movie Angela's Ashes, I read the book and bought this book nearly a month ago. I love the way he direct his readers, his writing is fascinating from the beginning to the end. I'm currently on Chapter 48 and I'm afraid to finish the book because I want it to keep going!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 169 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9