Customer Reviews for

Tis: A Memoir

Average Rating 4
( 169 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(76)

4 Star

(51)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Simply Wonderful

I read angela's ashes and i will admit, i enjoyed them both equally. I admired his sincerity, after all that's what makes a well written memoir! Buy this book you'll be glad you did!

posted by 6173555 on January 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Okay

McCourt's 'Angela's Ashes' was unbelieveable in its candor and tradgedy. So after reading it in 2005 I immediately bought this one and later, 'Teacher Man.' The problem with ''Tis' is that he seems only to be saying 'woe is me!' throughout the whole thing. Yes, this p...
McCourt's 'Angela's Ashes' was unbelieveable in its candor and tradgedy. So after reading it in 2005 I immediately bought this one and later, 'Teacher Man.' The problem with ''Tis' is that he seems only to be saying 'woe is me!' throughout the whole thing. Yes, this period in his life was sad, but I felt like McCourt had made me sit down and he had whined his whole story to me, complete with sappy violin music.

posted by Anonymous on February 8, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 169 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2003

    A good PS to Angela's Ashes

    I finally read this book after putting it off a few years after hearing mixed reviews. I can honestly say that it was worth reading and I'm glad that I finally purchased it. There are some slow spots such as dry descriptions of his attempts to stir up interest in his disaffected students, but overall I found this to be an excellent sequel to Angela's Ashes. And I was absorbed by the details of his visits back to Ireland and the details of his parents' lives as they aged. And he does it with the consitent humor that made AA so captivating. No Pulitzer Prize for this book, but I definitely recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2002

    An Excellent Read, the book could not be put down

    'Tis was an incredible book. I'm of Irish heritage and the plot just totally blew me away. I had no idea how badly the Irish were treated in New York decades ago. McCourt describes his hardships in New York in a way that you feel like you're actually there. A MUST READ for anybody who has read Angela's Ashes or for anybody looking to read a great book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2002

    Still gripping

    As soon as I finished 'Angela's Ashes', I had to know what happened to Frank McCourt when he arrived in America. The book was just as good as the first one. It had my attention all the way through. Frank's numerous adventures and experiences will make you laugh. It will make you feel sad at the end with the loss of his parents. Frank McCourt talks of his adventures in America with a style unlike any other author. I hope to see more books written by him.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2002

    A Great Read

    I read AA a couple of years ago and thought it was excellent - i didn't know there was going to be a sequel, so imagine my surprise when I found 'Tis: A Memoir! I thought this book was equally as good but for different reasons, the main one being Frank finding a life for himself and doing something he truelly loves doing - thank you, it was a great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2002

    Awesome

    this was such a great book- i couldn't put it down. i would read it at work and get so into it i wouldn't see costomers. great book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2002

    as revealing as was Ashes.

    A great colclusion to Angela's Ashes.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2001

    'Tis a good read

    The simple title of Frank McCourt's latest book is an odd couple to the complex content and self-reflection found in Tis. Slightly less depressing than its preceding Angela¿s Ashes, the book packs thought, emotion, and new found maturity. As young Frankie decides to board a boat to New York, his childhood ends and Tis begins. Through new jobs, new friends, marriage, children, confusion, happiness and ever looming death, you grow and argue with Frank from page one. New experiences are in turn humorous and discouraging; his conclusions of them are honest and profound. As life throws him down, you will fall with him. And every time he gets back up, you will find hope. The story can be related to by anyone with a heart and mind. If you have ever felt loss, confusion, or self-pity and need an answer, here `Tis.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2001

    Maggie's Song

    A good read, there are a lot of parallels within his life and mine though my heritage does not stem from Ireland. Shows an innocent generation who through education brought forth his understanding of the world around him and his ability to deal with what he thought as his mom and dad's shortcomings and his view of life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2001

    'Tis powerfully touched me somewhere deep down inside me

    I have never read a book that touched me quite so powerefully before, as 'Tis: a memoir did. I cannot really begin to explain it, but having finished the last page, the book left me feeling emotionally drained and for a few nights after completing the book, I felt a desperate need to cry into my pillow. I wanted so desperately to meet Frank and to tell him my feelings having read the book. In my 15 years, this is by far the best book I have ever, and probably will read in my life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2001

    Selling Out

    I think the author and editors were simply cashing in on the success of Angela'a Ashes (which was wonderful). The author fails to give us any introspection about the later events in his life, including his drinking, his failed marriage, and his role in his daughter's life. As a sequel it is tolerable, standing alone this book is weak. The editors should have sent it back with a note saying the book wasn't ready for publication. That is assuming the editors were concerned about literature and not finances.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2001

    Frank did OK....

    I second all the reviewers here noting that Tis seemed very rushed and that a lot of the charm of Angela's Ashes was lost. In comparison to Ashes, this book takes a huge nose dive. However, standing on it's own...if you can possibly put Ashes out of your head...Tis is well-written and heart-felt. I would have liked more attention paid to Frank's brothers, but I do feel that his treatment of Angela as a character within the memoir was well done.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2001

    The Best Ever

    This book was a great book! I have never seen anybody able to tell a story as detailed as Frank McCourt.Being able to remember then write the story is very amazing. This is a very good book for teenagers to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2001

    Better than Angela's Ashes

    I thought Angela's Ashes was great, but this book far exceeded it! I couldn't put the book down...wished for more! This book helped me understand what my grandparents went through when they came to America looking for work, leaving behind their families in Ireland.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2001

    Enough of drunken brawling!

    Holy smokes! It seems that almost every important mile stone in Franks life revolves around getting drunk in a bar. It is difficult to feel for someone whose problems in life seems to be not being able to stop at three drinks. Angela's Ashes it isn't.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2000

    Can you Say Victim?

    After covering the floor with used tissues from 'Angela's Ashes' I was anxiously looking forward to ''Tis'. I am quite dissapointed and view Mr. McCourt as a 'victim'. He came across to me as someone who forgot that he had any choices in life. I also found his denial to confront alchoholism a bit un-nerving. I closed the back cover of the book with an impression of Angela as a bitter, nasty old woman who threw up her hands and gave up and of Mr. McCourt as another victimized alchoholic. Too bad!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 1999

    Not as good as his first book

    I think I will read this book again. Maybe i expected too much after his first book and did'nt give this book enough thought.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    Bookperson

    Angelas ashes so far for me is phenominal. Its si amazing what frank mccourt endured throughout his lifetime. The book tis i havnt read yet but i may do so after i finish sngekas ashes though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Tis and Angela's Ashes are both great reads! I love them both an

    Tis and Angela's Ashes are both great reads! I love them both and looking forward the reading Teacher Man

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Love

    Sad and yet honest. All of his books are worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    Couldn't wait

    For it to end...this story dragged through an unremarkable drudgery to me...may well be all true, but truly a slog through a book about almost nothing meaningful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 169 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9