Customer Reviews for

Titan

Average Rating 3.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic read!

Baxter writes about Nasa as if he were an insider!! He does complete research and presents what could be story killing technical data in the framework of his novels, as entertaining, page turning excitement.

This Ebook does suffer from a bad porting, constant typos,...
Baxter writes about Nasa as if he were an insider!! He does complete research and presents what could be story killing technical data in the framework of his novels, as entertaining, page turning excitement.

This Ebook does suffer from a bad porting, constant typos, but I didn't let that bother me, loved the story!

posted by Ray_Warren on February 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I+want+my+money+back%21

The+typographic+errors+in+this+volume+are+terrible%21%0AIt%27s+as+if+it+was+typed+by+a+chimp.+%28No+offense+intended+to+the+primate.%29+This+is+a+major+publishing+house.+Act+like+it.+Proofread+your+stuff+after+sending+it+to+be+typed+in+Upper+Slobovia.++%28I+really+love+...
The+typographic+errors+in+this+volume+are+terrible%21%0AIt%27s+as+if+it+was+typed+by+a+chimp.+%28No+offense+intended+to+the+primate.%29+This+is+a+major+publishing+house.+Act+like+it.+Proofread+your+stuff+after+sending+it+to+be+typed+in+Upper+Slobovia.++%28I+really+love+the+use+of+%22de%22+for+almost+every+%22lle%22.+%0Aie%3A+shuttde%2C+littde+etc...+I+did+not+know+that+you+were+going+to+fly+your+%22littde+shuttde%22+to+titan.%0AThis+sucks.%0AM

posted by 2818683 on June 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    I+want+my+money+back%21

    The+typographic+errors+in+this+volume+are+terrible%21%0AIt%27s+as+if+it+was+typed+by+a+chimp.+%28No+offense+intended+to+the+primate.%29+This+is+a+major+publishing+house.+Act+like+it.+Proofread+your+stuff+after+sending+it+to+be+typed+in+Upper+Slobovia.++%28I+really+love+the+use+of+%22de%22+for+almost+every+%22lle%22.+%0Aie%3A+shuttde%2C+littde+etc...+I+did+not+know+that+you+were+going+to+fly+your+%22littde+shuttde%22+to+titan.%0AThis+sucks.%0AM

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    Fantastic read!

    Baxter writes about Nasa as if he were an insider!! He does complete research and presents what could be story killing technical data in the framework of his novels, as entertaining, page turning excitement.

    This Ebook does suffer from a bad porting, constant typos, but I didn't let that bother me, loved the story!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2013

    I am looking to purchase this e book for my Nook First Edition,

    I am looking to purchase this e book for my Nook First Edition, 1-12-13.
    Have they fixed the typo's in the e-book yet?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    Too many typos

    ...or lack of proof reading?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    AWFUL - don't waste your time or money

    The first book in the series, Voyage, is one of my favorite SF books. That in mind I got Titan. What a train wreck. The writing is two-dimensional at best, the ending contrived an ridiculous - resurrected after how many billion years??? The plot had some promised but just disintegrated under its own preposterousness. I don't mind the science speculation, but an X-15 pilot still in the service as a Major, when by average age he would be well over 60 at the time of the novel? Get a grip! Add to that that while he insists on having US main characters Baxter's command of North American dialect is severely limited - Americans dropping UK idioms everywhere - and the whole thing is just unreadable. What a disappointment.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    Too Many Typos

    Story is bland. E-version is filled with typos. Bad editing job in the conversion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    Vance

    Yo yo

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2014

    Dash

    Whoo... she says sarcasticly

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    AnnaSophia

    *walks in*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    Kevin

    Walks in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    Bailey

    Walks in*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    Sun

    "Hey boyfrieeennddd."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2014

    Cyrus

    Nods. "Now get rid of that so we wont be followed." Disappears.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    Old english jan 13

    Yeah... i thought so

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    THE CITY

    ITS HUGE!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Horrible Editing

    I love reading Stephen Baxters books. That said I could not finish this one due to all the errors in the book. I personally fell like I got ripped off when I bought it. I asked for my money back, but received NO response from BN. DO NOT PURCHASE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    Typos Ruined This Boook

    I would like my money back A weak plot was absolutely ruined by typos The other books in the series held my interest This one might have, but I quit reading at the 3/4 point Have never seen something so unprofessional from a major publishing company or B&N

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    The Story is a great read. By all means by the book. However, t

    The Story is a great read. By all means by the book. However, the ebook is filled with so many typographical errors it slows the pace of the book and is unacceptable. You are paying $8 for words on a "page". There is a level of expectation that the words should at least be spelled correctly. Imagine buying a printed book with as many typos as this ebook . You would be quite upset I am sure. So do yourself a favor and pass over this ebook. Buy the paperback version and enjoy the great story.
    I give the story a 3 1/2 but the ebook I give a -2.5.
    Do the math, buy the paperback instead.

    Major failure for those of us who like to read on our Nook

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    Good story- bad e-book transfer

    The story is a good sci-fi read, though frustrating. Whoever transcribe the paper pages to e-book format did a lousy job. There are 2 to 4, or more typos or misspellings on EVERY page. Several times I couldn't even figure out what a paragraph was about because of so many errors. The word "if", for example, was spelled "it" every time. And that was the least of it. Before a book is released in e-book format, it should be proof-read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Some harsh reviews but I loved it.

    Sadly this wasn't available for the nook when I read it. Overall though I really enjoyed everything about it. I'm not too sure why its getting negative reviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2